Wilbur's continuing care

Status
Not open for further replies.

johnt

Member Since 2016
@Kris & Teasel

His numbers seemed pretty good. He did get up to just a touch over 300 PMPS. i gave him his normal 3.5u

I'll get a couple samples tonight if I can but chances are i'm not going to be up for a bit.

Its funny, he goes through this once every couple weeks. Thank GOD i can test him now.
 
I looked through Wilbur's history. You are doing a great job keeping him regulated. The variations are part of the deal with feline diabetes. Lots of kittehs do it, and it highlights the importance of testing.

That picture of your kittehs is very sweet. I like how their heads are tucked in.:D
 
Thank you! without @Kris & Teasel this would have been a VERY rough road.

I was overdosing him for 5 years and had no idea. It broke becausae he finally just laid down one day and let me test him.

I feel so much better now!

i've had he and his sister since they were 2 days old. mom died and I took them in while doing rescue work. got... attached :)
This is so good to read! I'm glad I was able to help. :D
 
I looked through Wilbur's history. You are doing a great job keeping him regulated. The variations are part of the deal with feline diabetes. Lots of kittehs do it, and it highlights the importance of testing.

That picture of your kittehs is very sweet. I like how their heads are tucked in.:D
Wups I quoted the wrong post :)

Thank you very much. Most of the credit belongs to @Kris & Teasel !
 
[QUOTE="Thank GOD i can test him now.[/QUOTE]
I can’t wait to get to this point. I’ve been feeling like a failure :(
Your avatar...beautiful kitties.
 
Not so! You had to up your testing and dosing game and tolerate my haranguing you about food, Temptations, etc. ;):smuggrin:
yeah maybe so, but without your patience and working with me I don't think there's any chance i'd have gotten here.

I can’t wait to get to this point. I’ve been feeling like a failure :(
Your avatar...beautiful kitties.

I see your new here. I felt frustrated for 5 years when he wouldn't let me test. But we got here! you're going to feel so much better when you settle in!

Has Gretchen let you test her now? that's by far the hardest part in my journey. Well so far. but it's such a good feeling when you get here! and you are definitely at the right place.

Almost 11 years ago this was wilbur! (FYI this certainly wasn't 2days old, it's just the first pics I can find of him, I'm guessing he's at least 2 weeks here? mean both their eyes are open and that doesn't happen till around 10 days. Tinker's eyes are open, she's just blinking)

2255902630_ba0d5f6edf_o.jpg
2298547163_7c6a1f176c_o.jpg


now he's here! (actually 26lb)

wDce0DF.png


You'll be so happy once you get her in control!
 
Last edited:
Your babies are so pretty. I see your numbers are about what Candi;s was before they started her on insulin.
 
Wow John that is a big change. but that is good how well he is coming along. His numbers are looking good with the dosage he is on.
 
Wow John that is a big change. but that is good how well he is coming along. His numbers are looking good with the dosage he is on.
yeah i'm thrilled with his success. I couldn't ask for better. just the fact that I've cut his dose from 20u per day to 7 makes me thrilled, and those blue and greenies make me happy
 
I imagine so. I would be glad myself. We hope since Candi is on such a low dose that she will be able to come off of insulin. I know the first time I tired to give her, her shot using just water at the Vet's office I was so scared I was going to hurt her and when I did give her a shot she meowed so I paniced. The vet then showed me how you have to do it where I was easing the needle in. Each day I get better and this evening my husband has agreed to try it.
 
I imagine so. I would be glad myself. We hope since Candi is on such a low dose that she will be able to come off of insulin. I know the first time I tired to give her, her shot using just water at the Vet's office I was so scared I was going to hurt her and when I did give her a shot she meowed so I paniced. The vet then showed me how you have to do it where I was easing the needle in. Each day I get better and this evening my husband has agreed to try it.
yeah that's scary the first couple times. I used to give a friend insulin shots so I was used to it. Just 'tenting' the skin and making sure I'm not poking muscles seems to do it.

Sometimes he squeaks but it's rare. so rare he doesn't care when I give him shots. It's nice that it's easy once you do it.

Initially I had to pill him twice a day so it was s hot and a pill. that was not fun
 
W
yeah maybe so, but without your patience and working with me I don't think there's any chance i'd have gotten here.



I see your new here. I felt frustrated for 5 years when he wouldn't let me test. But we got here! you're going to feel so much better when you settle in!

Has Gretchen let you test her now? that's by far the hardest part in my journey. Well so far. but it's such a good feeling when you get here! and you are definitely at the right place.

