where do I go from here

Status
Not open for further replies.
As we get more data we can do some adjusting and sliding scales.


Try to desensitized him to having his ears touched. When you pet give his ears a quick touch without a poke. Or rub his ears and give a treat so he associates having his ears touched with positive things.
 
Yes I will definitely try. He doesn't want to get off the couch! I bought him new little ball toys and he just looks at me like, yeah right. Lol. But I will try xo
My cats favorite is shoelaces. At first she would just swat. After a few days she would give it a pounce or two. After a couple of weeks she was finally chasing it again. Not for long...Cc has issues with arthritis.... It's actually really helpful to keep them moving. And it will help them receive stress. She likes laser pointers too.
 
Yeah, don't worry so much about the 349 pre-shot. Check my Freya's spreadsheet if you want. She gets pre-shots in that range but is still improving and not in an awful place. (Though her numbers are a bit bouncy right now after a pukey night and some greens.) Even with the pink pre-shots, she looks physically much better than she used to, and her fur is even getting nice and soft and shiny again, not all dry and gross. So don't feel too bad! It just takes time.

You may see quite a big difference with the transition to your Fancy Feast, or another low-carb wet. You can see at the top of my sheet before Freya started eating low-carb wet food, how much higher her BG was. Lots of reds, but not anymore. Diet can make a huge difference, and similar to your case, the food my vet wanted her to eat was definitely not helping!
 
Yeah, don't worry so much about the 349 pre-shot. Check my Freya's spreadsheet if you want. She gets pre-shots in that range but is still improving and not in an awful place. (Though her numbers are a bit bouncy right now after a pukey night and some greens.) Even with the pink pre-shots, she looks physically much better than she used to, and her fur is even getting nice and soft and shiny again, not all dry and gross. So don't feel too bad! It just takes time.

You may see quite a big difference with the transition to your Fancy Feast, or another low-carb wet. You can see at the top of my sheet before Freya started eating low-carb wet food, how much higher her BG was. Lots of reds, but not anymore. Diet can make a huge difference, and similar to your case, the food my vet wanted her to eat was definitely not helping!

Thanks for sharing! Well at least Theodore likes the fancy feast...he is a picky eater, so I was glad he liked the royal canon...but I'm definitely going to transition to only FF. He only ate the royal canon for a few days. Before that I had him eating Hills for about a week. I had a hard time getting him to eat enough. So at least with FF I won't have to worry about him not wanting to eat it!
Aw I'm so glad that your kitty is doing better!! :)
 
Don't worry, Shawna, you'll get there. The BG can be erratic at times so it's best to keep a dose for a while. I agree with the suggestions re desensitizing him about ear handling. Freeze dried meat treats are much enjoyed by Teasel. I buy the Orijen brand "original" and "wild boar". Some people boil/poach/roast a plain chicken breast then cut it into small cubes and freeze it in small batches to take out one batch at a time as needed.
 
I know I can't keep asking every single time, and I couldn't do the spreadsheet yet because I'm sick with first grade germs lol. It's just a cold but I feel awful, so I didn't have the time or energy to figure it out yesterday.
I can set it up for you so you would just have to fill it in accordingly and link it to your Signature :) Djamila made a video showing how to link SS in Signature too :)
 
I can set it up for you so you would just have to fill it in accordingly and link it to your Signature :) Djamila made a video showing how to link SS in Signature too :)

Oh you are so sweet!! Is that a lot of work? If it's easy for you I would appreciate that so much! xoxoxo
Hopefully I can help others in the future like you are all so kindly helping me. I appreciate you!
 
Don't worry, Shawna, you'll get there. The BG can be erratic at times so it's best to keep a dose for a while. I agree with the suggestions re desensitizing him about ear handling. Freeze dried meat treats are much enjoyed by Teasel. I buy the Orijen brand "original" and "wild boar". Some people boil/poach/roast a plain chicken breast then cut it into small cubes and freeze it in small batches to take out one batch at a time as needed.

