What is 3.1 in American English?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deb415andNikki

Member Since 2010
Hi all,

New meter here that apparently has decided to be metric.

What is 3.1?

Thanking any math/metric major for quick replies.

Love and conversion convoluted hugs,
Deb and Nikki, who's supremely pissed because of the extra ear pokes when the American meter decided to blow it's battery...
 
Hi Deb, it's possible I may have a long night too. Do you need any support? Remember I'm west coast so it will still be early for me. I have a +7 58...which I'm not worried about yet but waiting to see what +8 will deliver.
What's your story?
 
Tell me Deb, what can I do. What your story...I don't see a chart for your kitty.
Do you need a call? to stay awake for a hypo? is that your story?
 
Hey Deb, did you get a vacation to an island paradise?

Kiss little Nikki on the nose for us - am around if you need moral support.

Pam & Layla (and Lyric)
 
No dearest Pammy,

I was beyond stupid. The meter I usually use gave no reading, except for low battery. Just shot her normal dose of 2.5 units Levemir. Then brought out the new meter. Then went straight here.

Yes, people, please DO NOT DO what I did.

Why? Because I gave my cat full dose at roughly 56. She was 36 45 minutes later after dearest Venita suggested I take the battery out of the new meter and put it into the old American one.

Her readings since are as follows and this was after a Temptations sample packet. She's now on dried food from my landlords...
56 @ +15 minutes
36 @ + 45 minutes
41 @ + 1-1/2 hours
51 @ + 2 hours
57 @ + 2-1/4 hours
80 @ + 3 hours

She is thankfully asymptomatic and is extremely pissed off with all the ear pokes. I am a guilt ridden mess who will probably be up all night pissing her off even more.

I will keep you posted...

Much love and countless self-deprecating hugs,
Deb, who should have known better, and Nikki, who just slapped the crap out of me -- and rightfully so...
 
Deb, do you have any fancy feast with gravy - or the grilled varieties? Pick some up the next time you go to the store for such events :)

It sounds like she'll be just fine - maybe poke again before going to bed to see if the number is holding.

Hugs,
Pam
 
Dearest Pammy,

She's 190 @ +5. And, she just bit me.

No, I don't have any FF w/gravy or the grilled varieties. Will pick up a few cans just in case.

Am going to attempt staying up for a +6. And, will sleep on the couch because when I do, she sleeps on top of me. Not so in bed.

Thank you all so very much -- and you all know who you are...

I may be stupid and Nikki may be pissed; but, we are both blessed to be here... Truly.

Much love and countless grateful hugs,
Deb and Nikki
 
Hi all,

She's 272 @ +6. Sigh...

Have left her a few pieces of dry food and a can of Fancy Feast -- just in case she starts coming down after I crash...

Am going to bed, or technically couch, now.

Thank you all again!

Much love and sweet dreams kind of grateful hugs,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz, too...
 
Hi Deb!

It's morning, and I'm hoping you both are OK. Poor Nikki... poor mom!

I miss my Humulin U, but remember that with Lev, you CAN shoot at that number if you know she's going up because it takes so long to kick in. It took me a while to reprogram my brain around the differences. With the "old" insulins, you shot according to the preshot BG. With Lev and Lantus, you shoot based on the nadir. Man, that took some brain cell rearranging but I finally got it. So, with enough data, it's perfectly OK to shoot at a low number. In fact, it's preferred! Here's Jill's great sticky on that : http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=147

I hope Nikki forgives you making her so annoyed that she had to bite you ... :lol:

Morning after ((((hugs)))) ....
 
What a crazy night girl! Hope you both got some rest

Jen

Ps we miss you...but next time find a less stressful reason to post :)
 
Deb,

Check page 14 of your Maxima Owner's Booklet. The meter is factory set to mg/dl (American English), but you pushed something while you were setting the meter to change it to mmol (World English). You will likely have to go through the whole setup again to change it back.

:mrgreen:
 
Hi everyone -- it would probably be good if we kept the precious furries out of this continuing stupid post,

Nikki's PS this morning was 355. Sigh... She often hovers around 180; okay, the occasional 150 to 200, crops up. Can we spell the power of kitty crack?

Because of her low numbers last night, gave her a reduced dose this morning of 1.5 kind of light units instead of her normal 2.5 units... Left her with two low carb cans of Fancy Feast -- and, after two unlocking re-entries to kiss her head and make sure she was okay, went to work. Confess I had to take three little power naps to make it through the day...

Tonight, she greeted me at the door, had eaten more of one can than the other, and done her usual mighty poop. And, tonight her PS was 347, so I gave her 2.0 units. It's going to probably take a few to several days to recover from last night. But, hey, she was perky!









Darling Karen,

I miss Humulin U and L very much. I understood them. That combo made so much sense to Gizzie, even with the double dips...

