Tanya and Ducia
Member Since 2017
Yes, the sounds are unusual but isn't familiar with felines, sounds like human acute bronchitis. Very quest.If your medic listens to her lungs does he hear any unusual sounds?
Yes, the sounds are unusual but isn't familiar with felines, sounds like human acute bronchitis. Very quest.If your medic listens to her lungs does he hear any unusual sounds?
it is too quiet for videoCan you get a video of the breathing and post it?
I keep thinking it's related to the placement of the feeding tube. If their anatomy is anything like ours, the entrance to the esophagus and the trachea for breathing are very close at the top in the neck. We have a flap that closes when we swallow so food doesn't get into the trachea - and it's not fool proof as anyone choking can tell you.it is too quiet for video
We will, he is rather unsure about what he hears. Bronchitis for humans.hearing bronchitis-like sounds in the upper part of her lungs, I would definitely pass that information on to the vet
I called the clinic twice and was told that due to my refusal of he proposed treatment per owner's request I will no longer receive phone explanations. The proposed treatment was to start her on 2U and I refused. I actually wanted to talk to them to go below 1U which but it never came to it.I keep thinking it's related to the placement of the feeding tube
WOW!!!! I don't have any advice regarding the wheezing (I have no experience with tubes and such), but that is super uncool of the Vet office. Can you bring her to your normal vet, or call them? (Unless this is who declined helping you over phone.)I called the clinic twice and was told that due to my refusal of he proposed treatment per owner's request I will no longer receive phone explanations. The proposed treatment was to start her on 2U and I refused. I actually wanted to talk to them to go below 1U which but it never came to it.
the stuff over there is amazing! The owner isn't so much.super uncool of the Vet office
Wendy&Neko,Did Ducia have anesthesia recently? I have heard of kitties who had too large a tube for intubation get a wheezy sound afterwards cause things were irritated.
Let us know what you find out.
The leaking around the tube is a worry. If water or food slurry gets inhaled she could develop pneumonia. This needs attention by your own vet ASAP.Wendy&Neko,
Yes, she has been under anesthesia for a short time for E-Tube fitting procedure and actually due to her not been able to rid itself quicj enough she groggy for longer than I would expect. The procedure was success.I cannot any longer communicate with the clinic staff. I had ro refuse their propose increase in Ducia's dose from 1U to 2U. Her weight was 6.5 lbs, and I believed it to be too large of a dose. I thought that her high 300s could be better managed than another Hypo that we went thru the day before yesterday, and refused it. Now, because I did not accept their treatment plan, refused their services, the owner forbade her staff to discuss anything with me over the phone. Even when I asked if that's the possible cause I was told you have to bring her in and that their are the techs and would not know. The owner did came to the phone and asked who it was and after I named my self she hanged up without saying other word. I got her stuff finally email me the lab tests from yesterday and it turned out that for managing her Hypo crisis they didn't do any blood work only the glucose test. I expect it now, but the copy has been sent to my vet, the one who original diagnosed DKA. I am going to call him.
But I have 2 questions that maybe you can help me with:
a) Yesterday after the discharge Ducia was in much better condition. Her numbers are in the SS. Not bad.
this morning 6:45 Bg 342 Lantus 1U 20ml watered slurry, meds and at 8:45 BG is 366. It is going up. I am very anxious and do not know what to think. Why is it up ? Will test again 11:30. She is semi letargic I think, sleeps, reacts to me calling her, but lays down sleeping.
b) the coat under the Tube protective colar is wet. It must be leaking. Can I do anything about it?I will discuss it with the wet but your thoughts are much appreciated. Thank you all
I cannot call ny more. But she is up, ate some. It's her meal time but I am not sure I want to use the tube now. My vet hasn't called yet. Dialing him up right now.Tanya, call them and ask them what level the feeding tube should be at. It should have markings on it. You want to make sure that it hasn't changed position.
wet coat rather, it was not leaking as in faulty leaking/dripping faucet. No. It is visible wet. And she licks front of her body often, like right now. But the over all demeanor is better than before.The leaking around the tube is a worry
I think this could still be a cause for concern. Please do discuss this with your vet as soon as possible.wet coat rather, it was not leaking as in faulty leaking/dripping faucet. No. It is visible wet.

It is only when I pet h the sounds increase.
last test at 9am BG 366 +2. I corrected the SS. Still learning.When was the last test and how long since her shot?
that's what I thoughtshe may be attempting to purr
Can you recall "water overdose" signs and symptoms?No idea what amount can cause it with a cat, but you can overdose on water. Water poisoning. I know this because I accidentally overdosed our foster baby on water. She had a feeding tube. It messes up electrolyte balance. She did survive my stupidity, but the whole ordeal was horrible. So maybe you can check for a safe amount of water for Ducia. I am so sorry things are such a mess for you and Ducia right now.
