Diane Tyler's Mom GA
Member Since 2018
Julia I was looking at you SS , your PMPS says 313, did you give 1 unit, it's not filled in, any tests after that?
Ok, I'll do that now. Thanks for the reminder.Julia in your signature where you say wet foods please put FF Pate Classic, is that what you are feeding
Wow, you were up late! Thanks for catching that. I just updated his ss. : )Julia I was looking at you SS , your PMPS says 313, did you give 1 unit, it's not filled in, any tests after that?
Thank you!Here is the chart :http://catinfo.org/docs/CatFoodProteinFatCarbPhosphorusChart.pdf
Just in case you ever need higher carbs to bring his BG up
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy. 15% Med Carbs
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy. 15% Med Carbs
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
These are the 2 dosing methods for lantus, which one would you say you are using
Thank You!Here is the chart :http://catinfo.org/docs/CatFoodProteinFatCarbPhosphorusChart.pdf
Just in case you ever need higher carbs to bring his BG up
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy. 15% Med Carbs
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy. 15% Med Carbs
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs
I'm always up that late, always testing Tyler. His brother Perry are real pain in the butts late at night .Wow, you were up late! Thanks for catching that. I just updated his ss. : )
I'm always up that late, always testing Tyler. His brother Perry are real pain in the butts late at night .





It's too late. I just purchased the vial from Walgreens. I'm going to go cry now.Julia call one of these pharmacies and make sure of the price for the solorstar pen.
Then tell your vet to call in it to where you would go.
The pens last much much longer than the vials
203.00 that's crazy
Then down the road you can order from Marks if you want to
You call them and they will contact your vet.
Lol you are funny, well next timeIt's too late. I just purchased the vial from Walgreens. I'm going to go cry now.

Take action number for Julia and her kitty Pepper. Good question. I'm not sure, but think that any BG <100 would be time to take action. That recommendation is because there is such limited test data for Pepper, and we don't know how feeding LC (low-carb), MC (medium carb), HC (high carb) food would bring the numbers up for Pepper. Some cats are carb sensitive. Some are not.Hey Deb what would Julia's take action number be if he drops too low?
No shoot number in the Feline Health forum is 200. But in the lantus ISG group it's 150 mg/dL. It's not truly a "no shoot" insulin number. But a stop and consider your options. Those options being stall, token dose, or skip. Depends on the situation, which choice someone makes.What about her pre shot number , is it no shoot under 200 and then ask for help?
Oh so my notes haven't been going to you? @Julia78 it didn't work. Do you mean to do this after writing a reply or when starting a brand new thread? Thank you!Julia if you ever want to tag someone to ask for help this is how you do it
Put this symbol after the last word you type with a space
@Julia78 start to type the first couple of letters of the persons name and on the left hand side you will see a couple names come up, when you see the person you want tap on their name
So it's a space after you last word then start to type their name , when you see their name tap in it. Hit post You will then see their name in blue @Julia78
Try tagging me if you want to see if you are doing it right
Ha ha too funny, thank you Deb

Lol yes I have seen them all, what I mean is if you ever want to ask a certain person or 2 for help or their opinion you would do what I said , you did it right because I see your name in blue . Just suggesting this if you might post something and no one has responded you can tag themOh so my notes haven't been going to you? @Julia78 it didn't work. Do you mean to do this after writing a reply or when starting a brand new thread? Thank you!
Thank you so much Deb , yes there isn't much data to go on yet. Hoping she will see this and understands what it means, I'll explain it to herTake action number for Julia and her kitty Pepper. Good question. I'm not sure, but think that any BG <100 would be time to take action. That recommendation is because there is such limited test data for Pepper, and we don't know how feeding LC (low-carb), MC (medium carb), HC (high carb) food would bring the numbers up for Pepper. Some cats are carb sensitive. Some are not.
No shoot number in the Feline Health forum is 200. But in the lantus ISG group it's 150 mg/dL. It's not truly a "no shoot" insulin number. But a stop and consider your options. Those options being stall, token dose, or skip. Depends on the situation, which choice someone makes.
Yes, we all know that Diane is a "night owl", up testing Tyler all the time and helping other people that are on late.We're happy she is here for people.
Julia, would it be possible for you to start a new thread please? When the number of posts gets to be more than 50, it takes a lot of time for someone to read through the entire thread. I don't mind, but some people do.
If you do start a new thread, please link this old thread in at the top, for history and reference. If you would do that please, it would be appreciated. Thanks.


