Diane Tyler's Mom GA
Member Since 2018
What time is it by you, I think you said you live in Texas?
Panic said .5 units see #47 that's if he eats most likely.
In the case of Novalin, the procedure is:
(1) test, (2) feed, (3) wait 60 min, (4) shoot
When are your shot times, you want to try to stay as close to them as you can
So you are late now?It's been 12 hrs as of 30 mins ago I did his first shot at 8AM and it is 8:30PM rn
Yes I'm 30 min late for his shot. I was unsure what I needed to feed him after I took his BG since it was on the higher side.So you are late now?
You tried feeding him an hour before his shot?
Also I am doing the spreadsheet and Im just getting confused about the PMPS section... since I haven't given him his shot...I am not really sure where to put his BG
I'm sorry there is a lot to follow and I am getting lost with all this new info

Yeah I'm going to write it down in a notebook so I understand more, but I just added the linkHere is an example of Tyler's, I write this in a notebook then put it on his spreadsheet
I shoot at 8:30 AM and 8:30 PM
This is what I do in my notebook
10-15-20 Thursday
AMPS - 69
Test time 8:30
Units 2.5
+1 9:30
+2 10:30
+3. 11:30
+4. 12:30
+5. 1:30
+6. 2:30
+7. 3:30
+8. 4:30
+9. 5:30
10. 6:30
+11. 7:30
Then it's time for his PMPS
10-15-20. Thursday
PMPS-83
Test time 8:30
Units 2.75 units
+1. 9:30
+2. 10:20
And so on
Every time I test him I write his BG Next to the time and then enter it on my spreadsheet
I just like to do it this way so I can go back and look at previous days
Your meter also stores all the numbers in it you just turn it on and hit the button on the left
Make sure you look at the date on it because it will also give you average of the last 30 days, so you don't want to mistake that as a BG test that you just did
How does this sound to you
Don't be sorryYes I'm 30 min late for his shot. I was unsure what I needed to feed him after I took his BG since it was on the higher side.
I'm sorry there is a lot to follow and I am getting lost with all this new info
Ok yes. Gosh I'm so slow, thank you for putting it into the simplest terms.Don't be sorry
I don't know your shot times
Let's just say you shoot at 8 AM
So you have to start to feed him around 6:50 AM he gets done eating at 7:00 AM
You wait an hour and then shoot at 8:00 AM
Same thing at night
Correct. The food needs to be in the system already. You can get back on track tomorrow.He ate at 8:30pm I'll need to give him 60 mins after that? Even though we are over the 12 hr mark at this point ?
In the case of Novalin, the procedure is:Ok yes. Gosh I'm so slow, thank you for putting it into the simplest terms.
So since this evening he didnt eat sooner than he should. He ate at 8:30pm I'll need to give him 60 mins after that? Even though we are over the 12 hr mark at this point ?
So no insulin tonight is that correct Elizabeth?Correct. The food needs to be in the system already. You can get back on track tomorrow.![]()
OK OK OK will do a .5 shot then. And we start fresh and prepared tomorrowI mean you CAN skip, but a half hour off with Novolin isn't a big deal like it'd be with Lantus. Novolin is often out of the system hours before. Up to you.![]()
So what were you giving all along?Yall......I just realized something...I am pretty sure and I feel so so stupid. I dont know how I didnt notice. The syringes walmart gave me are already in half units. I've been giving him the wrong amount of insulin this whole time. I just double checked the pic @Diane Tyler's Mom sent of the syringes up there. And double checked the post @Panic tagged me in.
I guess I got confused because at the vet they told me the FIRST LINE is one unit and I didnt even realize until now since after yall showed me the half unit syringes I actually have those. Holy crap yall, I am a mess.
Only .5 Units this whole time. So yesterday he only had 1 unit in totalSo what were you giving all along?
YES ): Yeah I would to, but still ....Oh my - so he's had 0.5 units this whole time? I'd rather the dose be lower than you thought than higher than you thought to be honest!
I'm glad I posted those pics of the syringesOnly .5 Units this whole time. So yesterday he only had 1 unit in total
and then today he has only had .5
Yeah...Kind of glad too....I may be getting ahead of myself but when I wanted to get on a new insulin would I have to ween him off this one?That's okay! Honestly glad you noticed, glad you were starting at a lower dose anyway.
Be sure to change your AMPS unit dose now that you know it was only 0.5.
If you included low-carb food tonight you can try to eyeball 0.25 units.
perfect TY! I get paid on the 21st, so I def want to switch ASAPNo, when switching insulin you usually maintain the same dose.So if you're on 0.25 units on Novolin, it'd be 0.25 units on whatever you switched to as well.


Aww Finn is adorableView attachment 57261 Just wanted to share a pic of Fin...he's helping![]()
You are very welcome

I can't see the image!
Oh it didI hope it didn't break.


Really I don't know whyI can't see the image!
Oh no, you better just go to bed lolOh it didI have tile so it broke on top and bottom. Luckily my friend gave me $ to get more and I’ll be getting the better insulin tomorrow but his shot schedule will be all messed up now. What a week for me </3
Maybe because I copied it , I'll do it another wayI can't see it either.
I saw panic suggest Prozinc so probs that!Thats a good friend. I'm glad you were able to work it out.
What insulin you switching to?