Worrying myself sick!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

crazy_moo

Member Since 2018
Hi all....

My boy Jack was only diagnosed 3 weeks ago....we have been giving him caninsulin shots of 1 unit twice a day to start off....I noticed after the 1st day of injections when Jack fell off to sleep he was twitching then immediately would fall into a very deep sleep to the point his whole body became limp, head floppy & eyes rolled back.....The only way I managed to wake him was to gently lift him.

I called my vet the very next day who advised to decrease his caninsulin to 0.5 units twice a day & see how he goes.

He seemed to take well to this dosage & he had his 1st glucose curve carried out last weekend at home by a mobile vet....Here are the results:
FB_IMG_1519227696665.jpg


After the curve my vet has advised to increase his caninsulin back to 1 unit twice a day.

He seemed fine with the increase the 1st couple of days but last night & today Ive started noticing him doing the same twitching again when he is drifting off to sleep.

Every time he does this I worry he is having a hypo but when I immediately check his BG is never low enough - I use a human meter.

Ive not set up a spread sheet as of yet but am recording his BG readings, Here are his results from today:

AMPS - 17 mmol/l (Pre-Food)
Units - 1.0 caninsulin
+1 hr -
+2 hr - 11.5 mmol/l
+3 hr -
+4 hr -
+5 hr - 8.5 mmol/l
+6 hr -
+7 hr - 10.5 mmol/l
+8 hr -
+9 hr - 11.7 mmol/l
+10hr -
+11 hr -
PMPS - 14.2 mmol/l (After food)
Units - 1.0 caninsulin

Generally he doesnt seem himself/normal at all....Is constantly scratching/licking/cleaning himself to the point he is causing sores. He is twitching a fair bit when awake & shaking his head a fair bit too.

Im terribly worried he has developed DKA although he isnt particulary as thirsty as he was before we started insulin shots & I have tested his urine for ketones using my partners strips (he himself is type 1 diabetic) which always come up normal.

Im just at my whitts end & extremely worried....Desperate to help Jack & get him feeling better....Its breaking my heart seeing him in such bad shape & I hate the thought of how much suffering he must be feeling!!

Any help will be greatly appreciated!
 
Was blood work done when he was diagnosed to rule out any other things going on with him? Were these symptoms occurring before he started insulin? Or do they seem to be tied to when he gets insulin shots?
 
He has been constantly cleaning/scratching for some time before his diagnosis but the twitching is new.

He did have bloods done, vets said he has signs of the start if kidney failure but that could have been due to the strain with diabeties complications.
 
What you are describing does not sound like it's necessarily related to diabetes. The over-cleaning, together with the twitching and head shaking, sounds more like some type of neurological problem. Has the vet directly addressed these issues, independent of Jack's diabetes diagnosis?
 
What you are describing does not sound like it's necessarily related to diabetes. The over-cleaning, together with the twitching and head shaking, sounds more like some type of neurological problem. Has the vet directly addressed these issues, independent of Jack's diabetes diagnosis?

I was leaning to the same thought myself....I mentioned it to my vet when he was in for his diagnosis but he hasnt been back in yet....Im going to call them tomorrow to discuss to see if I can het this checked out too.

What a tangled web poor Jack is in :(
 
Please let us know what your vet has to say. We're still here to help with diabetes related issues. :)

I will do....In refrence to his BG numbers though....Should I be worried that his curve is so different to numbers Im getting now?.....They are only a week apart.
 
He has been eating the food brand he is on now all of his life so I wouldnt think so but I know humans can develop allergies whenever so Im assuming cats are the same....Ill keep it in mind when I hear back from my vet, called this morning to request a call back....They must have been busy today as Ive not heared from them as of yet.
 
My little honey bear had twitching licking crawling skin. I just laid by her & put pressure on her & she would stop immediately. I was ready to buy her a pressure wrap but she got better. I have no idea why this appeared years later, neither did my vet. She only did this for awhile. She had high fever & abscesses on her backside when she showed up on my patio. The vet seemed to think that she possibly had damaged nerves there & possible brain damage due to that. We called her Kramer cause she’d come sliding into the room at top speed & just stop & look at us! Like hi I’m here!! Funny.. in all seriousness I hope your vet can find the answers & give you some hope for treatment!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top