I believe she'll be over 180 by that time. But if she's at 180 what should l shoot?Remember if she's below 180, don't shoot, stall without food and retest in 20-30 minutes to see if she's high enough. Then you may need a reduced dose. @Sue and Oliver (GA) or @Rachel will you be around at 5:30 central?
I don't understand the bouncing but she's doing great.Wow she did go up! Maybe a bounce from the pretty green cycle today.
What l meant l guess or what l should of said will the bounce keep happening or will Phoebe eventually find a happy medium?Hi Eric ~ Here is a explanation about bouncing.
Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast. The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
You're right about the bounce. After those beautiful numbers today she's 310 @ +3.5Some cats eventually stop bouncing. Other cats bounce all the way into remission. With some the bounces get less steep and clear faster after they get used to being in normal numbers. ECID
Yep. that's a good idea seeing how she dropped before when you shot the 163. If she is 180 or over in 30 minutes, go for it and get a +2 to see how active the cycle will be.PMPS 167
Group question?
Give her 30 minutes test than shoot?
Bobbie she's 255 @ +1Yep. that's a good idea seeing how she dropped before when you shot the 163. If she is 180 or over in 30 minutes, go for it and get a +2 to see how active the cycle will be.
That's exactly how I would do it too.Not sure how others do it but you can add "Shot +13 in the box for +2. She has been doing very nice the last few cycles, Eric.
Thanks Sharon. Back is better. Muscle relaxers and inversion tables work wonders! Hahaha!Hi Eric. She had a nice cycle again today, maybe had a green since she was 118@+10.5. Not sure how to fill out the SS Bobbie will have to tell you about that. How's your back?
We have an inversion table and it really helped my husband with his back. I can't use it; it makes me very anxious. Glad it is helping you.Thanks Sharon. Back is better. Muscle relaxers and inversion tables work wonders! Hahaha!
I was wondering the same thing? It worries me when l'm gone all day and come home and she's that low. It makes me think how low did she go and was she close too going hypoglycemic? Or do you think l'm overtly worried? But l do have a lot of previous test numbers to draw from.I wonder how low she went today with the 118 @ +10 then how she bounced up to 167 at PMPS. She is getting into lower numbers which is wonderful.
Yesh l won't be here for the +2 that's the problem.It's so hard to know when there aren't any test from +1-+10. Her +10 was lower than yesterday's so it makes me wonder if her nadir was lower. But, she is no worse for the ware. Is it possible that you could get a +2 tomorrow morning so you would get an indication of how the cycle will go?
She's at 94 right now.You can try another test in case that was a bad strip, but Just thinking since you shot late last night it's not been 12 hours since the last shot, right? With no shot this AM, she may be high this evening. Be sure to get a ketone test and you can get back on schedule. Maybe @Sue and Oliver (GA) can come up with a sliding scale? The 2u last night was too much for the 167/255 PS
I know she's to low too shoot and l have to be too work in an hour.Still too low to shoot. You can go to work and not worry about a hypo! Remember to get the ketone test later.
What should l do? I'm giving her treats that have some carbs in them? Luckily I'm only 10 minutes from where l'm workin today. So l can run home at lunch. But maybe just shoot after the PMPS?It's ok. You'll get back on track this evening.
She's 123.With no shot, she'll be fine. Leave her food out as usual. You can get a test before you leave if you want. Yes I think you should wait until PMPS to shoot so your schedule isn't too wonky. If you want you could shoot a little earlier than usual this evening though.
Shuld l give her 1u?With no shot, she'll be fine. Leave her food out as usual. You can get a test before you leave if you want. Yes I think you should wait until PMPS to shoot so your schedule isn't too wonky. If you want you could shoot a little earlier than usual this evening though.