where do I go from here

Status
Not open for further replies.
If you would feel better, you can test in a few hours, but he's rising on his own now, and the insulin usually starts to wear off after the 5-7 hour mark.

So here's the plan for tomorrow:

Under 200 - no shot
Over 200 - one unit

If you have any questions in the morning, go ahead and post them. There are usually people around since many of the folks on here are in the eastern time zone.
 
Great! So you're all done for tonight!

You've really done a great job! Having one of our kitties go hypo is so scary, but you did everything right to get him back to safe numbers!

It's not uncommon for the BG to go pretty high after a hypo episode. It's part of how the body heals and protects itself. So please don't worry about whatever number you see in the morning. One high number isn't going to hurt, and we'll help you get him back on track.


Ok thank you!!!! That was scary...thank you from the bottom of my heart!!! (And thank you to everyone)
I don't know what might of happened. I'll never forget you all, and your kindness.
Goodnight! Talk soon! Much love!!!
 
If you would feel better, you can test in a few hours, but he's rising on his own now, and the insulin usually starts to wear off after the 5-7 hour mark.

So here's the plan for tomorrow:

Under 200 - no shot
Over 200 - one unit

If you have any questions in the morning, go ahead and post them. There are usually people around since many of the folks on here are in the eastern time zone.


Excellent! I feel so relieved knowing what to do now!!!! Thank you!! :)
 
Let us know the preshot test this morning.

Do you use a lancing device that clicks? I don't have one, I'm just using the lancets on his ear - but I think it might be so much easier to use a device? Or no?
After he eats I need to try to get him to use the bathroom, he didn't go or even move around at all yesterday..
And then we need a nap lol
 
Wow that preshot is lower than I thought. Def only give 1 unit.

Ok thanks. I wonder why the preshot is low? He was taking steriods (not anymore) and he was so stressed at the vet, And I mean beyond stressed, so maybe his numbers were never that high? The first time I bought this monitor last week it read 300 something though.
 
One more thing please...He is devouring his food since all this started yesterday morning...(usually I have had a hard time getting him to eat all the food I want him to) so should I give him more than the one little can right now? It's 3 ounces. Or just wait until his next meal in twelve hours?
 
Do you use a lancing device that clicks? I don't have one, I'm just using the lancets on his ear - but I think it might be so much easier to use a device? Or no?
After he eats I need to try to get him to use the bathroom, he didn't go or even move around at all yesterday..
And then we need a nap lol
I don't use the device. I did the first two weeks and nor only did she not like the click, I couldn't be as accurate. I'll link to a video I made a few weeks ago about testing.......

 
One more thing please...He is devouring his food since all this started yesterday morning...(usually I have had a hard time getting him to eat all the food I want him to) so should I give him more than the one little can right now? It's 3 ounces. Or just wait until his next meal in twelve hours?
You don't have to feed 12 hours apart. That's an old fashioned method. Most of us feed several small meals a day, just no food two hours before preshot testing.

Can you set up a signature so people don't have to ask you the same questions repeatedly? Click on your name at the top and select signature. Add info such as date diagnosed, cats name and age, type of insulin, food you're feeding and any other health concerns.
 
I don't use the device. I did the first two weeks and nor only did she not like the click, I couldn't be as accurate. I'll link to a video I made a few weeks ago about testing.......


Aww I haven't watched it all yet, I'm going to do that now...but it is so nice to see you! And your CC is so adorable!!! Aw! I will definitely upload Theodore's picture soon!
 
You don't have to feed 12 hours apart. That's an old fashioned method. Most of us feed several small meals a day, just no food two hours before preshot testing.

Can you set up a signature so people don't have to ask you the same questions repeatedly? Click on your name at the top and select signature. Add info such as date diagnosed, cats name and age, type of insulin, food you're feeding and any other health concerns.

Yes, definitely
 
IMG_3674.JPG
 
Ok thanks. I wonder why the preshot is low? He was taking steriods (not anymore) and he was so stressed at the vet, And I mean beyond stressed, so maybe his numbers were never that high? The first time I bought this monitor last week it read 300 something though.
I had missed this question. Being at the vet can definitely raise numbers.... Some cats they can raise 100 points or more! This is why curves at home are so much more accurate than at the vet. This is really a great preshot number.... If you had blindly shot 4 u he would have been in big trouble.
 
