What does TR stand for?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm always up that late, always testing Tyler. His brother Perry are real pain in the butts late at night .

You must be exhausted!
I talked with Pepper's vet and they called in an Rx for Lantus. They said the vial should be replaced after 60 days (mine is over 90 days old.) It's possible the one I've been using could last longer, but I feel I should give the new batch a try. I got a coupon from goodrx that will bring the cost down to $203.00.
 
  • Oh Julia 203.00 for a vial.



  • Here is a coupon from Single Care , just google Singlecare.com and I typed in your zip code 06483 is that correct and then it shows you the cost for each store for the day.
  • Go to the site and hit get free coupon and they will send you the coupon to your phone, or print it
  • Bring it to which ever store it's for or do all of them.
  • This is for the solostar lantus pen.
  • It will last for about 4-6 months depending on the dose you give.
  • Jus take the top off the pen and stick your syringe in the little gray rubber stopper and draw the insulin. You will need a script or doctor can call.
  • I called the stores where I live and they do give it to pets
Members get our lowest prices. FREE SIGN UP
gray-location-icon.svg



S2219050.JPG

Lantus Solostar Coupons & Prices
Lantus Solostar is available as a pen that's prefilled with a long-lasting insulin. It's used to improve blood sugar control in those with diabetes mellitus. It is used to treat both type 1 diabetes and type 2 diabetes in adults and children. Diabetes medication is often expensive. Fortunately, you can use Lantus Solostar coupons from SingleCare to save on the average price of Lantus Solostar, which could be $123.99 if not more. Pay $69.45 instead at a participating drugstore near you.
Brand
Solostar Pen
3ml of 100units/ml
1 count
0.91 mi. away

$69.45 WALGREENS

Get free coupon
6.52 mi. away

$71.24 WALMART

Get free coupon
Walmart cards must be used at Walmart pharmacies. Not valid at any other pharmacy.
Prices for some drugs may be higher or vary in some states including, but not necessarily limited to, CA and MN.

Need the lowest prices on several drugs? Use our drug basket to get the best value
Add to your drug basket
basket-icon.svg

3.11 mi. away

$83.98 RUTE AID

Get free coupon
0.74 mi. away

$91.79. CVS

Get free coupon
CVS cards must be used at CVS pharmacies. Not valid at any other pharmacy.


Lantus Solostar Price History &
 
Last edited:
Many members buy it from Marks Marine Pharmacy in Canada
These 5 solorstar pens will last you a year.
The expiration date is on them , keep in the fridge and they will be good until you start to use them probably has an expiration date of 2022 or 2023 Lantus Solostar CARTRIDGE 5x3ml per box (temp. gauge. ice pack, express-air mail) Brand 100iu/ml 15 ml $159.99 USD

rx.gif
Lantus Solostar PEN CAN (temp. gauge. ice pack, express-air mail) *single pen open box* Brand 100iu/ml one pen 3 ml $49.99 USD

rx.gif
Lantus Solostar PENS 5x3ml per box (temp. gauge. ice pack, express-air mail) Brand 100u/ml 15 ml $164.99 USD

rx.gif
Lantus VIAL Insulin (10ml per vial) (temp. gauge. ice pack, express-air mail) Brand 100u/ml 10 ml $110.99 USD
 
Last edited:
Julia call one of these pharmacies and make sure of the price for the solorstar pen.
Then tell your vet to call in it to where you would go.
The pens last much much longer than the vials
203.00 that's crazy
Then down the road you can order from Marks if you want to
You call them and they will contact your vet.
 
Julia call one of these pharmacies and make sure of the price for the solorstar pen.
Then tell your vet to call in it to where you would go.
The pens last much much longer than the vials
203.00 that's crazy
Then down the road you can order from Marks if you want to
You call them and they will contact your vet.
It's too late. I just purchased the vial from Walgreens. I'm going to go cry now.
 
Julia if you ever want to tag someone to ask for help this is how you do it
Put this symbol after the last word you type with a space
@Julia78 start to type the first couple of letters of the persons name and on the left hand side you will see a couple names come up, when you see the person you want tap on their name
So it's a space after you last word then start to type their name , when you see their name tap in it. Hit post You will then see their name in blue @Julia78

Try tagging me if you want to see if you are doing it right
 
Hey Deb what would Julia's take action number be if he drops too low?
Take action number for Julia and her kitty Pepper. Good question. I'm not sure, but think that any BG <100 would be time to take action. That recommendation is because there is such limited test data for Pepper, and we don't know how feeding LC (low-carb), MC (medium carb), HC (high carb) food would bring the numbers up for Pepper. Some cats are carb sensitive. Some are not.

