? Yemala 10/10 AMPS 457; +3 371; +6 421; PMPS 420; +4 165; +6 102; +7 149

  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
I'm looking at the TR protocol sticky, and considering where we go if she doesn't start to drop after 6 cycles. We're on number 4 now. If she doesn't drop, do we increase to .5, or just .25?

Ideas?

Incidentally, I have an appointment with a new vet, one I hope will be more willing to work with us on both the diabetes and the CKD. The vet I have been using wanted Mala on 2 units bid of insulin, and was partially responsible for this fall out of remission. He prescribed Science Diet k/d for the renal issues, which turns out to be around 30% carbs.

Ugh.
 
Since you have seen blues on this dose, you would only increase by 0.25 units. It used to sometimes take Neko five cycles to show what a dose could do. The patience pants got awfully tight. :p

Good luck with the new vet.
 
We are starting cycle 5 on the .75 dose. Data on the new dose is a mixed bag - one nadir of under 200, one under 300, all the more recent mid-cycle tests show above 400 and very little movement from PS numbers to nadirs.

After cycle 6, do we increase the dose IF we don't see change?
 
You don't want to consider the nadirs during bounce cycles when you evaluate the dose. Rather say "how low can this dose take my cat?" Yes, you would increase if after 6 cycles you are only seeing non green nadirs. Here's hoping today was the high before the low.
 
The current dip into blues came at the fifth cycle of the new dose. We saw a similar drop at the second cycle after the increase.

I can't predict anymore where she's going to go. Tomorrow AM will be her sixth cycle at .75. Not sure whether to hold after that or increase again.

Thoughts?
 
Back
Top