Almost 11 years ago this was wilbur! (FYI this certainly wasn't 2days old, it's just the first pics I can find of him, I'm guessing he's at least 2 weeks here? mean both their eyes are open and that doesn't happen till around 10 days. Tinker's eyes are open, she's just blinking)

View attachment 35201View attachment 35202

now he's here! (actually 26lb)

View attachment 35203

You'll be so happy once you get her in control!
ow beautiful orange baby! I have an orange male also, named Daisy :)
Loved these pictures!
 
Great numbers continue! I'd call this regulation::D PSs not too high, nice nadirs with a safety cushion. Keep on keeping on!
 
Don’t forget to keep your SS updated. If he gives you some wonky numbers down the line we’d want data to look at .
 
Don’t forget to keep your SS updated. If he gives you some wonky numbers down the line we’d want data to look at .
FYI i do update it. but since we've got him somewhat stabilized I have a tendency to update the SS once a day. I just go back through the tester and log the time/number

He had a 342 AMPS today but I heard him eating the kibble this morning. i had some sleep issues so I missed his normal breakfast times.

I've gone well over a week (i think it's over 2 actually) with no temptations so that's definitely done. but sometimes he sneaks into the kibble. I'm still working on getting the other food.

unfortunately one of the other two won't eat it, and I have to make sure all 3 will eat the same thing before I can change over.
 
FYI i do update it. but since we've got him somewhat stabilized I have a tendency to update the SS once a day. I just go back through the tester and log the time/number

He had a 342 AMPS today but I heard him eating the kibble this morning. i had some sleep issues so I missed his normal breakfast times.

I've gone well over a week (i think it's over 2 actually) with no temptations so that's definitely done. but sometimes he sneaks into the kibble. I'm still working on getting the other food.

unfortunately one of the other two won't eat it, and I have to make sure all 3 will eat the same thing before I can change over.
That aside, he's doing really well. :)
 
@Kris & Teasel I have a problem.

Saturday Night I collapsed on my garage floor. Luckily it was a couple hours after i gave wilbur his PMPS, but hadn't logged it

ended up in the hospital until noon today. My SO does NOT like cats and they return the favor. She did manage to get a monring and evening shot on Sunday, but he ran from her today.

I got out at 100 and checked his bs it was 369. I figured I was now 8 hours to injection time, i better give him some so i gave him 3.5

I can handle 11am and 11pm but would it be better to get back to 7am like I was?
 
@Kris & Teasel I have a problem.

Saturday Night I collapsed on my garage floor. Luckily it was a couple hours after i gave wilbur his PMPS, but hadn't logged it

ended up in the hospital until noon today. My SO does NOT like cats and they return the favor. She did manage to get a monring and evening shot on Sunday, but he ran from her today.

I got out at 100 and checked his bs it was 369. I figured I was now 8 hours to injection time, i better give him some so i gave him 3.5

I can handle 11am and 11pm but would it be better to get back to 7am like I was?
I hope you’re OK! :eek: I’m not clear on when his shot was relative to your usual injection time. If 7 AM and PM is your preferred schedule, you can work your way back in 1 hour increments over a few cycles.
 
I'm still pretty frazzled. i'm just trying to get settled in.
I gave him his shots saturday (when i happened) at about 11pm . Sunday my SO was able to trap him but not get blood. I told her to make sure he ate and give him 2.75 so he had something.

She tried to get blood but never got it.

Sunday she did get two shots in but took it upon herself to only give 2.5 because he isn't eating much. She gave him that twice. am and pm on time.

Today she tried to shoot him, couldn't. he ran and hid under the bed. No getting him outta there. I come home from the hospital at about 11am. which is 4 hours after AMPS. but i knew he had been missed on doses. his blood sugar was only 364 when i checked it but it had been 16 hours since he'd have a 2u dose from her.

So no AMPS, i shot him at 3.5 +4 with no early shot.

clear as much? i might not be making much sense
 
I'm still pretty frazzled. i'm just trying to get settled in.
I gave him his shots saturday (when i happened) at about 11pm . Sunday my SO was able to trap him but not get blood. I told her to make sure he ate and give him 2.75 so he had something.

She tried to get blood but never got it.

Sunday she did get two shots in but took it upon herself to only give 2.5 because he isn't eating much. She gave him that twice. am and pm on time.

Today she tried to shoot him, couldn't. he ran and hid under the bed. No getting him outta there. I come home from the hospital at about 11am. which is 4 hours after AMPS. but i knew he had been missed on doses. his blood sugar was only 364 when i checked it but it had been 16 hours since he'd have a 2u dose from her.

So no AMPS, i shot him at 3.5 +4 with no early shot.

clear as much? i might not be making much sense
OK. So last shot was at 11 AM today your time. Give the next shot tonight at 10 PM, full 3.5 u dose, then tomorrow morning at 9 AM, tomorrow evening at 8 PM. By Wednesday morning you'll be back at a 7 AM shot time. He should be fine with these time changes.