What about her pre shot number , is it no shoot under 200 and then ask for help?
No shoot number in the Feline Health forum is 200. But in the lantus ISG group it's 150 mg/dL. It's not truly a "no shoot" insulin number. But a stop and consider your options. Those options being stall, token dose, or skip. Depends on the situation, which choice someone makes.

Yes, we all know that Diane is a "night owl", up testing Tyler all the time and helping other people that are on late. ;) We're happy she is here for people.

Julia, would it be possible for you to start a new thread please? When the number of posts gets to be more than 50, it takes a lot of time for someone to read through the entire thread. I don't mind, but some people do.

If you do start a new thread, please link this old thread in at the top, for history and reference. If you would do that please, it would be appreciated. Thanks.
 
Julia if you ever want to tag someone to ask for help this is how you do it
Put this symbol after the last word you type with a space
@Julia78 start to type the first couple of letters of the persons name and on the left hand side you will see a couple names come up, when you see the person you want tap on their name
So it's a space after you last word then start to type their name , when you see their name tap in it. Hit post You will then see their name in blue @Julia78

Try tagging me if you want to see if you are doing it right
Oh so my notes haven't been going to you? @Julia78 it didn't work. Do you mean to do this after writing a reply or when starting a brand new thread? Thank you!
 
Oh so my notes haven't been going to you? @Julia78 it didn't work. Do you mean to do this after writing a reply or when starting a brand new thread? Thank you!
Lol yes I have seen them all, what I mean is if you ever want to ask a certain person or 2 for help or their opinion you would do what I said , you did it right because I see your name in blue . Just suggesting this if you might post something and no one has responded you can tag them
 
Take action number for Julia and her kitty Pepper. Good question. I'm not sure, but think that any BG <100 would be time to take action. That recommendation is because there is such limited test data for Pepper, and we don't know how feeding LC (low-carb), MC (medium carb), HC (high carb) food would bring the numbers up for Pepper. Some cats are carb sensitive. Some are not.


No shoot number in the Feline Health forum is 200. But in the lantus ISG group it's 150 mg/dL. It's not truly a "no shoot" insulin number. But a stop and consider your options. Those options being stall, token dose, or skip. Depends on the situation, which choice someone makes.

Yes, we all know that Diane is a "night owl", up testing Tyler all the time and helping other people that are on late. ;) We're happy she is here for people.

Julia, would it be possible for you to start a new thread please? When the number of posts gets to be more than 50, it takes a lot of time for someone to read through the entire thread. I don't mind, but some people do.

If you do start a new thread, please link this old thread in at the top, for history and reference. If you would do that please, it would be appreciated. Thanks.
Thank you so much Deb , yes there isn't much data to go on yet. Hoping she will see this and understands what it means, I'll explain it to her :bighug::cat:
 
Thank you, Deb. I really appreciate your support and advice. Because of my work schedule, I have been giving Pepper his insulin at 8:30am and 9pm on Sundays and 10am and 10pm all other days. I hope this is ok. Can you please tell me what BG numbers I'm looking for? And I will go to the glossary to find out what nadir means. Thank you again. Have a good sleep. Julia ps/ I will start giving 1.25 units tomorrow morning.
Julia have you read what Deb wrote on the thread #67?
Do you understand it?
 
Take action number for Julia and her kitty Pepper. Good question. I'm not sure, but think that any BG <100 would be time to take action. That recommendation is because there is such limited test data for Pepper, and we don't know how feeding LC (low-carb), MC (medium carb), HC (high carb) food would bring the numbers up for Pepper. Some cats are carb sensitive. Some are not.


No shoot number in the Feline Health forum is 200. But in the lantus ISG group it's 150 mg/dL. It's not truly a "no shoot" insulin number. But a stop and consider your options. Those options being stall, token dose, or skip. Depends on the situation, which choice someone makes.

Yes, we all know that Diane is a "night owl", up testing Tyler all the time and helping other people that are on late. ;) We're happy she is here for people.

Julia, would it be possible for you to start a new thread please? When the number of posts gets to be more than 50, it takes a lot of time for someone to read through the entire thread. I don't mind, but some people do.

If you do start a new thread, please link this old thread in at the top, for history and reference. If you would do that please, it would be appreciated. Thanks.
 
Lol yes I have seen them all, what I mean is if you ever want to ask a certain person or 2 for help or their opinion you would do what I said , you did it right because I see your name in blue . Just suggesting this if you might post something and no one has responded you can tag them
Thanks! As you can see, it's taking me a while to catch on here.
 
Julia what Deb is saying since you don't have that much data yet on Pepper
when you are checking Peppers BG during the cycles and you get a BG under 100 feed him about a tablespoon of wet low carb food such as the Fancy Feast Classics.

