crazy_moo
Member Since 2018
Hi all....
My boy Jack was only diagnosed 3 weeks ago....we have been giving him caninsulin shots of 1 unit twice a day to start off....I noticed after the 1st day of injections when Jack fell off to sleep he was twitching then immediately would fall into a very deep sleep to the point his whole body became limp, head floppy & eyes rolled back.....The only way I managed to wake him was to gently lift him.
I called my vet the very next day who advised to decrease his caninsulin to 0.5 units twice a day & see how he goes.
He seemed to take well to this dosage & he had his 1st glucose curve carried out last weekend at home by a mobile vet....Here are the results:
After the curve my vet has advised to increase his caninsulin back to 1 unit twice a day.
He seemed fine with the increase the 1st couple of days but last night & today Ive started noticing him doing the same twitching again when he is drifting off to sleep.
Every time he does this I worry he is having a hypo but when I immediately check his BG is never low enough - I use a human meter.
Ive not set up a spread sheet as of yet but am recording his BG readings, Here are his results from today:
AMPS - 17 mmol/l (Pre-Food)
Units - 1.0 caninsulin
+1 hr -
+2 hr - 11.5 mmol/l
+3 hr -
+4 hr -
+5 hr - 8.5 mmol/l
+6 hr -
+7 hr - 10.5 mmol/l
+8 hr -
+9 hr - 11.7 mmol/l
+10hr -
+11 hr -
PMPS - 14.2 mmol/l (After food)
Units - 1.0 caninsulin
Generally he doesnt seem himself/normal at all....Is constantly scratching/licking/cleaning himself to the point he is causing sores. He is twitching a fair bit when awake & shaking his head a fair bit too.
Im terribly worried he has developed DKA although he isnt particulary as thirsty as he was before we started insulin shots & I have tested his urine for ketones using my partners strips (he himself is type 1 diabetic) which always come up normal.
Im just at my whitts end & extremely worried....Desperate to help Jack & get him feeling better....Its breaking my heart seeing him in such bad shape & I hate the thought of how much suffering he must be feeling!!
Any help will be greatly appreciated!
My boy Jack was only diagnosed 3 weeks ago....we have been giving him caninsulin shots of 1 unit twice a day to start off....I noticed after the 1st day of injections when Jack fell off to sleep he was twitching then immediately would fall into a very deep sleep to the point his whole body became limp, head floppy & eyes rolled back.....The only way I managed to wake him was to gently lift him.
I called my vet the very next day who advised to decrease his caninsulin to 0.5 units twice a day & see how he goes.
He seemed to take well to this dosage & he had his 1st glucose curve carried out last weekend at home by a mobile vet....Here are the results:
After the curve my vet has advised to increase his caninsulin back to 1 unit twice a day.
He seemed fine with the increase the 1st couple of days but last night & today Ive started noticing him doing the same twitching again when he is drifting off to sleep.
Every time he does this I worry he is having a hypo but when I immediately check his BG is never low enough - I use a human meter.
Ive not set up a spread sheet as of yet but am recording his BG readings, Here are his results from today:
AMPS - 17 mmol/l (Pre-Food)
Units - 1.0 caninsulin
+1 hr -
+2 hr - 11.5 mmol/l
+3 hr -
+4 hr -
+5 hr - 8.5 mmol/l
+6 hr -
+7 hr - 10.5 mmol/l
+8 hr -
+9 hr - 11.7 mmol/l
+10hr -
+11 hr -
PMPS - 14.2 mmol/l (After food)
Units - 1.0 caninsulin
Generally he doesnt seem himself/normal at all....Is constantly scratching/licking/cleaning himself to the point he is causing sores. He is twitching a fair bit when awake & shaking his head a fair bit too.
Im terribly worried he has developed DKA although he isnt particulary as thirsty as he was before we started insulin shots & I have tested his urine for ketones using my partners strips (he himself is type 1 diabetic) which always come up normal.
Im just at my whitts end & extremely worried....Desperate to help Jack & get him feeling better....Its breaking my heart seeing him in such bad shape & I hate the thought of how much suffering he must be feeling!!
Any help will be greatly appreciated!