Is his appetite off because you've been away? Keep an eye on that. From what you've said about Wilbur he usually seems to be a good eater.
 
OK. So last shot was at 11 AM today your time. Give the next shot tonight at 10 PM, full 3.5 u dose, then tomorrow morning at 9 AM, tomorrow evening at 8 PM. By Wednesday morning you'll be back at a 7 AM shot time. He should be fine with these time changes.

Is his appetite off because you've been away? Keep an eye on that. From what you've said about Wilbur he usually seems to be a good eater.

I can to those times and get him back in line. no problem

everything's off. She did say he didn't eat nearly as much. he hid under the bed when she went to poke him and she said he didn't come back out, until he slinked into thcabinet in the bathroom.

Plus i was all kinds of goofy before leaving too.

When I got back home he wa very leery of me for awhile, but he mostly came back around. he'll recover.
 
OK. So last shot was at 11 AM today your time. Give the next shot tonight at 10 PM, full 3.5 u dose, then tomorrow morning at 9 AM, tomorrow evening at 8 PM. By Wednesday morning you'll be back at a 7 AM shot time. He should be fine with these time changes.

Is his appetite off because you've been away? Keep an eye on that. From what you've said about Wilbur he usually seems to be a good eater.
OK just a follow up. I've gotten his shots.

I'm home but I can feel this is going to happen again. I've made arrangements for Wilbur to get boarded. and the chart will be empty for awhile.

I'll update when i can but it'll likely be a few days.
 
OK just a follow up. I've gotten his shots.

I'm home but I can feel this is going to happen again. I've made arrangements for Wilbur to get boarded. and the chart will be empty for awhile.

I'll update when i can but it'll likely be a few days.
Do what you can. Take care.
 
@Kris & Teasel I have a question

ignore the chart right now, I've got someone else that was helping and she didn't understand the charts/timing etc. I didn't have to board wilbur so that's ok.

But in the last two days, at +12 Wilbur's blood sugar has been around 170 and i end up waiting to dose him.

i'm wondering if i should reduce him so i can manage to keep him on the right time lines. as it is it can go +14 before he's back to 250 again and I'm not sure the best way to proceed.

To clarify, at AMPS and PMPS he's been around 170

EDIT: Now I checked him again at +14 and he's 168
 
Last edited:
At this point I don't think i'm going to dose him, and just check him on his normal PMPS
 
You could try a reduced dose, say 3 u. Get a test around +2 to see what's happening.
Thank you!

man I don't know if I should now. he's already +9 to his normal schedule. maybe I should let him go the extra 3 hours and let him get back on schedule?
 
Thank you!

man I don't know if I should now. he's already +9 to his normal schedule. maybe I should let him go the extra 3 hours and let him get back on schedule?
OK. Do that and get back on schedule. He'll be fine. Fix your SS when you have a free minute.
 
I will. but based on the way she did it, using 3 different testers i might not be able to get the last couple days down. Whatever the case I'll get it back on track.

thanks again
 
@Kris & Teasel I have a question. Well first, should I just add to this thread, even if it's been quite awhile between posts?

Now, Wilbur's blood sugar has gone up. but I know why. he's been going into the kibble more. He's starting to reject the tuna I sneak in his diet. When he's not eating kibble I can keep him down to perfect numbers (well close) but if you look over his chart you can see where he stopped eating the tuna.

I can get him to eat some when i first open the can, but after its refrigerated he's turning his nose up now.

if this continues i'm going to end stopping the tuna.

I got a new contract that we're actually waiting for initial payment right now. once that starts I can buy whatever food he needs, so I'll get that special food. but in the mean time how should I handle this? raise his dose to keep him down? i can't stop him from getting the kibble now
 
@Kris & Teasel I have a question. Well first, should I just add to this thread, even if it's been quite awhile between posts?

Now, Wilbur's blood sugar has gone up. but I know why. he's been going into the kibble more. He's starting to reject the tuna I sneak in his diet. When he's not eating kibble I can keep him down to perfect numbers (well close) but if you look over his chart you can see where he stopped eating the tuna.

I can get him to eat some when i first open the can, but after its refrigerated he's turning his nose up now.

if this continues i'm going to end stopping the tuna.

I got a new contract that we're actually waiting for initial payment right now. once that starts I can buy whatever food he needs, so I'll get that special food. but in the mean time how should I handle this? raise his dose to keep him down? i can't stop him from getting the kibble now
Will he eat Friskies or Fancy Feast pates? Those are low carb. Maybe crush some kibble into dust and sprinkle it on top of those wet foods to entice him. I wouldn't go completely back to kibble if at all possible. He has to eat and if some kibble is needed, dose around it. Here's some good info:

https://catinfo.org/docs/TipsForTransitioning1-14-11.pdf
 
Will he eat Friskies or Fancy Feast pates? Those are low carb. Maybe crush some kibble into dust and sprinkle it on top of those wet foods to entice him. I wouldn't go completely back to kibble if at all possible. He has to eat and if some kibble is needed, dose around it. Here's some good info:

https://catinfo.org/docs/TipsForTransitioning1-14-11.pdf

EDIT: wups must have hit 'reply' and didn't see it.