Julia have you read what Deb wrote on the thread #67?Thank you, Deb. I really appreciate your support and advice. Because of my work schedule, I have been giving Pepper his insulin at 8:30am and 9pm on Sundays and 10am and 10pm all other days. I hope this is ok. Can you please tell me what BG numbers I'm looking for? And I will go to the glossary to find out what nadir means. Thank you again. Have a good sleep. Julia ps/ I will start giving 1.25 units tomorrow morning.
Take action number for Julia and her kitty Pepper. Good question. I'm not sure, but think that any BG <100 would be time to take action. That recommendation is because there is such limited test data for Pepper, and we don't know how feeding LC (low-carb), MC (medium carb), HC (high carb) food would bring the numbers up for Pepper. Some cats are carb sensitive. Some are not.
No shoot number in the Feline Health forum is 200. But in the lantus ISG group it's 150 mg/dL. It's not truly a "no shoot" insulin number. But a stop and consider your options. Those options being stall, token dose, or skip. Depends on the situation, which choice someone makes.
Yes, we all know that Diane is a "night owl", up testing Tyler all the time and helping other people that are on late.We're happy she is here for people.
Julia, would it be possible for you to start a new thread please? When the number of posts gets to be more than 50, it takes a lot of time for someone to read through the entire thread. I don't mind, but some people do.
If you do start a new thread, please link this old thread in at the top, for history and reference. If you would do that please, it would be appreciated. Thanks.
I'll start a new thread, but am not sure how to link this one at the top. Just cut and paste the title of this thread and put it in my first post, or in the subject line?Thank you so much Deb , yes there isn't much data to go on yet. Hoping she will see this and understands what it means, I'll explain it to her![]()
Thanks! As you can see, it's taking me a while to catch on here.Lol yes I have seen them all, what I mean is if you ever want to ask a certain person or 2 for help or their opinion you would do what I said , you did it right because I see your name in blue . Just suggesting this if you might post something and no one has responded you can tag them
'Those options being stall, token dose, or skip.' Do you mean this? I only understand 'skip' the dose if his BG is under 150. I'm not sure what stall or token mean.Julia have you read what Deb wrote on the thread #67?
Do you understand it?
I started a new thread. I hope I did it the right way.Julia I don't see anything lol
You started a private conversation, with Diane and myself.I started a new thread. I hope I did it the right way.
ok, I get it. Thank you.Julia what Deb is saying since you don't have that much data yet on Pepper
when you are checking Peppers BG during the cycles and you get a BG under 100 feed him about a tablespoon of wet low carb food such as the Fancy Feast Classics.
Then test him about 30 minutes or so again to make sure his BG has come up.
We need to see if he responds to the low carb food.
Now if it doesn't come up and goes lower you can then go to the medium carb food and test again in 30 minutes
If not then you would go to high carb
Eventually when you gather more data and see how Pepper responds you won't have to feed him anything if the number is below 100 .
Of course if its in the 60's I would feed him a little bit something and test
It's all going to depend on his numbers, always as for help
You would do a new thread such as ? Low numbers need help
As for his AMPS or his PMPS if his BG is 150 or less you would do what Deb said above
Deb should we have her post on the lantus forumStall means to wait 20-30 minutes after the first pre-shot test, without feeding, and retest again to see if the BG number is rising. By rising we mean 20% or more, not just a few points.
Token dose is giving 10-25% of the regular dose.
Skip is not giving the insulin at all.
You started a private conversation, with Diane and myself.
We want to keep all advice and recommendations and suggestions public, so others can see what is written too.
So go to the top of the Feline Health forum.
Over on the right hand side it says "Post New Thread".
Click on that to start a new public thread.
Write what you want to say.
Click on the "Create Thread" icon at the bottom of the window.
New thread should have been created.
She'd be totally lost there Diane.Deb should we have her post on the lantus forum
You are right, I was going it over in my mind just now on how to explain to her how to copy her previous days threads and how to start a new thread, which I see you already explained it.I'll try and explain it to her tomorrow morning publicly. Yep you are right Feline Health . I hope you get a good sleep and thank you for saying you are happy I am here for people.She'd be totally lost there Diane.
I think Feline Health is the better place for Julia right now, until she gets the hang of things.


I'll give it my best shot. Thanks for the information!Stall means to wait 20-30 minutes after the first pre-shot test, without feeding, and retest again to see if the BG number is rising. By rising we mean 20% or more, not just a few points.
Token dose is giving 10-25% of the regular dose.
Skip is not giving the insulin at all.
You started a private conversation, with Diane and myself.
We want to keep all advice and recommendations and suggestions public, so others can see what is written too.
So go to the top of the Feline Health forum.
Over on the right hand side it says "Post New Thread".
Click on that to start a new public thread.
Write what you want to say.
Click on the "Create Thread" icon at the bottom of the window.
New thread should have been created.

Thank you JT! The support is overwhelming. : )You GOT this Julia! You are in GOOD HANDS.![]()