Aw thanks that makes me feel better. I have been petting him today with smooches and he isn't grumpy like last night. He must have been feeling terrible and wanted me to know by hissing at me. He went thirteen years with not one hiss that I ever saw, and the first time he did it I was terrified and I had hurt feelings lol but now I just know it means he doesn't feel good/needs space and he's just a cutie pie to me...my poor baby. I'm so thankful to be here on this forum so I can give him the best chances of getting better!!
I think he's going to love the new treats he will be getting! He used to be obsessed with temptations. Probably super unhealthy, but I really just wasn't knowledgeable. So I know he will be happy about getting a treat here and then again!! xoxox
 
It does get easier Shawna. As for not being able to ask every time...why not??? :) We've all been through the phase where we're new at this and trying to figure it out and we've all asked about every single preshot. I used to do a thread every single day and even when I started to figure out dosing on my own, I still asked for guidance and advice here!

We generally advocate a start low, go slow option here...start at 1 unit and then slowly raise the dose by 0.25 as you go along. That steady, methodical approach to dosing is usually the best way to get ProZinc to work for you. Have you read our Beginners Guide and Protocol?
 
Next question you have, start a new thread :). I know this one got long faster than usual from all the excitement the other night :smuggrin:. Usually when you get through the 2nd page, go ahead and start a new thread :cat:
 
Wow, how can vets prescribe that food for cats with diabetes! :( that is so sad...so they do not know low carbs work best for diabetic cats? I'm so confused!

I think what happens is that the sales reps go into the vet offices and spin them a tall tale about how great the food is and how it's scientifically formulated and will magically heal all the pets. The vets sincerely want to help their clients, so they believe the sales pitch and then pass it on to all of us. They do make a profit off of selling it, but I choose to believe that the vets have good intentions, they just don't know it's bogus and don't have time/take the time to research it.

Yes, the low carb diet seemed to come as a surprise to my vet, too. At our first visit, she recommended that Buddy eat a hairball formula (non-prescription) type of food due to its' fiber content and prolonged ingestion. But my research led me away from that and on to a strict low carbohydrate diet.

As Djamila mentioned, and I agree completely, most vets have good intentions. They just probably treat feline diabetes based on what they were taught in veterinary school. I also tend to think that a lot of vets don't get good feedback from the majority of diabetic cat owners. At least, reading between the lines, that was the message relayed to me by Buddy's vet.

It seems to me that most of us that are on this message board go way beyond in the level of care that we provide for our cats than maybe the average cat owner does. In doing so, I feel that we are in a great position to help our vets better understand feline diabetes and how to more effectively treat it.
 
It does get easier Shawna. As for not being able to ask every time...why not??? :) We've all been through the phase where we're new at this and trying to figure it out and we've all asked about every single preshot. I used to do a thread every single day and even when I started to figure out dosing on my own, I still asked for guidance and advice here!

We generally advocate a start low, go slow option here...start at 1 unit and then slowly raise the dose by 0.25 as you go along. That steady, methodical approach to dosing is usually the best way to get ProZinc to work for you. Have you read our Beginners Guide and Protocol?

Thank you!! I haven't read it, thanks for sharing! I'm so thankful :)
 
Next question you have, start a new thread :). I know this one got long faster than usual from all the excitement the other night :smuggrin:. Usually when you get through the 2nd page, go ahead and start a new thread :cat:

Oh, ok, thanks!
 
Yes, the low carb diet seemed to come as a surprise to my vet, too. At our first visit, she recommended that Buddy eat a hairball formula (non-prescription) type of food due to its' fiber content and prolonged ingestion. But my research led me away from that and on to a strict low carbohydrate diet.

As Djamila mentioned, and I agree completely, most vets have good intentions. They just probably treat feline diabetes based on what they were taught in veterinary school. I also tend to think that a lot of vets don't get good feedback from the majority of diabetic cat owners. At least, reading between the lines, that was the message relayed to me by Buddy's vet.

It seems to me that most of us that are on this message board go way beyond in the level of care that we provide for our cats than maybe the average cat owner does. In doing so, I feel that we are in a great position to help our vets better understand feline diabetes and how to more effectively treat it.

Well that makes sense. I would have never known all of this! Which food does your cat eat?
 
Oh I was looking up the B12 for his legs, is there one for cats, or a certain brand that is best? Or just the same ones people use?
I use a people one.... Vitacost... Because you can just open the caplet and sprinkle it on. They are the same. Zobaline is marketed to diabetic cats and is used by many.


Just make sure it's methylcobalamin type of b12.
 