When Squallie was first dx-ed w/potassium deficiency he was given a gel by Vetoquinol called Renal K and it had no effect on his bg. They also make a powder that you can add to food, which is what we use now; it's a lot cheaper than the gel. You can check with your vet and see if this would be appropriate for Ducia.I'm a little concerned about a gel - possibly sugar in it? But right now, if her potassium really is low, it's more important that she gets her supplement.
The following is from Dr. Karen Becker, describing water intoxication in dogs. I would imagine the symptoms would be similar in cats, as well.Can you recall "water overdose" signs and symptoms?
thank you, I certainly will if he calls, ever.gel by Vetoquinol called Renal K and it had no effect on his bg. They also make a powder that you can add to food
If you don't hear from him before the end of the business day I would call back before they close and ask again that he call you at his convenience, stressing that it is a matter of importance to the health and well-being of your sick kitty!thank you, I certainly will if he calls, ever.
Thanks, Squalliesmom. Much better info than I could give, Tanya. Hope the wheezing gets figured out.No idea what amount can cause it with a cat, but you can overdose on water. Water poisoning. I know this because I accidentally overdosed our foster baby on water. She had a feeding tube. It messes up electrolyte balance. She did survive my stupidity, but the whole ordeal was horrible. So maybe you can check for a safe amount of water for Ducia. I am so sorry things are such a mess for you and Ducia right now.
that has already been done.at his convenience, stressing that it is a matter of importance to the health and well-being of your sick kitty!
this morning 6:45 Bg 342 Lantus 1U 20ml watered slurry, meds and at 8:45 BG is 366. It is going up. I am very anxious and do not know what to think. Why is it up ?
Mine didn't know you could get them with 1/2 unit markings. I had to show her.I think most vets only think in 1 unit increments for some reason. It's like they have never heard of syringes with 1/2 unit marks on them. It must be part of their training.
I wonder if the person who sent you syringes to work with the Lantus could verify or confirm that the ones you used were the U100 syringes.
I am keeping you in my thoughts and prayers. Please test tonight, especially about 4 to 5 or 6 hours after the shot is given. Post here for any concerns. I hope you have lots of test strips. It is recommended to keep an extra box of 50 with your hypo kit, as you never know when you will go through a bunch and the last thing you need is to run out of strips in the middle of the night or during the day when you have no car.
Also, ---Are you testing for ketones??-- Please try to get a test, as lethargy can mean she's sliding back into DKA.
Also, ---Are you testing for ketones??-- Please try to get a test, as lethargy can mean she's sliding back into DKA.
The water up until now is about 21-22 ml, 47 ml slurry and about 1/2 canned 5.5 ounces food. Her nose was dry to the touch and went to litter box twice. Is it too much of water?I would hold off on giving her more water until somebody more familiar with e-tubes and hydration can weigh in. How long ago (in hours) and how much water have you given her?
The water up until now is about 21-22 ml, 47 ml slurry and about 1/2 canned 5.5 ounces food. Her nose was dry to the touch and went to litter box twice. It's too much. The last water she had was 4 ml via tube at 1pm. The last time she ate was about 3:15pm.How long ago (in hours) and how much water have you given her?
The water up until now is about 21-22 ml, 47 ml slurry and about 1/2 canned 5.5 ounces food. Her nose was dry to the touch and went to litter box twice. It's too much. The last water she had was 4 ml via tube at 1pm. The last time she ate was about 3:15pm.
The water up until now is about 21-22 ml, 47 ml slurry and about 1/2 canned 5.5 ounces food. Her nose was dry to the touch and went to litter box twice. Is it too much of water?
26 ml is less than one ounce, so I definitely don't think that is too much water. How much water was in the slurry? Do you mean 47 ml water to 1/2 can food? If so, that's still less than 3 ounces of water, all together. If she's only had 1/2 of a 5.5 oz can of food, she will need more, I'm pretty sure. Did the vet give you any information on how much to feed her, and how much water she would need? If not, make sure to ask your vet tomorrow when you go in. She needs enough food to make sure she doesn't slip back into DKA. I'm really glad you have the appointment with your own vet tomorrow!The water up until now is about 21-22 ml, 47 ml slurry and about 1/2 canned 5.5 ounces food. Her nose was dry to the touch and went to litter box twice. It's too much. The last water she had was 4 ml via tube at 1pm. The last time she ate was about 3:15pm.