Weekend trial-Last day

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Jax

Active Member
Good Morning All!

Gave Jax 1.8U. for his PM cycle. Nadir hung around 162, 177. I have been wanting to go with 1.8U for a long time but have been reluctant to give him that when I am not home to watch him. I gave him that same dose on 1/8 and his nadir hit 66. Slightly nervous that he may hypo and I won't be home.

This weekend I plan on giving 1.8(f) to see if we can get him low. My thinking is, if I can't get the out of blue territory @ nadir that I may shoot 2U by Sat eve or Sunday morning. We are closely approching his 1 month anniversary on insulin. I can't believe it's been that long and I'm still trying to get him in the 200's for AMPS/PMPS.

Does anyone think that it may not be good to increase so slightly each time an adjustment is made? I'm wondering if a 'jolt', so to speak, like a .30-.50U move, is better than small changes..can a cat become adaptable quickly to slight changes?

This weekend, I plan on getting some research in. I'm approaching his 1 month anniversary on insulin and would love to bring that in with some AMPS/PMPS in the 200's at least. (anti jinx!) ;-)

Hope everyone sees some great #'s today. Surfs up for all! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/13- Weekend trial to commence this evening

I know Robin has talked about a “Bam” dose to get a kitty in good numbers. We did try it a few times but never increased a ton at once, maybe .2 or .3 or so.
If you are going to be home to test and keep an eye on Jax, that 1.8 sounds ok to me, but again, I am no dosing expert. My cat is weird and doesn’t go by the book ohmygod_smile

Here’s hoping the weekend will give you some good info and good numbers!
 
Re: 1/13- Weekend trial to commence this evening

I am brand new to Prozinc and readily and wholeheartedly admit my lack of knowledge to this insulin and it's effects :-D ....I do see similarities between Jax's hi-low pattern with my own tough guy's. Is it too much insulin causing bouncing, or is it not enough causing breakthroughs?

I'm excited to keep an eye on your trial this weekend....
thumb_Fascinating.jpg
 
Re: 1/13- Weekend trial to commence this evening

I am glad you are going to the 1.8 this weekend
I am thinking and hoping it will help
Good luck! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/13- Weekend trial to commence this evening

Good Evening Everyone!

This morning AMPS was 333 and 1.6(f) given.

My husband just called to tell me that he just got Jax's BG#'s and PMPS came in at 334.

Looks good that it's nice, level and not bouncing all over the place. Now hoping that the extra .2U will bring him into the 200's for upcoming AMPS/PMPS. (anti jinx!) ;-) If BG still remains level and there is no significant change I plan on shooting 2U by Sunday.

Wish us lucky!
 
Re: 1/13- Weekend trial to commence this evening

Thanks Teresa...we are going to need all the luck we can get. :lol: There is a saying about too many cooks spoiling the broth... Since I was at work, I asked DH to take reading and give shot. I usually water down Jax's food; it's a tip Sue gave me, which seems to have helped hold his #'s steady. Also, I don't shoot into the scuff... I assume you can see where this is going! Nevertheless, the real trial will begin tomorrow morning when *I* give dose. LOL

PMPS was 334
+2/ 314
+3/ 230
(fell asleep for nadir. Rats.)
+8/ 275
AMPS looks like it may possibly trend high. However, if we stay in the 200's my DH will give ALL the shots! LOL :lol:
 
Re: 1/13- Weekend trial to commence this evening

well that sucks!
well ther eislaways today! good luck!
 
Re: 1/13- Weekend trial

AMPS 344 which is holding steady. Thought it would be higher since +8 was 275 and he was fed a half can of frozen FF @ that time. Mind you, he loves frozen FF like kids love popsicles. Can't stop till it's all gone. Must be yummy.

w10835739.jpg


1.8U given and fed.
 
Re: 1/13- Weekend trial

Love the picture!
good luck today!
Hope Jax gets some great numbers today! :mrgreen:
 
Re: Weekend trial

So far
AMPS 344
+3/ 259
+5/143
+7/ 174
+10/ 325

PMPS in 2 hrs. Thinking will do a fat 1.8U. If cycle doesn't show a good improvement will think about 2U for tomorrow depending upon the #.
 
Re: Weekend trial

Lisa,
Can't be certain since the tests are not at the same exact times in the cycles, but today's cycle and last night's cycle are pretty identical.
I think a bump to 2u makes sense, but thinking like you that if you increase, better to do so during daylight hours rather than have to pull an all-nighter testing.

I'm betting on a PMPS somewhere in the 350-375 range based on the curve so far.
 
Re: Weekend trial

Yes...considering I dozed off last night and missed the nadir. Don't need that happening with the 2U shot.
 
Re: Weekend trial

Well PMPS came in at 447. That # makes me annoyed. Going to go with 2U and break out the coffee maker. ~O) ~O) ~O)
 
Re: Weekend trial

Good luck! :smile:

We have fingers and paws crossed. cat_pet_icon

(Pssst! Jax! Be a good kitty for momma bean, okey dokey? No going too low tonight, ya hear? Good boy!)