I use a people one.... Vitacost... Because you can just open the caplet and sprinkle it on. They are the same. Zobaline is marketed to diabetic cats and is used by many.


Just make sure it's methylcobalamin type of b12.

Excellent! Thanks!:bighug:
 
Yup, Methylcobalamin B12 is the one you want. I think these are the Vitacost that Janet is talking about: https://www.vitacost.com/vitacost-vitamin-b-12-methylcobalamin-500-mcg-300-capsules
The benefit of the Zobaline is that it also has folic acid which helps the B12 absorb better. If you get the Vitacost you may want to also get some folic acid (B9) vitamin. I think after adding the 2 products you are close to the price of Zobaline. Might save about $10 though :)

Found the items:
2 of these: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B008NIHCZC/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
and 1 drop of this: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00VVL6G0A/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
 
Last edited:
I know
I'm glad we both know now!
I'm feeling a bit paranoid now though. I keep worrying his blood sugar will go really low again. I wasn't able to check him a second time tonight (I did the pre shot) but I wanted to check him again because he's acting a bit weird....but he truly won't let me. He even hissed at me...so sad. I could try to fight it out with him, but I feel he is going to be ok right now. He ate some more so I'm going to just get his testing in the morning and I'll keep checking on him tonight. Doesn't help that I'm sick myself right now, just a bad cold, but that really drains the energy from you. I'm not complaining, just stressed out lol
I know how you feel. The anxiety of not knowing if kitty will go low again is sometimes overwhelming. We test AMPS, PMPS and nadir during the day, try to get a test before bed and if I'm super paranoid, her nighttime nadir lol
 
I know

I know how you feel. The anxiety of not knowing if kitty will go low again is sometimes overwhelming. We test AMPS, PMPS and nadir during the day, try to get a test before bed and if I'm super paranoid, her nighttime nadir lol

Yes I'll feel better once I know which numbers are "good"
I figured out the codes except for nadir - I do know it means a shot in the middle of the day to check blood sugar LOL
 
Yup, Methylcobalamin B12 is the one you want. I think these are the Vitacost that Janet is talking about: https://www.vitacost.com/vitacost-vitamin-b-12-methylcobalamin-500-mcg-300-capsules
The benefit of the Zobaline is that it also has folic acid which helps the B12 absorb better. If you get the Vitacost you may want to also get some folic acid (B9) vitamin. I think after adding the 2 products you are close to the price of Zobaline. Might save about $10 though :)

Found the items:
2 of these: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B008NIHCZC/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
and 1 drop of this: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00VVL6G0A/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20


Omg you are amazing!!!!!!!
Thank you times a million!!! You are amazing. I appreciate you! And I pinky promise I will make a new thread...I just keep responding and never know when to make a new one, lol, but I'm trying! :)
 
Yes I'll feel better once I know which numbers are "good"
I figured out the codes except for nadir - I do know it means a shot in the middle of the day to check blood sugar LOL
Nadir means the lowest point of the day, and it varies from cat to cat, and from insulin to insulin. For example vetsulin, which my cat used, usually peeks between +4-6. My cat usually hit nadir around 6... Sometimes 5.
ProZinc users often find nadir to be around +7.
 
Yes I'll feel better once I know which numbers are "good"
I figured out the codes except for nadir - I do know it means a shot in the middle of the day to check blood sugar LOL
"Good" numbers for human meters are 50-120. A cat is said to be regulated when they are consistently 300 and below at preshot and around 100 at nadir.
 
Well right now I manage my classroom way better than Theodore's diabetes lol but hopefully real soon I will be better with all this! Thanks to you all!!:bighug:
My cc was diagnosed last may.... May and June are such busy times of the year as you know so I was just treading water until school was over and I could put more attention to CC'S treatment. I started testing her at home the beginning of July. I made it my mission to learn as much as I could about fd over the summer and get her as regulated as I could. Her last shot was in Sept, the day before school started again. :)
 
My cc was diagnosed last may.... May and June are such busy times of the year as you know so I was just treading water until school was over and I could put more attention to CC'S treatment. I started testing her at home the beginning of July. I made it my mission to learn as much as I could about fd over the summer and get her as regulated as I could. Her last shot was in Sept, the day before school started again. :)

That's so awesome Janet!! CC is a blessed kitty to have you! I'm so happy for you and CC! :cat:
 
I am a former high school English teacher...theres's a lot of us here!