Nikki arrived here on Lantus. I didn't understand Lantus. She's done better on Levemir; but, I don't understand Levemir either. I can't seem to find a nadir. I think sometimes it's the next PS... Or, maybe it's after the next PS when I'm either sleeping or at work.

Even discussed this with her vet, who suggested PZI. I do understand one thing. Things would/probably have been a lot different last night if she was on PZI...

I will check out Jill's great sticky. And, I will work on reprogramming my brain... I promise!

I still hate those frigging Ely Lilly bastards for discontinuing U and L...

Much love and, it's probably time to let go my anger issues with Ely Lilly kind of grateful hugs...







Dearest Jen,

Sleep was fitful last night. The couch is not my bed. And, every time I felt her leaving, I'd keep an eye open and an ear listening. Thankfully she didn't go far, just under the coffee table. And, after I heard her Betty Boop snore, I'd kind of relax... Well, until she did Ninja leap back up on the couch, pretty always accomplishing the bladder landing...

Did I mention the power naps at work today? But, there was no juice and graham crackers upon wake-up? What's up with that?

Much love and countless grateful -- and less stressful posts -- kind of hugs...










Dearest Venita,

I will indeed check out page 14 of my Maxima Owner's Booklet. Despite the fact that you once told me to "step away from the hardware"...

If it becomes too daunting, I'll just multiply by 18. ;o)

Much love and thank you for being on the front line of last night's hysteria kind of countless grateful hugs...










It often takes a village dancing this sugar dance... Thank you all so very much for allowing Nikki and I residence in this village. Truly.

Much love and countless grateful hugs for everyone -- and, of course, all your precious furries!
Deb and Nikki (hmmmmppppphhhh...) -- and, Giz, forever whispering in my heart, and probably still having words with those friggin Ely Lilly bastards...
 
Glad to see you both made it through last night. You had me worried there for a moment but I knew Nikki was in good hands, but still kept watching for an update today.

Give her some extra chin scritches from the gang here.

And dearest Nikki no more biting momma when she is trying to help you and keep you safe. Sure sometimes we poor stupid beans do silly things that make no sense to you far more intelligent felines, but we are afterall just human, we do our best to serve you, and nipping is just rude.

Mel, Max & The Fur Gang
 
Dearest Mel,

I'm definitely keeping you!

Much love and countless grateful hugs to you and yours,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz, forever dancing in my heart...


Edited to add:

PS: Nikki's PS this morning was 251. Went with 2.0 units again...
 
Deb415andNikki said:
PS: Nikki's PS this morning was 251. Went with 2.0 units again...

Nikki sounds great, but have you recovered yet? :)

Try to get a midpoint at some point on a day off. Remember that with Lev, you don't adjust the dose based on the preshot, but on the nadir. (Yeh, damn Eli Lilly!!! :twisted: )
 
On the road to recovery, darling Karen, just not there yet...

Sigh...

Nik's PS tonight was 268 at + 11.5. Had to T&S early because had to go to my part-time job after coming home and going back out. Stuck with the 2.0 reduced dose...

After reading Jill's great sticky, thought in another 20 or 30 minutes, she might have been 180...

I'll go for a +1 Saturday morning. Maybe a +2 if I can find my falconer gloves... ;o] She's still a bit antsy assuming the position after Monday night... Then maybe Sunday evening, I'll go for a night +10 or +11...

Monday is a holiday (until the part-time gig deal), so maybe we'll just recover from Saturday and Sunday...

Finding a nadir in a possible 20 to 30 minute window is completely outside my brain box right now... There are so many 20 to 30 minute windows, after all... But, on the other paw, my clueless guesstimate that she might peak after her PS, checking around +1 or +2 definitely makes sense and might just help my brain understand this Levemir cycle. Look at her numbers from Monday night. Even after kitty crack, she was still going down and took her sweet time going back up...

56 @ +15 minutes (after shot and the whole new meter issues...)
36 @ + 45 minutes
41 @ + 1-1/2 hours
51 @ + 2 hours
57 @ + 2-1/4 hours
80 @ + 3 hours

Hmmmm...

And, then there's the whole free feeding thing, which I will not change as she's alone a good part of the day. Meaning food on board is always understood with test results... I don't dose by it, just know it's there... It's a comfort, peace of mind thing for us both...

Double hmmmmm...

Much love and countless grateful, food for thought, kind of hugs...











And, I need to give a very special thanks to Tom's mom, dearest Lori,

You were so great during many hours of Nikki's low numbers Monday night. And, somewhere in my roller coaster emotions, I knew you were a worried about TomTom doing a similar trip... Yet, you were so very calm and kept me focused.

Thank you, dearest Lori. Truly.

Much love and countless grateful, please mush up his cheeks for me, kind of hugs...






We are all so truly blessed to find this place we never wanted to be.

Much love and countless grateful hugs for you all,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz, forever whispering and dancing in my heart...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top