We'll be watching. ;-)
 

Attachments

  • Peekaboo.jpg
    Peekaboo.jpg
    18.2 KB · Views: 1,488
Re: Weekend trial

Well PMPS came in at 447. That # makes me annoyed.

This is hardly "funny", but I have to admit this made me lol! A bean with attitude! I, for one, think I am going to enjoy your daily threads. Not scared, nervous, unsure....any of the emotions that are normally expressed in the beginning... Instead, Lisa is pissed!

Looking forward to seeing what the numbers look like from the 2u,
 
Re: Weekend trial

Well, the night has come to an end for me. Recap:

PMPS 447 2U given

+2/ 291
+4/200
+6/151
+8.5/ 227

If pattern hold true I will see a huge bounce on the AMPS. Paws crossed that isn't the case. If it is will hold at 2U to see if I can break the bounces I've been getting when I get into 1.8+u territory. Jax needs a breakthrough. Be back in 3 hours...off to catch some Zzzzz's.
 
Re: Weekend trial

Good Morning All!

AMPS 347.
Was pleased not to see a higher read as that was what I was expecting. He did not bounce off 2U. Progress...
2U given and fed.

Off to catch a 3 hr power nap before next read. I don't expect much movement until we get to +3.
 
Re: Weekend trial

Progress! The numbers make a nice smiley curve. :smile: And no hypo! Yeah!

(Such a good boy, Jax! Don't forget to love on momma bean for taking such good care of you!)
 
Re: Weekend trial

Checking in, then off to run a few errands. Assigning DH to testing responsibilities. :smile:

AMPS was 347
+3/ 318 which I am CERTAIN was food induced as I caught him red-pawed in my civvies portion of FF.
+5/ 197
Hoping that we drop lower over the course of the next 2 hrs. Wasn't pleased with the response I got on 2U. Was really hoping it would have driven the BG lower.
I bought a few cans of Merricks BG. (which must taste like hospital food as even Jax won't polish off an entire bowl in one sitting...and that's saying something) Thinking that will be dinner tonight instead of FF classics to see if the diet change will help out.
 
Re: Weekend trial

Jax is looking good lisa,
please keep inmind that his body needs to adjust to the raise in insulin.
I would give him a few days on the 2 units to see wahat happens
 
Re: Weekend trial

Thanks Denise for the encouragement. Yes, will not raise again for another week to see how he responds to the 2U. Plus, I needed to trust and believe he is ok with this new dose when I'm not home.

+7/ 120
Jax's nadir is usually around +6, +7. He should be on the way up now. Hoping we don't see a bounce at PMPS and that he holds steady!
 
Re: Weekend trial PMPS 137

PMPS came in at 137. Surprising!

Glad to see him in the blue, but does that mean 2U is too high? Or...just right?
Will hold off on food and his shot for another hour then will test again as he cannot go the entire night without insulin.
 
Re: Weekend trial PMPS 137

Jax surfed the blues nice today, dont skip, just wait and retest,
I would lower just alittle, you dont want to lose momentum...depending on what he is after you wait...
maybe shoot the 1.8 again, post you preshot
 
Re: Weekend trial PMPS 137

Was torn between 1.6 and 1.8 but decided to go with 1.8U.

Hope I made the right decision. cat_pet_icon
 
Re: Weekend trial PMPS 137

If you are nervous , keep an eye on him tonight..
but I think you made the right decision
 
Re: Weekend trial PMPS 137

Good Morning everyone!

I got up an hr early in case he had bounced into the 400's overnight. I was planning on shooting early but this is not the case.

Overnight recap:
PMPS 264@+13 I waited the extra hour as he was at 137 at shot time. 1.8U given and fed
+2/ 309
+4/ 263
+6/219
+11/ 248 is where we are at now.

Thinking anything 280 (maybe 300) and up at AMPS will warrant 2U. Under 280(or 300...) will go with 1.8U. Figuring it out as I go along as AMPS in 200's is new territory for us.
 
Fancy footin' indeed. I was torn between what to shoot at 280-300 and he gives me a twirl coming in at 290. :lol:
Now, I'm going for the dip...

Hope everyone has a good day today!
 
2.0U given and fed. Will get a +4 and a +6 to give his ears a rest. Hopefully I can restrain myself and not go for that +3. :lol: May be doubtful tho'.
 
Ok, I was able to restrain myself and start at

+4/ 209
+6/ 136

Will update his +8 and PMPS. Wish us lucky! Hope he doesn't bounce like Tigger at the end.
images

No Tigger, no thank you...especially if you are chasing anything red.
 
Good Evening All.

Today is my last day of the trial, no more adjustments upward, if any, till next weekend.

I think I was somewhat successful with the 2U dose but I think the answer may lay at 2.2U. Don't worry! I don't plan on taking it there now but will give him a chance to settle in at 2U first.
Today:
AMPS 290
+4/ 209
+6/ 136
+8/ 121
+11/ 282 I toyed with the idea of shooting early at +11. He seemed hungry and started complaining for his evening meal. With Jax, I am learning that hunger drives his BG up but I waited an extra 30 mins to see (without food)...sure enough the next read was at 355 which I shot 2U into.

Overall, I feel good about this weekend. Thanks for the support and encouragement everyone!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top