Wed Mar 2 Asher

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Member Since 2011
Morning folks ~O)

We got an amps today of 230. Gonna shoot 2 units me thinks.

That amps is with a new pack of strips just opened. Not that I trust this either, but for what it’s worth.

Discouraged about the meter crap but pressing on.......

Have a great day. The sun is out today. I’ll take it as a good omen :)
 
Sorry about the meter issue. Hope the new strips will resolve it and you end up with a new meter and strips for your football playing son at USC, Asher :mrgreen:

If you are in the mood to count your blessings, head over to Health and do a little reassuring for MIchele: viewtopic.php?f=28&t=37886 She has just started with PZI, with 2 units which turned out to be too much and meant she had to start testing quite a bit right away. Her usually sweet tempered kitty bit her during the testing and the shot. :sad:
 
No worries Sue. I just stopped by there to say hi. Thanks for lettin' me know.
:mrgreen:
 
Thanks, Donna. It does help to have newbies (though you really aren't anymore) tell newbies that it does get better.

Edited to change name from Harley to Asher. The mind is going.......
 
I still consider myself a noob, since we’ve only been on this path for two months, but some days, it feels way longer than that ;)

Thanks for everything Sue! You are the best!
:mrgreen:
 
drinking11

Sharing that cup of joe with you today Donna. Sorry to hear about your test strip woes last night. Thanks for posting about it 'cuz I learned from your experience and the replies how sensitive those things really are.

GDGN to you and Asher. Surf's up!
 
I think that’s the beauty of this place, we all can learn from one another’s experiences, good or bad.
Also the encouragement to have gut feelings about what your cat needs and merge that with the more scientific is really kind of zen for me.
:mrgreen:
Whoa, maybe I had too much coffee ;)
 
pmps is 205 so I guess we’re gonna go for 2 units again.

Vet is supposed to call me tomorrow about the dental.

Also have to ask her why they wouldn’t sell me another bottle of insulin today while I was there dropping off the numbers.
I guess I am on the naughty list or something.
(breathe, remember to breathe, be calm.....)


:mrgreen:
 
Maybe they were afraid you were going to hock it on Craigslist? :lol:

Seriously I'm sure it'll be OK once the vet reviews your spreadsheet and sees your progress. Besides, Asher's dental may change his insulin requirements a bit. All fingers, paws, tails and eyes crossed on this end that it's going to be for the better.

His numbers are looking very pretty, nice and steady blue during the day with good duration. (uh oh, better watch out - I'm dangerous with the lingo now)
 
So weird about the insulin. Maybe they wanted to see Asher first, still weird IMO, but I'm learning vets can be a little ticklish when you start doing your own thing (even when it's working!). Nice deep breathes. Your vet will see how well Asher is doing. Woot, woot for nice #'s!
 
Oh gosh, I guess I've officially gone over to the dark side. My first thought was "call the vet and say you dropped the insulin bottle and it broke." :twisted:

ohmygod_smile
 
Ha! I like the way you think Joanna.

I guess the thing that made me the most mad about it is, they asked me to come back for it, so I went there twice, and still came home with no insulin.

Hopefully my vet will fill me in today on why I am on the naughty list. The receptionist made some comment about well, you use those old syringes and we want you to discuss it with your vet. I think she means U100s which my vet knows I use. So who knows. This is what you get for trying to do the best you can for your cat. Like I’m not stressed enuf already.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top