Was able to test Diesel FINALLY

Status
Not open for further replies.

Knom3

Member Since 2020
Ok so,

From my much needed advice that I had received yesterday (thanks again everyone) I am having trouble with my glucose monitor for Diesel. I've searched the web and read the manual and I can't find my answer. Hoping you all could help

First of all getting blood from Diesel is so hard right now, he hates it. I cant eve get blood to draw from his ears even after watching multiple tutorials on youtube. I had to draw from his paw pad to even get any blood, and I put the blood on the test strip and I know I'm getting enough on the strip, but the monitor only shows a blinking left arrow. Any clue what that means?

EDIT: Was inserting the strip too soon and it wasn't able to test him, and after much fighting and trying to get blood to come out his level is at 232. I know thats on the high sider :( I dont know if its because he is stressed because I had to poke him so many times.

I haven't given him a dose of insulin since 8AM when I last feed him his high carb food and I have him canned wet for a snack around 1:30
 
Last edited:
232 is not that bad of a number, KUDOS you got the test done! yay!

I am curious though...why are you feeding high carb food?

Would you like to set up a spreadsheet? We really need one once the testing get down pat. You can find how to do that here:
FDMB SPREADSHEET INSTRUCTIONS

If you are having trouble there are people, ready, willing and able, to help you with it.
jeanne
 
232 isn't a bad number for a new diabetic actually.

Patience is key when first starting to home test - it took me about 4 days before I could get a reading in good time. The capillaries in the ear need to form before the blood flows easily, so part of it is just waiting for that to happen once you start poking. Don't stress. :)
 
232 is not that bad of a number, KUDOS you got the test done! yay!

I am curious though...why are you feeding high carb food?

Would you like to set up a spreadsheet? We really need one once the testing get down pat. You can find how to do that here:
FDMB SPREADSHEET INSTRUCTIONS

If you are having trouble there are people, ready, willing and able, to help you with it.
jeanne
Ugh yes I need to get started on that spread sheet!
I was only finishing his old food first because on the insulin he is on right now, per the advice I was given yesterday on a different thread, I plan to get him on a lower-carb diet and wet food only! I just know I need to be careful doing so. Also the vet gave me prescription hills science diet before I knew thats not a good option, but I returned that today! I got some canned wetfood but they were too high in carbs so I will be going back to the store to get lower carb cans ):
 
I haven't given him a dose of insulin since 8AM when I last feed him his high carb food and I have him canned wet for a snack around 1:30

We're all in different time zones here, so we like to use "+" notation, counting the number of hours past shot time to tell time. Could you translate your times and your BG reading (yay!!!! by the way!) into those terms? Something like:

AMPS (morning preshot BG) ?, high-carb breakfast
+? : 232
+5.5: low-carb snack
 
I got some canned wetfood but they were too high in carbs so I will be going back to the store to get lower carb cans ):

You can hang onto some of those, particularly if they are "gravy" varieties of food. We use them when kitty starts to go low (or does go low), to help steer and bump up the BG. The gravy varieties are nice because all the carbs are in the gravy itself, and it's easy to just give a tsp or so of that to get some quick carbs into the cat (most cats love it! I swear, some of them try to finagle low numbers just to get the gravy treat!)
 
We're all in different time zones here, so we like to use "+" notation, counting the number of hours past shot time to tell time. Could you translate your times and your BG reading (yay!!!! by the way!) into those terms? Something like:

AMPS (morning preshot BG) ?, high-carb breakfast
+6.5 : 232
+5.5: low-carb snack



AMPS (morning preshot BG) ?, high-carb breakfast
+6.5 : 232
+5.5: low-carb snack


Yes thank you! I apologize, I saw that on previous threads and had no clue what that meant. I hope I did that correctly
What does AMPS stand for? And BG stands for Blood Glucose right? I feel so silly this is all new to me. TY for patience <3
 
Ugh yes I need to get started on that spread sheet!
I was only finishing his old food first because on the insulin he is on right now, per the advice I was given yesterday on a different thread, I plan to get him on a lower-carb diet and wet food only! I just know I need to be careful doing so. Also the vet gave me prescription hills science diet before I knew thats not a good option, but I returned that today! I got some canned wetfood but they were too high in carbs so I will be going back to the store to get lower carb cans ):
;):):bighug:
 
You're doing great, even translating our shorthand properly :D

BG = blood glucose
AMPS = a.m. (morning) pre-shot BG test
PMPS = p.m. (evening) pre-shot BG test

There's a whole glossary (link below), some of it has now fallen out of use, but a lot of it is current jargon.

FDMB Glossary
Sweet thank you!

AMPS (morning preshot BG) UNknown, high-carb breakfast
+6.5 : 232
+5.5: low-carb snack

So unfortunately I didnt get his BG until 6.5 hours after his shot in the morning.
Now I'm scared to even use the insulin since its harsh on him. Or what to even feed him for the time being. I just want to make sure I have everything on hand ready.
 
