? When do I need to pull back? Spike AMPS 236; PMPS 216; +2 115

DevilPup

Member Since 2018
I was unable to test today after am shot, had to go into work (one day per week) Tonight, shot his full dose (1.75U) at 216. At +2 he was at 115. We have never gone this low before; I am nervous, of course. I will test again at +4; if necessary +6. Now that I am wide awake from this number.

Last week when his PMPS was 203, I dropped his dose in half; the board thought I should not have dropped his dose then.

But......when would I give decreased dose or none? Now that I see he is going lower, how do I make the call? Thanks. I have all my supplies ready in case he decides to go deep. His body seems to be responding to the recently increased dose of 1.75U.
 
I would check again at +3, you are seeing more than just a little drop by +2, looks like an active cycle. Your SS says snack fed, what % carbs?
 
Spike is adorable love the 'tude in the pic. I am not comfortable giving dose advise. But I do know lantus likes consistency. You shoot based on the nadir not the pmps or amps number. If ever there is a question in your mind about shooting a certain number just make a post and put ? And something like "stalling for advise on shooting" or something like that. You need to try and get those inbetween numbers so you can see where the dose is taking him. Glad you are home testing. And good on you for asking questions. Youll learn to see the pattern the more data you have.
You live in NM? He has allergies? I thought you moved out west if you had allergies and asthma??!! :)
 
With SLGS and in your case, you would reduce by 0.25u if you see a number under 90...you may very well get there tonight.

Oh, I just re-read your question...well, we would usually suggest if you see a lower preshot number than you are used to, post here for help, stall for around 20mins and retest...and don't feed, sometimes the number comes up to where you might be more comfortable giving insulin. It's harder when you see lower preshot numbers and you have to shoot and go to work, so you'll have to kind of see how you feel. Nothing wrong with shooting a reduced dose or skipping depending on the number, if you can't be home to monitor, sometimes we do what we need to in order to keep our kitties safe.
 
Last edited:
Whenever the +2 is lower than the preshot number it is a indicator of a possible active cycle. I agree with Christie and check again at +3 so if lower yet, you might want to give a little LC food to slow the cycle down since he has not hit nadir yet. It the +3 proves to be into the green numbers, I would give a tsp of MC food to slow it down.
 
Whenever the +2 is lower than the preshot number it is a indicator of a possible active cycle. I agree with Christie and check again at +3 so if lower yet, you might want to give a little LC food to slow the cycle down since he has not hit nadir yet. It the +3 proves to be into the green numbers, I would give a tsp of MC food to slow it down.

Well, we are now at +3.5. So I will test now. What does it mean "active cycle" exactly? I still feel new at this.
 
I would check again at +3, you are seeing more than just a little drop by +2, looks like an active cycle. Your SS says snack fed, what % carbs?


Unfortunately, the snack he had was a little dry. Mixture of Young Again, Orijen and some Science Diet. Yes, I know. His BG may be higher now because of the dry.
What does "active cycle" mean, besides the obvious? Thanks.
 
It goes back to a bit of the basics with this insulin see this sticky...http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ntus-basaglar-levemir-group-start-here.18139/ , and getting to know how your own kitty usually responds.

The +2 can be an important test, because we often find when the test is much lower than preshot, the kitty will usually get to lower numbers pretty quickly, so that's why you want to try and continue monitoring more frequently, and feeding higher carb foods if necessary. If the +2 was higher than preshot, it more than likely means he'll come down but not so quickly or as much. You won't usually see 100+ difference in BG, it'll be a flatter cycle. A quick drop at +2 is an early indication that you need to keep a closer eye on things. Does this make sense?
 
Last edited:
Spike is adorable love the 'tude in the pic. I am not comfortable giving dose advise. But I do know lantus likes consistency. You shoot based on the nadir not the pmps or amps number. If ever there is a question in your mind about shooting a certain number just make a post and put ? And something like "stalling for advise on shooting" or something like that. You need to try and get those inbetween numbers so you can see where the dose is taking him. Glad you are home testing. And good on you for asking questions. Youll learn to see the pattern the more data you have.
You live in NM? He has allergies? I thought you moved out west if you had allergies and asthma??!! :)

Haha. No we live in NYS. He has asthma. His sinusitis/rhinitis was caused by the little bones in his nostril to be destroyed by an infection that was never fully killed at one point in time. With him no longer having "turbinites?" in his nose, he is more prone to infections and inflammation. His asthma is very well controlled. He uses Flovent 110mcg BID. Still steroids, but more controlled because inhaled directly.

Yes, I try very hard to get a lot of testing in, but I do need to get to work at least one day a week; the rest of the week I can work from home. Problem is, he doesn't really have a "pattern" yet. We have been continually raising his dose by .25U per week (or more than a week) I have been hesitant to raise his dosage because of my fears....and hoping that his high mid cycle numbers were because of his sinusitis and/or pancreatitis flares. But I am raising him, slowly. We have never seen this type of drop since we started, so we believe we may be close to finding his correct dosage.
 
It goes back to a bit of the basics with this insulin see this sticky...http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ntus-basaglar-levemir-group-start-here.18139/ , and getting to know how your own kitty usually responds.

The +2 can be an important test, because we often find when the test is much lower than preshot, the kitty will usually get to lower numbers pretty quickly, so that's why you want to try and continue monitoring more frequently, and feeding higher carb foods if necessary. If the +2 was higher than preshot, it more than likely means he'll come down but not so quickly or as much. You won't usually see 100+ difference in BG, it'll be a flatter cycle. A quick drop at +2 is an early indication that you need to keep a closer eye on things. Does this make sense?

yes, it does! I tested him +3.5. He tested 155. It was probably higher because of the +2 snack of dry. (Young again, Orijen and very little Science Diet)
I just gave him a teaspoon of Sheba pate. LC.

And I thought I was going to bed early....silly rabbit.:nailbiting: More testing for my boy tonight...
 
The dry food snack puts a bit of a kink in things, it may stay in the system longer, but Spike is currently at a nice safe number, I'd maybe try a before bed test if you can, which for me is usually +5ish, that'll tell you if you can go to bed ;)
 
The dry food snack puts a bit of a kink in things, it may stay in the system longer, but Spike is currently at a nice safe number, I'd maybe try a before bed test if you can, which for me is usually +5ish, that'll tell you if you can go to bed ;)


I will test again at +5.5 or +6. In another hour, hour and a half.
Thanks. Thanks All for being here for us. :)
 
The +2 can be an important test, because we often find when the test is much lower than preshot, the kitty will usually get to lower numbers pretty quickly, so that's why you want to try and continue monitoring more frequently, and feeding higher carb foods if necessary. If the +2 was higher than preshot, it more than likely means he'll come down but not so quickly or as much. You won't usually see 100+ difference in BG, it'll be a flatter cycle. A quick drop at +2 is an early indication that you need to keep a closer eye on things. Does this make sense?
It makes sense to me. This is really helpful. Thanks for sharing.
 
Back
Top