? What next? His numbers seem to be getting higher with dose increase.

Jennifer and Winston

Member Since 2021
Good morning, I recently increased Winston's dose (Dec 28th) to 2.5u as per TR protocol. Since his increase, his numbers seem to be higher. Can someone have a look at his spreadsheet and point me in the right direction? Do you think he is becoming resistant? Would switching insulin help?
 
So I want more experienced members to weigh in here. But when I've increased we had the same issue. It's just breaking through and getting their bodies used to insulin and the increase. I've heard it called new dose wonkiness. Remember insulin is not medicine in a traditional sense. It is a hormone and the body has to learn what to do with it. Be patient it does get better I promise! Lantus is also a depot insulin meaning the new dose has to build a new depot.

I hope that helps a little and that other members weigh in here and maybe explain a little better than I did:bighug:
 
Yep, new dose wonkiness is definitely a thing. Just giving your sheet a quick look, I'd say that you haven't gotten to an effective dose yet, and you just need to be patient and follow the protocol. Also, I noticed that you're increasing by 0.5 U rather than 0.25 U. When the dose is under 5 U we usually increase by 0.25 U (every 6 cycles, under TR) to avoid blowing past the correct dose. It takes longer to get to the right dose that way, but it's safer. (It took about 3 months for Oberon to get to a good dose initially, but he has IAA, a high dose condition.) I haven't been following Winston's story, so I don't know if there's a reason for the faster increases, but you might want to get input from some of the more experienced members about it.

ETA: Never mind the above... forgot the rule about bigger increases when nadirs are over 300.
 
It helps to remember that insulin is a hormone, not a regular type of drug. It's not like adding a little bit more means you get a little bit better numbers. With insulin, it's not until you start to get closer to a fitting dose that you start to see significant changes in the numbers. Until then, just keep increasing as per protocol. Don't hold a dose any more than 6 cycles if you are only seeing numbers above 200. Looks like he wants an increase tomorrow. Prove me wrong tonight Winston!
 
Back
Top