Now to business: that 232 is definitely in the diabetic range (normal for cats on a human meter is roughly 50-120), but is not particularly high for a diabetic cat (when you start on the spreadsheet you'll note that the designers created distinct color-codes going all the way to the 500's, so that tells you what kinds of numbers we're used to seeing!).

You're late in the insulin cycle at this point and he's in safe numbers, so your next test can wait until the evening pre-shot. In the case of Novalin, the procedure is:

(1) test, (2) feed, (3) wait 60 min, (4) shoot


so you'd be doing your PMPS roughly an hour before you intend to shoot. The point of the pre-shot numbers is to verify that his BG is high enough to shoot. We use 200 as a general "no shoot" number, but anything below 250 (as he is now) warrants caution with an insulin like Novalin. From the BEGINNER'S GUIDE TO HUMULIN N/NOVOLIN N/NPH


Q: It’s time for my cat’s shot but the BG is a little too low. What now?
If your cat’s BG is a bit below 250 mg/dL [13.8 mmol/L] on a human meter you can consider ‘stalling’. Stalling is waiting - without feeding your cat - for 20+ minutes, then retesting to see if the BG has risen to a suitable level. You are looking for a number that is rising, not falling, and is up to at least 250 mg/dL [13.8 mmol/L] on a human meter.

Definitely post here if you get a lower-than-expected pre-shot number. We'll be happy to talk you through things and answer any questions you have about it!
 
Now to business: that 232 is definitely in the diabetic range (normal for cats on a human meter is roughly 50-120), but is not particularly high for a diabetic cat (when you start on the spreadsheet you'll note that the designers created distinct color-codes going all the way to the 500's, so that tells you what kinds of numbers we're used to seeing!).

You're late in the insulin cycle at this point and he's in safe numbers, so your next test can wait until the evening pre-shot. In the case of Novalin, the procedure is:

(1) test, (2) feed, (3) wait 60 min, (4) shoot


so you'd be doing your PMPS roughly an hour before you intend to shoot. The point of the pre-shot numbers is to verify that his BG is high enough to shoot. We use 200 as a general "no shoot" number, but anything below 250 (as he is now) warrants caution with an insulin like Novalin. From the BEGINNER'S GUIDE TO HUMULIN N/NOVOLIN N/NPH


Q: It’s time for my cat’s shot but the BG is a little too low. What now?
If your cat’s BG is a bit below 250 mg/dL [13.8 mmol/L] on a human meter you can consider ‘stalling’. Stalling is waiting - without feeding your cat - for 20+ minutes, then retesting to see if the BG has risen to a suitable level. You are looking for a number that is rising, not falling, and is up to at least 250 mg/dL [13.8 mmol/L] on a human meter.

Definitely post here if you get a lower-than-expected pre-shot number. We'll be happy to talk you through things and answer any questions you have about it!
Ok perfect! TYSM again! I will let yall know the update
 
What meter did you buy,
Did you get the syringes with half unit markings
Do you still have any dry food you are feeding him yet
If you do you have to transition him to the wet food slowly
And you have test him more than once after his AMPS (morning shot) and his PMPS ( evening shot)
I am going to tag a few members to tell you how to transition
If you ever want to tag someone for help
This is how to do it
After the last word you write you would do one space after the last word
Like this @then the person you want to tag
Like this @Knom3

Do you see it came up in blue
When you tag someone you will see members names come up when you start to type the first
few letters then tap on their name
Try tagging me if you want to
 
  • It would be helpful if you can set up your signature
  • On the left, under Settings, Click on Signature. This is where you will put information that helps us give you feedback.
    • There is a limit of two lines which may include two links; you may separate pieces with commas, dashes, | etc. This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up.
    • Add any other text, such as
    • Caregiver & kitty's name (optional)
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgentsave

t is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.


tap on your avatar ( the pic of Diesel )where it says your name ,then hit profile page ,tap on that ,then go up to the very top, upper right hand side and tap on your name ,it will bring down a drop box, tap on signature, the signature will be under settings, tap on the signature then and you can start to add what I posted above, make sure you hit save

Look at mine it's what is in gray writing
 
What meter did you buy,
Did you get the syringes with half unit markings
Do you still have any dry food you are feeding him yet
If you do you have to transition him to the wet food slowly
And you have test him more than once after his AMPS (morning shot) and his PMPS ( evening shot)
I am going to tag a few members to tell you how to transition
If you ever want to tag someone for help
This is how to do it
After the last word you write you would do one space after the last word
Like this @then the person you want to tag
Like this @Knom3

Do you see it came up in blue
When you tag someone you will see members names come up when you start to type the first
few letters then tap on their name
Try tagging me if you want to

I bought the Relion prime(it was me having issues with the test I put the strip in too early but I figured it out now)

I’m still looking for half units unfortunately my Walgreens doesn’t have any so I will have to go back
To Walmart I think someone told me they have them there

Yes I have some kibble leftover! And I got a lot of wet food that was suggested on that list. Even the medium, high carb in case he goes too low.
 