Teddy is a very handsome boy! I've just read through the last parts of your thread here. Congratulations on getting through the hypo and keeping Teddy safe. :) A lot of learning happened last night!
 
Hey there, I tested him at 6am and it says 247. So he is eating now and then I'll give him the one unit. It's so nice to know what to do!
It's amazing that his pre shot is so good after that episode last night. He might not be a big bouncer after all and that's a good thing. Please think about setting up the spreadsheet we use here. It's viewable by all members and is the first thing we look at before offering advice. There are techies on here to help with it if needed.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/
 
It's amazing that his pre shot is so good after that episode last night. He might not be a big bouncer after all and that's a good thing. Please think about setting up the spreadsheet we use here. It's viewable by all members and is the first thing we look at before offering advice. There are techies on here to help with it if needed.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/
Yep that was going to be my next suggestion.

Download Google Sheets and follow the above link. :).
 
Good morning! Your signature looks great, and I love your photo! One little change to the signature: yous say 1 unit as needed, but it should be 1u BID or 1u 2x/day. Or you could just take that off since the dose will change fairly often.

What a great pre-shot! How long ago did Teddy stop the steroid?
 
Hi Shawna! I missed all the excitement last night...you did AMAZING! I think I saw that you're in FL? I'm just up the road from you in AL!

Please do continue to ask us any questions you have and let us know how we can help you...that's what we're here for!
 
I don't use the device. I did the first two weeks and nor only did she not like the click, I couldn't be as accurate. I'll link to a video I made a few weeks ago about testing.......


I love when CC puts his little mouth right up to the test strip...sooo cute!! I just watched the video again, so helpful. I am going to add the neosporin and the cotton pads to his little kit. Thanks again for sharing the video.
 
It's amazing that his pre shot is so good after that episode last night. He might not be a big bouncer after all and that's a good thing. Please think about setting up the spreadsheet we use here. It's viewable by all members and is the first thing we look at before offering advice. There are techies on here to help with it if needed.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/

Yes I definitely will set up a spreadsheet. That's such a great resource, thanks.
 
Teddy is a very handsome boy! I've just read through the last parts of your thread here. Congratulations on getting through the hypo and keeping Teddy safe. :) A lot of learning happened last night!

Yes I can't even explain how grateful I am! I learned SO MUCH last night....
Here's my little sweetie right now, he's so much better than last night. Yesterday was rough. Theodore and I are both thankful to have found you all. :)
IMG_1525.JPG
 
Good morning! Your signature looks great, and I love your photo! One little change to the signature: yous say 1 unit as needed, but it should be 1u BID or 1u 2x/day. Or you could just take that off since the dose will change fairly often.

What a great pre-shot! How long ago did Teddy stop the steroid?

Thank you about the signature information! He stopped the steroids for arthritis over a week ago, right around the same time the vet diagnosed him with diabetes. We stopped the steroid because he wasn't doing well....but it turns out he wasn't doing well because he had the diabetes... We thought he was losing his back leg strength from his arthritis or possibly something terrible that wasn't diagnosed yet, but I think all these problems were from high blood sugar.
He had taken that for a good three weeks....so I'm glad he isn't taking that anymore!
He has Meloxidyl for his arthritis now, but she said only give to him when I see he looks like he needs it / or on bad days she said.
 
Hi Shawna! I missed all the excitement last night...you did AMAZING! I think I saw that you're in FL? I'm just up the road from you in AL!

Please do continue to ask us any questions you have and let us know how we can help you...that's what we're here for!

Hi there! It's nice to meet you and everyone here. What a lovely group of people and such invaluable information shared! I know they saved Teddy's life last night and I'll be forever thankful.
Thank you!
 
What a handsome fur baby!!! Aren't they just adorable when they are sound asleep like that!

It sounds like he's having some neuropathy -- common with diabetes. As his numbers settle, you will likely see some improvement in his leg strength and comfort.

Have you done a mid-cycle test today to see how he's doing on that one unit?
 
What a handsome fur baby!!! Aren't they just adorable when they are sound asleep like that!

It sounds like he's having some neuropathy -- common with diabetes. As his numbers settle, you will likely see some improvement in his leg strength and comfort.

Have you done a mid-cycle test today to see how he's doing on that one unit?


