Walk me through hometesting for Phoebe please phase 6"

Status
Not open for further replies.
Let's see what she is when the time comes. I'm in and out feeding animals, will try to check in.
 
Hi Eric ~ Here is a explanation about bouncing.

Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast. The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
 
Hi Eric ~ Here is a explanation about bouncing.

Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast. The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
What l meant l guess or what l should of said will the bounce keep happening or will Phoebe eventually find a happy medium?
 
Some cats eventually stop bouncing. Other cats bounce all the way into remission. With some the bounces get less steep and clear faster after they get used to being in normal numbers. ECID
 
Some cats eventually stop bouncing. Other cats bounce all the way into remission. With some the bounces get less steep and clear faster after they get used to being in normal numbers. ECID
You're right about the bounce. After those beautiful numbers today she's 310 @ +3.5
 
Yep, looks like she bounced right back up! I think the record for bouncing on this forum is 2 years...but most cats don't bounce for that long. As Bobbie said, though....ECID!
 
Don't get discouraged, Eric! You'll get through this. I think some cats' bodies get a bit "jittery" as they get into good numbers and it can drive the owner nuts. I have a lot of experience with that ...
 
Yep. that's a good idea seeing how she dropped before when you shot the 163. If she is 180 or over in 30 minutes, go for it and get a +2 to see how active the cycle will be.
Bobbie she's 255 @ +1
I'm giving her 2.0u. Do l need to do anything different on my chart?
 
Hi Eric. She had a nice cycle again today, maybe had a green since she was 118@+10.5. Not sure how to fill out the SS Bobbie will have to tell you about that. How's your back?
 
Hi Eric. She had a nice cycle again today, maybe had a green since she was 118@+10.5. Not sure how to fill out the SS Bobbie will have to tell you about that. How's your back?
Thanks Sharon. Back is better. Muscle relaxers and inversion tables work wonders! Hahaha!
 
I wonder how low she went today with the 118 @ +10 then how she bounced up to 167 at PMPS. She is getting into lower numbers which is wonderful.
I was wondering the same thing? It worries me when l'm gone all day and come home and she's that low. It makes me think how low did she go and was she close too going hypoglycemic? Or do you think l'm overtly worried? But l do have a lot of previous test numbers to draw from.
 
It's so hard to know when there aren't any test from +1-+10. Her +10 was lower than yesterday's so it makes me wonder if her nadir was lower. But, she is no worse for the ware. Is it possible that you could get a +2 tomorrow morning so you would get an indication of how the cycle will go?
 
It's so hard to know when there aren't any test from +1-+10. Her +10 was lower than yesterday's so it makes me wonder if her nadir was lower. But, she is no worse for the ware. Is it possible that you could get a +2 tomorrow morning so you would get an indication of how the cycle will go?
Yesh l won't be here for the +2 that's the problem.
 
You can try another test in case that was a bad strip, but Just thinking since you shot late last night it's not been 12 hours since the last shot, right? With no shot this AM, she may be high this evening. Be sure to get a ketone test and you can get back on schedule. Maybe @Sue and Oliver (GA) can come up with a sliding scale? The 2u last night was too much for the 167/255 PS
 
You can try another test in case that was a bad strip, but Just thinking since you shot late last night it's not been 12 hours since the last shot, right? With no shot this AM, she may be high this evening. Be sure to get a ketone test and you can get back on schedule. Maybe @Sue and Oliver (GA) can come up with a sliding scale? The 2u last night was too much for the 167/255 PS
She's at 94 right now.
 
Still too low to shoot. You can go to work and not worry about a hypo! Remember to get the ketone test later.
 
It's ok. You'll get back on track this evening.
What should l do? I'm giving her treats that have some carbs in them? Luckily I'm only 10 minutes from where l'm workin today. So l can run home at lunch. But maybe just shoot after the PMPS?
 
With no shot, she'll be fine. Leave her food out as usual. You can get a test before you leave if you want. Yes I think you should wait until PMPS to shoot so your schedule isn't too wonky. If you want you could shoot a little earlier than usual this evening though.
 
With no shot, she'll be fine. Leave her food out as usual. You can get a test before you leave if you want. Yes I think you should wait until PMPS to shoot so your schedule isn't too wonky. If you want you could shoot a little earlier than usual this evening though.
She's 123.
 
With no shot, she'll be fine. Leave her food out as usual. You can get a test before you leave if you want. Yes I think you should wait until PMPS to shoot so your schedule isn't too wonky. If you want you could shoot a little earlier than usual this evening though.
Shuld l give her 1u?
 
Since you gave her higher carb treats, that number could be food influenced and is still a normal number (or at least close since 120 is in normal range). I would not shoot, especially since you won't be home until lunch. You can get back on track this afternoon. Maybe if you're home, shoot at 4 PM
 
I agree with Sharon, Eric No shot now
I also think that she probably went lower last night, and will probably bounce from that, so don't be surprised if you see a high number
Yes, you can shoot at 4 pm (of course, that would mean an early am shot tomorrow morning)
One thing is for sure - the 2 units was too much for the 167 pre shot so once her bounce clears, you will need to consider that in her dosing
 
Why shoot at 4pm when she normally ahoots at 530pm? Also if 2u was too much for her at 167 what should l have shot at?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top