I don't really know why he's going to the kibble now. i had him completely off it. but now he's starting to turn down the tuna and he's going towards the kibble. he's unlike any cat I've dealt with. Anyone else i've had sticks to a regimen. not wilbur. every few months he changes up.

I Do have one other thing he'll eat. Those Meow Mix 'simple servings' wet food. he likes the tuna and whitefish. i don't know if that's good or bad, but it's wet food so I would imagine it's better than kibble no matter what.

he's doing this because he still want to eat, but he's turning down tuna if it's been in the fridge. i can seem to get him to eat it if I open a fresh can, but unlike before he snubs anything that's not fresh.
 
A diet of mainly canned tuna would be missing some essential nutrients for cats. Are you adding some sort of supplement to it?
 
John as Kris mentioned, just feeding him Canned Tuna it doesn't provide the Nutrients that he needs especially Taurine. Have you tried a better brand of canned food? I know we feed Candi Nulo and she loves it and it is very low in Carbs but some here feed their babies Fancy Feast maybe try that but I would say the Meow Mix Canned food is better than the dry,
Another thing feeding Canned Tuna every single day isn't safe because it does have mercury in it. If you fix tuna for dinner then you could give him a small amount every once in a while as a treat.
 
A diet of mainly canned tuna would be missing some essential nutrients for cats. Are you adding some sort of supplement to it?
We've talked about this before. he gets tuna when it's time to give him a shot because I need to know he's eating. but during the regular day I did say he gets those meow mix simple servings.

also, I found that him snubbing the tuna wasn't because he was tired of it, he didn't like that batch apparently. i opened two cans and he turned them both down. but after that last night I opened one more and he was fine.

But he eats primarily now, the simple servings wet food. he sneaks the kibble in when he doesn't get as much as he wants
 
We've talked about this before. he gets tuna when it's time to give him a shot because I need to know he's eating. but during the regular day I did say he gets those meow mix simple servings.

also, I found that him snubbing the tuna wasn't because he was tired of it, he didn't like that batch apparently. i opened two cans and he turned them both down. but after that last night I opened one more and he was fine.

But he eats primarily now, the simple servings wet food. he sneaks the kibble in when he doesn't get as much as he wants
OK - that's clearer now. I'd forgotten the details.
 
OK - that's clearer now. I'd forgotten the details.
yeah we've gone over a ton!

I think the simple servings have to be better than the kibble. it's wet, it's not pate but it's wet. he got to where he refused to eat the classic pate. i had him on that for a long time.
 
yeah we've gone over a ton!

I think the simple servings have to be better than the kibble. it's wet, it's not pate but it's wet. he got to where he refused to eat the classic pate. i had him on that for a long time.
As they often say on here, any wet food is better than kibble! Have you ever looked through this food chart in detail? I don't see Meow Mix Simple Servings but there's a lot of other info on Meow Mix and other affordable brands:
https://catinfo.org/docs/CatFoodProteinFatCarbPhosphorusChart.pdf
 
As they often say on here, any wet food is better than kibble! Have you ever looked through this food chart in detail? I don't see Meow Mix Simple Servings but there's a lot of other info on Meow Mix and other affordable brands:
https://catinfo.org/docs/CatFoodProteinFatCarbPhosphorusChart.pdf
the closest thing to it, and it's actually a branch off of this product, is the MEOW MIX Tender Favorites in Sauce. and i get him the 'tuna and shrimp'
66% protein 30% fat and 2% carbs
 
John his numbers don't look all that bad but if you say he is sneaking some of the dry food, maybe getting his attention away from it when you do catch him by offering him a little more canned food? With that low of carbs maybe with him getting into the dry food he isn't staying satisfied.
 
John his numbers don't look all that bad but if you say he is sneaking some of the dry food, maybe getting his attention away from it when you do catch him by offering him a little more canned food? With that low of carbs maybe with him getting into the dry food he isn't staying satisfied.
His numbers aren't that bad? i thought the goal was to keep him as close to 250 at AMPS and PMPS as possible. That going over 300 wasn't good. Am i wrong? If that's the case I'd sure feel better.

As for the snacks, it's funny. if I feed him some of the meow mix stuff he'll eat that first every time.

but if I catch him in the kibble? i can't coax him back out with the meow mix. he'll stay on the kibble. it's bizarre
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top