Then test him about 30 minutes or so again to make sure his BG has come up.
We need to see if he responds to the low carb food.
Now if it doesn't come up and goes lower you can then go to the medium carb food and test again in 30 minutes

If not then you would go to high carb
Eventually when you gather more data and see how Pepper responds you won't have to feed him anything if the number is below 100 .
Of course if its in the 60's I would feed him a little bit something and test
It's all going to depend on his numbers, always as for help
You would do a new thread such as ? Low numbers need help

As for his AMPS or his PMPS if his BG is 150 or less you would do what Deb said above I copied it again for you.

No shoot number in the Feline Health forum is 200. But in the lantus ISG group it's 150 mg/dL. It's not truly a "no shoot" insulin number. But a stop and consider your options. Those options being stall, token dose, or skip. Depends on the situation, which choice someone makes.

You would post a thread title would be something like this
? Need help Stall, Token Dose , Or Ship ??

Do you sort of understand everything?
Like Deb and I said once you have a lot more data on Pepper you would shoot a BG of 150
You have to see how the lantus is working for Pepper, how low he is dropping during the cycles and when.

Members shoot BG's as low as 68 because we have a lot of data and know how our cats react.

Just remember if you are not sure of something always ask
I know it's tough for you to get a lot of tests in because of your hours but do the best you can.
You might have to do more testing at night and before you have to be at work at 1:30
so we at least have more data on Pepper
Does this help you to understand
 
Last edited:
Stall means to wait 20-30 minutes after the first pre-shot test, without feeding, and retest again to see if the BG number is rising. By rising we mean 20% or more, not just a few points.

Token dose is giving 10-25% of the regular dose.

Skip is not giving the insulin at all.

I started a new thread. I hope I did it the right way.
You started a private conversation, with Diane and myself.
We want to keep all advice and recommendations and suggestions public, so others can see what is written too.

So go to the top of the Feline Health forum.
Over on the right hand side it says "Post New Thread".
Click on that to start a new public thread.
Write what you want to say.
Click on the "Create Thread" icon at the bottom of the window.

New thread should have been created.
 
Julia what Deb is saying since you don't have that much data yet on Pepper
when you are checking Peppers BG during the cycles and you get a BG under 100 feed him about a tablespoon of wet low carb food such as the Fancy Feast Classics.

Then test him about 30 minutes or so again to make sure his BG has come up.
We need to see if he responds to the low carb food.
Now if it doesn't come up and goes lower you can then go to the medium carb food and test again in 30 minutes

If not then you would go to high carb
Eventually when you gather more data and see how Pepper responds you won't have to feed him anything if the number is below 100 .
Of course if its in the 60's I would feed him a little bit something and test
It's all going to depend on his numbers, always as for help
You would do a new thread such as ? Low numbers need help

As for his AMPS or his PMPS if his BG is 150 or less you would do what Deb said above
ok, I get it. Thank you.
 
Stall means to wait 20-30 minutes after the first pre-shot test, without feeding, and retest again to see if the BG number is rising. By rising we mean 20% or more, not just a few points.

Token dose is giving 10-25% of the regular dose.

Skip is not giving the insulin at all.


You started a private conversation, with Diane and myself.
We want to keep all advice and recommendations and suggestions public, so others can see what is written too.

So go to the top of the Feline Health forum.
Over on the right hand side it says "Post New Thread".
Click on that to start a new public thread.
Write what you want to say.
Click on the "Create Thread" icon at the bottom of the window.

New thread should have been created.
Deb should we have her post on the lantus forum
 
She'd be totally lost there Diane.
I think Feline Health is the better place for Julia right now, until she gets the hang of things.
You are right, I was going it over in my mind just now on how to explain to her how to copy her previous days threads and how to start a new thread, which I see you already explained it.I'll try and explain it to her tomorrow morning publicly. Yep you are right Feline Health . I hope you get a good sleep and thank you for saying you are happy I am here for people.
When I first joined I said to myself I don't think I would ever be able to help any one if they needed help or to explain anything to someone. I am so thankful for all of you still helping me and Tubby lol Tyler out . He just better start giving me some greens with this new dose or else lol @Deb & Wink :bighug::cat:
 
Last edited:
Stall means to wait 20-30 minutes after the first pre-shot test, without feeding, and retest again to see if the BG number is rising. By rising we mean 20% or more, not just a few points.

Token dose is giving 10-25% of the regular dose.

Skip is not giving the insulin at all.


You started a private conversation, with Diane and myself.
We want to keep all advice and recommendations and suggestions public, so others can see what is written too.

So go to the top of the Feline Health forum.
Over on the right hand side it says "Post New Thread".
Click on that to start a new public thread.
Write what you want to say.
Click on the "Create Thread" icon at the bottom of the window.

New thread should have been created.
I'll give it my best shot. Thanks for the information!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top