MrZ
Member Since 2013
Mr Zeke was recently diagnosed with diabetes (7/13) during his annual checkup. His previous annual was in June 2012. Zeke is 11 years old and shares a home with two other kitties, both 1 year older than him - all exclusively indoor. Sometime within the past year we decided to switch from Iams Indoor Weight Control dry (which we'd been feeding because Zeke was tipping the scales at 22 lbs) to Iams Senior dry thinking the change in formula would be best due to the age of all three. Their diets are supplemented with a morning treat of wet food (Wellness -all varieties), which we've been doing for many years. During the course of the past year, after the switch to the Senior formula, we noticed an increase in litter box activity, specifically in liquid waste. Thinking back, it seems to have happened quite soon after the switch to the Senior formula - through it could have been several months afterwards. Unfortunately we dismissed this increase in activity as just an adjustment to the change in diet and didn't think anything more about it.
So although Zeke was just recently diagnosed, it’s possible he’s been diabetic for up to a year now. Well, here we are trying to right this wrong. Upon diagnosis, we eliminated all dry food and have been feeding him the grain-free low-carb formulas of Wellness. Zeke has been on Lantus since 8/18. First week was 1 IU but the second week our vet increased to 2 IUs. His BG readings are all over the board (record low of 79 last night, with a record high of 525 this morning). We're pretty much at a point where we think we need to adjust his insulin but are not quite certain exactly what to do. We've studied the Protocol from the uq.edu website, for regulation on Lantus using the AlphaTrak2 glucometer (as that’s the meter we’ve been using ). We're a little confused about whether we need to increase by 0.25 IU or not. Despite a nadir of 79 last night, his highs consistently exceed 200mg/dL on a daily basis.
Our vet historically has been great but she only works on Saturdays and her response time on emails is not immediate (often not even within 24 hrs) . Additionally, managing diabetes does not appear to be her specialty and she never even brought up the option of the Tight Regulation Protocol – we found it on our own. We live in Houston, TX, and are hoping that maybe someone on the FDMB has a vet they could recommend to help us through this process. We would greatly appreciate.
So although Zeke was just recently diagnosed, it’s possible he’s been diabetic for up to a year now. Well, here we are trying to right this wrong. Upon diagnosis, we eliminated all dry food and have been feeding him the grain-free low-carb formulas of Wellness. Zeke has been on Lantus since 8/18. First week was 1 IU but the second week our vet increased to 2 IUs. His BG readings are all over the board (record low of 79 last night, with a record high of 525 this morning). We're pretty much at a point where we think we need to adjust his insulin but are not quite certain exactly what to do. We've studied the Protocol from the uq.edu website, for regulation on Lantus using the AlphaTrak2 glucometer (as that’s the meter we’ve been using ). We're a little confused about whether we need to increase by 0.25 IU or not. Despite a nadir of 79 last night, his highs consistently exceed 200mg/dL on a daily basis.
Our vet historically has been great but she only works on Saturdays and her response time on emails is not immediate (often not even within 24 hrs) . Additionally, managing diabetes does not appear to be her specialty and she never even brought up the option of the Tight Regulation Protocol – we found it on our own. We live in Houston, TX, and are hoping that maybe someone on the FDMB has a vet they could recommend to help us through this process. We would greatly appreciate.