Nadir is just a test in the middle of the day...every cat's nadir is different and it can be a moving target. As you get more tests in, you'll learn when your cat's nadir is. Usually it's between +5-+7 but can be earlier or later!
 
"Good" numbers for human meters are 50-120. A cat is said to be regulated when they are consistently 300 and below at preshot and around 100 at nadir.

Oh this is so good to know!! I wrote it down! Teddys preshot tonight was 302. He's still growling and hissing at me when I do it though :( and I'm being sweet and petting him...I didn't get the treats yet because I'm sick and didn't leave my house today.

I think he's hissing from pain though, I can't get him to walk!!! So sad. I lift him off the couch to try to get him to use the bathroom and I can tell he is in so much pain, even though I've given him the Meloxidyl. I am going to post a thread under the arthritis forum too. I don't know if it's arthrtis or diabetes. Maybe both. But it's not good and I hate that I can't be home with him if he won't walk!
 
I am a former high school English teacher...theres's a lot of us here!

Nadir is just a test in the middle of the day...every cat's nadir is different and it can be a moving target. As you get more tests in, you'll learn when your cat's nadir is. Usually it's between +5-+7 but can be earlier or later!

Awesome! :) and ok thanks!
 
I just sat down by Teddy, not even touching him, and he hissed at me. I am starting to feel so heartbroken! I am already heartbroken that he is sick, but now this? I think I need to call the vet about different pain medicine. I don't know. But I can't imagine Teddy doesn't love me anymore. Oh that sounds so dramatic...lol but he shouldn't be hissing at his mom!!!! :arghh:
 
Aww Shawna. We know it's hard! Are you giving Teddy special treats at test time? Is there anything he really likes? Any games he likes to play or does he like being brushed or anything? Try to find something you can do with him during NOT test time that he enjoys...and treats every test. He does still love you, he's just feeling bad and maybe is a little freaked by all the changes, but he'll be fine! Everyone on this board has gone through the testing and shots and the cat being freaked out at the beginning, and they all got used to it and behaved with maybe the occasional cattitude. Trust me, if our cats never got used to it, we wouldn't all be doing it! :bighug:
 
Aww Shawna. We know it's hard! Are you giving Teddy special treats at test time? Is there anything he really likes? Any games he likes to play or does he like being brushed or anything? Try to find something you can do with him during NOT test time that he enjoys...and treats every test. He does still love you, he's just feeling bad and maybe is a little freaked by all the changes, but he'll be fine! Everyone on this board has gone through the testing and shots and the cat being freaked out at the beginning, and they all got used to it and behaved with maybe the occasional cattitude. Trust me, if our cats never got used to it, we wouldn't all be doing it! :bighug:

<3 thanks so much, xoxox, well he doesn't like to be brushed and for the last few days he has stopped walking!! I have to lift him off the couch to try to use the bathroom - and he will slowly walk back to climb back up his stairs to get in his spot. It's so sad. So brushing or playing won't work right now...I can barely touch anywhere on his lower half without him shaking or growling. I'm going to try the meat treats tomorrow. I think he must be in bad pain.
Thanks for your kind words. I just hope he at least will start to tolerate me doing the tests. I'm crossing my fingers the meat treats will work!
 
Oh this is so good to know!! I wrote it down! Teddys preshot tonight was 302. He's still growling and hissing at me when I do it though :( and I'm being sweet and petting him...I didn't get the treats yet because I'm sick and didn't leave my house today.

I think he's hissing from pain though, I can't get him to walk!!! So sad. I lift him off the couch to try to get him to use the bathroom and I can tell he is in so much pain, even though I've given him the Meloxidyl. I am going to post a thread under the arthritis forum too. I don't know if it's arthrtis or diabetes. Maybe both. But it's not good and I hate that I can't be home with him if he won't walk!
Maybe something in addition to the pain killer would help. Definitely get the zobaline going, but also something like cosequine and omega 3 supplements would help lubricate the arthritic joints.
 
Well right now I manage my classroom way better than Theodore's diabetes lol but hopefully real soon I will be better with all this! Thanks to you all!!:bighug:
You will get there! It's like navigating at a new school. It's tricky until you learn the ropes, and then it can still be tricky. But you have tons of support here!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top