Was able to test Diesel FINALLY

Status
Not open for further replies.
Also I am doing the spreadsheet and Im just getting confused about the PMPS section... since I haven't given him his shot...I am not really sure where to put his BG
 
Also I am doing the spreadsheet and Im just getting confused about the PMPS section... since I haven't given him his shot...I am not really sure where to put his BG


https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/understanding-the-spreadsheet-grid.156606/
Take a look at this
His night test the 323 goes in there PMPS. PM Pre-Shot

If you test him one hour after his PMPS that number would go where it says +1 in that box

Then if you test him 2 hours after the PMPS time that goes in the + 2 box and so on
 
Here is an example of Tyler's, I write this in a notebook then put it on his spreadsheet
I shoot at 8:30 AM and 8:30 PM

This is what I do in my notebook
10-15-20 Thursday
AMPS - 69
Test time 8:30
Units 2.5
+1 9:30
+2 10:30
+3. 11:30
+4. 12:30
+5. 1:30
+6. 2:30
+7. 3:30
+8. 4:30
+9. 5:30
10. 6:30
+11. 7:30

Then it's time for his PMPS
10-15-20. Thursday
PMPS-83
Test time 8:30
Units 2.75 units
+1. 9:30
+2. 10:20
And so on

Every time I test him I write his BG Next to the time and then enter it on my spreadsheet

I just like to do it this way so I can go back and look at previous days

Your meter also stores all the numbers in it you just turn it on and hit the button on the left
Make sure you look at the date on it because it will also give you average of the last 30 days, so you don't want to mistake that as a BG test that you just did

How does this sound to you
 
Here is an example of Tyler's, I write this in a notebook then put it on his spreadsheet
I shoot at 8:30 AM and 8:30 PM

This is what I do in my notebook
10-15-20 Thursday
AMPS - 69
Test time 8:30
Units 2.5
+1 9:30
+2 10:30
+3. 11:30
+4. 12:30
+5. 1:30
+6. 2:30
+7. 3:30
+8. 4:30
+9. 5:30
10. 6:30
+11. 7:30

Then it's time for his PMPS
10-15-20. Thursday
PMPS-83
Test time 8:30
Units 2.75 units
+1. 9:30
+2. 10:20
And so on

Every time I test him I write his BG Next to the time and then enter it on my spreadsheet

I just like to do it this way so I can go back and look at previous days

Your meter also stores all the numbers in it you just turn it on and hit the button on the left
Make sure you look at the date on it because it will also give you average of the last 30 days, so you don't want to mistake that as a BG test that you just did

How does this sound to you
Yeah I'm going to write it down in a notebook so I understand more, but I just added the link
 
Yes I'm 30 min late for his shot. I was unsure what I needed to feed him after I took his BG since it was on the higher side.
I'm sorry there is a lot to follow and I am getting lost with all this new info
Don't be sorry
I don't know your shot times
Let's just say you shoot at 8 AM
So you have to start to feed him around 6:50 AM he gets done eating at 7:00 AM
You wait an hour and then shoot at 8:00 AM

Same thing at night

When you took that BG and got 323 how many hours was after you gave him his insulin in the AM was that?

You can test as many times as you want , you just have to put it on the spreadsheet
You have to have set times that you decide to shoot
Whether it be 7:00 AM and 7:00 PM
Or 8:00 AM and 8:00 PM
 
Last edited:
Don't be sorry
I don't know your shot times
Let's just say you shoot at 8 AM
So you have to start to feed him around 6:50 AM he gets done eating at 7:00 AM
You wait an hour and then shoot at 8:00 AM

Same thing at night
Ok yes. Gosh I'm so slow, thank you for putting it into the simplest terms.
So since this evening he didnt eat sooner than he should. He ate at 8:30pm I'll need to give him 60 mins after that? Even though we are over the 12 hr mark at this point ?
 
Ok yes. Gosh I'm so slow, thank you for putting it into the simplest terms.
So since this evening he didnt eat sooner than he should. He ate at 8:30pm I'll need to give him 60 mins after that? Even though we are over the 12 hr mark at this point ?
In the case of Novalin, the procedure is:

(1) test, (2) feed, (3) wait 60 min, (4) shoot

When are your shot times, you want to try to stay as close to them as you can
Hand on Kayla for the answer
 
Screen Shot 2020-10-15 at 9.20.38 PM.png
Just wanted to share a pic of Fin...he's helping :D
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2020-10-15 at 9.20.38 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2020-10-15 at 9.20.38 PM.png
    430.4 KB · Views: 432
Yall......I just realized something...I am pretty sure and I feel so so stupid. I dont know how I didnt notice. The syringes walmart gave me are already in half units. I've been giving him the wrong amount of insulin this whole time. I just double checked the pic @Diane Tyler's Mom sent of the syringes up there. And double checked the post @Panic tagged me in.
I guess I got confused because at the vet they told me the FIRST LINE is one unit and I didnt even realize until now since after yall showed me the half unit syringes I actually have those. Holy crap yall, I am a mess.
 
Yall......I just realized something...I am pretty sure and I feel so so stupid. I dont know how I didnt notice. The syringes walmart gave me are already in half units. I've been giving him the wrong amount of insulin this whole time. I just double checked the pic @Diane Tyler's Mom sent of the syringes up there. And double checked the post @Panic tagged me in.
I guess I got confused because at the vet they told me the FIRST LINE is one unit and I didnt even realize until now since after yall showed me the half unit syringes I actually have those. Holy crap yall, I am a mess.
So what were you giving all along?
The vet told you the first line was one unit, she better go back to school
 
Last edited:
That's okay! Honestly glad you noticed, glad you were starting at a lower dose anyway.
Be sure to change your AMPS unit dose now that you know it was only 0.5.

If you included low-carb food tonight you can try to eyeball 0.25 units.
Yeah...Kind of glad too....I may be getting ahead of myself but when I wanted to get on a new insulin would I have to ween him off this one?
 
Prozinc is a good insulin for cats. Teal'c was on Prozinc at first. He was just way bouncy on Prozinc, his numbers never settled down, so we switched him to Lantus. It took about 4 months on Lantus but now he has beautiful numbers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top