Ok I just checked. He had a cute growl going on...oh my, he's getting annoyed with his mama lol

It is at 93.

??
 
Is he at +7 right now? (seven hours after shot time)
93 is a great number!

I tested him at 6am and it said 247. He ate and I gave him the 1 unit shot about 6:20 or so.... so it's been about 6 hours I believe since food and shot.

So 93 is a good stable number for the day until I check him tonight? And if his preshot is lower than 200, no insulin right?
I will definitely do that spreadsheet today!
 
Exactly! All of that is correct. 93 is on the high end of our "green" numbers which means it is both good and safe. Being at +6 means he isn't likely to go much lower.

Make sure he doesn't eat in the two hours just before the evening test. The rest of the day it's fine for him to eat.
 
Thank you about the signature information! He stopped the steroids for arthritis over a week ago, right around the same time the vet diagnosed him with diabetes. We stopped the steroid because he wasn't doing well....but it turns out he wasn't doing well because he had the diabetes... We thought he was losing his back leg strength from his arthritis or possibly something terrible that wasn't diagnosed yet, but I think all these problems were from high blood sugar.
He had taken that for a good three weeks....so I'm glad he isn't taking that anymore!
He has Meloxidyl for his arthritis now, but she said only give to him when I see he looks like he needs it / or on bad days she said.
If you think the leg weakness is diabetic neuropathy, give him vitamin B12 to help reverse it.
 
Try to keep the two test/feed/shoot times as close to 12 hours, and as consistently as you can. Prozinc has some flexibility in terms of still being safe, but it seems to work best when it's consistent.
 
Exactly! All of that is correct. 93 is on the high end of our "green" numbers which means it is both good and safe. Being at +6 means he isn't likely to go much lower.

Make sure he doesn't eat in the two hours just before the evening test. The rest of the day it's fine for him to eat.
Exactly! All of that is correct. 93 is on the high end of our "green" numbers which means it is both good and safe. Being at +6 means he isn't likely to go much lower.

Make sure he doesn't eat in the two hours just before the evening test. The rest of the day it's fine for him to eat.

Thank you so much!!!!!!
Can I ask what are green/safe numbers are again, meaning the actual numbers are?
 
Try to keep the two test/feed/shoot times as close to 12 hours, and as consistently as you can. Prozinc has some flexibility in terms of still being safe, but it seems to work best when it's consistent.

Ok I definitely will! Thank you!
 
0-49 is lime green = bad
50-99 is dark green = great

The ranges are all listed at the top of the spreadsheet, so once you get that set up and start putting in numbers, the color coding happens automatically.
 
If you check the spreadsheets most of us have linked in our signatures, the BG numbers are on a "scale" with different colours. The darker green numbers are a good range for most cats at peak insulin time, and can even help the pancreas to "heal" and kick itself back into action in some cases. (Although the light/neon green numbers indicate hypoglycaemia, as you experienced already!) Wish mine would spend a bit more time in that range, hahah. As someone already mentioned, target lows are around 100ish for most cats (or not much above that), as that allows a bit of safe leeway.

I just read over this thread and that was sure a rollercoaster. Glad Teddy's okay!
 
0-49 is lime green = bad
50-99 is dark green = great

The ranges are all listed at the top of the spreadsheet, so once you get that set up and start putting in numbers, the color coding happens automatically.

Oh wow it's a color coded spreadsheet!! I honestly just stumbled upon this website last night through panic and tears, and I've already learned so much and I feel Teddy is going to be ok!! Before I found you all I just didn't think I could do all this and I didn't think he would be ok!! I don't mean to keep going on and on, but you are all life savers. Xoxoxoxo
 
If you check the spreadsheets most of us have linked in our signatures, the BG numbers are on a "scale" with different colours. The darker green numbers are a good range for most cats at peak insulin time, and can even help the pancreas to "heal" and kick itself back into action in some cases. (Although the light/neon green numbers indicate hypoglycaemia, as you experienced already!) Wish mine would spend a bit more time in that range, hahah. As someone already mentioned, target lows are around 100ish for most cats (or not much above that), as that allows a bit of safe leeway.

I just read over this thread and that was sure a rollercoaster. Glad Teddy's okay!

Nice to meet you! Thank you for this information too!!! xoxoxoxo
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top