What meter did you buy,
Did you get the syringes with half unit markings
Do you still have any dry food you are feeding him yet
If you do you have to transition him to the wet food slowly
And you have test him more than once after his AMPS (morning shot) and his PMPS ( evening shot)
I am going to tag a few members to tell you how to transition
If you ever want to tag someone for help
This is how to do it
After the last word you write you would do one space after the last word
Like this @then the person you want to tag
Like this @Knom3

Do you see it came up in blue
When you tag someone you will see members names come up when you start to type the first
few letters then tap on their name
Try tagging me if you want to

I bought the Relion prime(it was me having issues with the test I put the strip in too early but I figured it out now)

I’m still looking for half units unfortunately my Walgreens doesn’t have any so I will have to go back
To Walmart I think someone told me they have them there

Yes I have some kibble leftover! And I got a lot of wet food that was suggested on that list. Even the medium, high carb in case he goes too low.
 
  • It would be helpful if you can set up your signature
  • On the left, under Settings, Click on Signature. This is where you will put information that helps us give you feedback.
    • There is a limit of two lines which may include two links; you may separate pieces with commas, dashes, | etc. This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up.
    • Add any other text, such as
    • Caregiver & kitty's name (optional)
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently

It is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.


tap on your avatar ( the pic of Diesel )where it says your name ,then hit profile page ,tap on that ,then go up to the very top, upper right hand side and tap on your name ,it will bring down a drop box, tap on signature, the signature will be under settings, tap on the signature then and you can start to add what I posted above, make sure you hit save

Look at mine it's what is in gray writing
 
Last edited:
I bought the Relion prime(it was me having issues with the test I put the strip in too early but I figured it out now)

I’m still looking for half units unfortunately my Walgreens doesn’t have any so I will have to go back
To Walmart I think someone told me they have them there

Yes I have some kibble leftover! And I got a lot of wet food that was suggested on that list. Even the medium, high carb in case he goes too low.
Yes Walmart has them , just make sure they give you the correct ones, I think they are also Relion.
You might need a prescription from you vet for the syringes
 
I think we're going to play things by ear on the food transition. That 232 makes me wary of going fast at all on switching to low carb, but we'll see how things go.

Quick question: did your vet diagnose via a fructosamine test, or just do a glucose check in-office?
Hi Nan she does have some kibble left how much I don't know #20
Should we tell Kayla just to keep feeding that for now ?
 
  1. this.

  2. Panic
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019

    I do live near a Walmart and I will go tomorrow to return the food to pets mart and get a testing kit.
    What food was your kitty previously on? We don't recommend changing food to low-carb without testing as a simple diet change alone can drop BG significantly. Some lucky kitties even go in remission on the diet change alone. If you switch food tomorrow, consider cutting the dose in half to 0.5u.

Should she still stay with the 1 unit?
 
Q: It’s time for my cat’s shot but the BG is a little too low. What now?
If your cat’s BG is a bit below 250 mg/dL [13.8 mmol/L] on a human meter you can consider ‘stalling’. Stalling is waiting - without feeding your cat - for 20+ minutes, then retesting to see if the BG has risen to a suitable level. You are looking for a number that is rising, not falling, and is up to at least 250 mg/dL [13.8 mmol/L] on a human meter.
I was actually just talking to Marje about this because stalling is NOT mentioned for SLGS on the in-and-out insulin stickies. She said stalling isn't listed because you need to practice more caution, especially with new members. So with that in mind I believe, especially when considering it being Novolin, anything under 250 should be skipped.
 
I was actually just talking to Marje about this because stalling is NOT mentioned for SLGS on the in-and-out insulin stickies. She said stalling isn't listed because you need to practice more caution, especially with new members. So with that in mind I believe, especially when considering it being Novolin, anything under 250 should be skipped.

Okaaaay..... why is it in the Novolin "Beginner's Guide" sticky, then???

I agree on the point about skipping anything but a high number (and am betting that's what's going to happen when we get the PMPS tonight), but it is a little frustrating to have info about stalling in the stickies if it's not correct. With uncommon insulins like Novalin, I lean pretty heavily on the written info.

Is there a separate write-up for SLGS as it is practiced in the Vetsulin/Novalin/NPH forum? I can't find one.
 
To the best of my knowledge, Nan, there's only one FDMB dosing method for Vetsulin/Caninsulin (per the beginner's guide sticky).

That's what I'm finding for both Vetsulin/Caninsulin and Humulin/Novalin/Caninsulin-- both describe basically a SLGS type of method (other than including stalling), but not named as such, so I was wondering if I was missing something somewhere.
 
Okaaaay..... why is it in the Novolin "Beginner's Guide" sticky, then???
I wonder if it just hasn't been updated? I was talking to Marje about the Prozinc SLGS sticky, which was updated a few months ago. I would assume if they don't recommend stalling for Prozinc's SLGS then the same would be said for the harsher insulins.

Then again, SLGS isn't an official protocol or anything.
 
Do you think you can eyeball it well enough? Get it in between the 0 and 1 unit mark. It would help too if you mixed the food for a few days, to keep him from having stomach upsets.
I think I can.
Yeah I can mix the food, I was just worried to do so because of the dry food being higher carb.
 
Just to show you these

49823063143_3437e9e997_o.jpg
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top