? WATSON 8/15/24 please look at spreadsheet

Rosie Lass

Member Since 2024
UPDATING TO ADD THIS QUESTION:
If a cat’s normal range on a human meter is 50 to 120, and I am following the SLGS protocol, why do I reduce dosage at 90? I was trying to do the TR protocol, but apparently, because my cats get some dry kibble that is frowned upon. Somehow, it makes more sense to me to drop the dosage if it hits 50 than 90 can someone help me understand?



I’m a little confused about how to make dosage changes in TR. It’s been 10 cycles since I lowered Watson’s dosage . Should I be increasing him again tomorrow? I know that when he goes below 50 I should reduce, but how do I decide when to increase?
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/search/member?user_id=40128
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/search/member?user_id=40128
 
Last edited:
You have only seen green once since the reduction. Time to increase to 2.75if following TR. Have you eliminated YA? If so and are following TR, please edit your signature. Thanks.
 
You have only seen green once since the reduction. Time to increase to 2.75if following TR. Have you eliminated YA? If so and are following TR, please edit your signature. Thanks.
Thanks. Will increase in the morning. No, they a still get YA as a snack. Wet food for breakfast & dinner. Then YA as a snack mid-day and overnight.
 
If you need to feed dry food and follow one of our methods, it needs to be SLGS. I’m sure I have asked before but will he eat any freeze dried treats or freeze dried raw treats? Many are like dry food.
 
If you need to feed dry food and follow one of our methods, it needs to be SLGS. I’m sure I have asked before but will he eat any freeze dried treats or freeze dried raw treats? Many are like dry food.

@tiffmaxee
Ok I’ll switch my info back to SLGS. My cats are Never thrilled about the pate that they get twice a day and I have tried chunks, slices, minced the tiki cat that looks almost like human food that they absolutely hate and the Young Again is something that all them will eat consistently so I feel I need to at least give him that at bedtime. I have tried Redford naturals Freeze dried raw cat food or whole life freeze dried salmon fillets and all 4 of them hate both of those. I’m just very frustrated, and my vet thinks maybe Watson is just insulin resistant. His old sensor ended around 1 so I just put a new one on him. Hopefully, I’ll get 14 more days of readings. As always, thanks for all your help and input it is appreciated

upload_2024-8-16_16-16-0.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-8-16_16-16-0.jpeg
    upload_2024-8-16_16-16-0.jpeg
    76.1 KB · Views: 141
If you need to feed dry food and follow one of our methods, it needs to be SLGS. I’m sure I have asked before but will he eat any freeze dried treats or freeze dried raw treats? Many are like dry food.

@tiffmaxee So, the first reading with a new meter right off the bat said 84. So now that I’m following SLGS that means I’m now reducing by .25 instead of increasing like I thought I would be in 2 days, right?
 
@tiffmaxee
Ok I’ll switch my info back to SLGS. My cats are Never thrilled about the pate that they get twice a day and I have tried chunks, slices, minced the tiki cat that looks almost like human food that they absolutely hate and the Young Again is something that all them will eat consistently so I feel I need to at least give him that at bedtime. I have tried Redford naturals Freeze dried raw cat food or whole life freeze dried salmon fillets and all 4 of them hate both of those. I’m just very frustrated, and my vet thinks maybe Watson is just insulin resistant. His old sensor ended around 1 so I just put a new one on him. Hopefully, I’ll get 14 more days of readings. As always, thanks for all your help and input it is appreciated

View attachment 70794
@tiffmaxee
 
I was fast asleep when this was posted. You reduce the next cycle with SLGS if the bg falls under 90, even if that means back to back reductions.
 
I was fast asleep when this was posted. You reduce the next cycle with SLGS if the bg falls under 90, even if that means back to back reductions.
@tiffmaxee I did the reduction today but can you explain the reasoning behind reducing at 90 I thought the range we wanted to be in was 50 to 120.
 
The 50-100 range is for those following TR. With SLGS which is less aggressive you want the bg between 91-150. If you can find a wet or raw food your cats like you could do TR. There are cats that go into remission on SLGS but more following TR. I know it’s hard to get cats on the food we want them to eat. That’s why with the two I have now I never fed them dry food. Max was eating all canned when he became diabetic but it was hc. He would not eat pates back when I switched to canned when he blocked. I was lucky he adapted to fancy feast pates once diagnosed.
 
Back
Top