When to give insulin?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Carol Nicholson

Member Since 2018
I just started home testing tonight. My vet had me giving 2u of Novolin N every 12 hours, immediately after a meal. He was eating Purina DM and Hill's MD per the vet. Lucci got sick with horrible watery diarrhea on Sunday. He has been in the hospital on IV support, he came home last night. Still has the diarrhea, we are waiting for results of Feline GI Profile and digestive malabsorption study. Also waiting for results of fecal panel, but in the interim he has bad diarrhea.

I am at the 12 hour mark, his bg is 117. It was 65 six hours ago. It is rising, but still too low for insulin? We are switching to Prozinc for his next dose, starting with 1u. My question is, so I shoot at 117 or skip the dose?
 
If I skip the dose, when do I test again? I am now giving him fancy feast, he likes it better than the prescription food. Do I leave it out for him, or pick it up?
 
I am no expert, I just looked at guide for new beginners for novolin, it said don't give insulin below 250. Please look at the guide to verify for yourself. @Chris & China are you available?
 
Thanks, I saw that for Novolin. We are switching to Prozinc for this next dose. I'm trying to figure out if I continue testing and wait until his bg is over 200, then give the dose regardless of the time since last dose? Called the emergency vet that treated him over the weekend, she said to skip the dose.
 
My question is, so I shoot at 117 or skip the dose?

I wouldn't shoot a 117 (ProZinc or Novolin)

If your schedule is flexible enough, you can wait until he's high enough to shoot (as long as you can shoot again 12 hours later and maintain that schedule) or just skip and start tomorrow morning when it's convenient for you
 
I wouldn't shoot a 117 (ProZinc or Novolin)

If your schedule is flexible enough, you can wait until he's high enough to shoot (as long as you can shoot again 12 hours later and maintain that schedule) or just skip and start tomorrow morning when it's convenient for you
Thank you Chris, again.
 
I wouldn't shoot a 117 (ProZinc or Novolin)

If your schedule is flexible enough, you can wait until he's high enough to shoot (as long as you can shoot again 12 hours later and maintain that schedule) or just skip and start tomorrow morning when it's convenient for you
I am retired (old as dirt) so I am very flexible. I will keep an eye on him and test in a couple of hours. Thanks for the help!
 
I wouldn't shoot a 117 (ProZinc or Novolin)

If your schedule is flexible enough, you can wait until he's high enough to shoot (as long as you can shoot again 12 hours later and maintain that schedule) or just skip and start tomorrow morning when it's convenient for you
C
I wouldn't shoot a 117 (ProZinc or Novolin)

If your schedule is flexible enough, you can wait until he's high enough to shoot (as long as you can shoot again 12 hours later and maintain that schedule) or just skip and start tomorrow morning when it's convenient for you

What is a safe number to shoot the insulin? Thank you!
 
Since you don't have a spreadsheet showing what kind of numbers he's been getting on the Novolin, I wouldn't shoot the ProZinc until he was at least 200

Once the last shot starts to really wear off, he could zoom up pretty quickly.

As you get some test numbers on the ProZinc and see how he's responding, you may be able to reduce the Pre-shot number you're willing to shoot, but it's too soon right now.

Better too high for a day than too low for a minute
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top