Waiting for Lantus from DCIN

Status
Not open for further replies.

Crystal + Malcolm Ehks

Member Since 2020
I've been approved for Compassionate Care and was advised up to 3 weeks for Lantus to arrive. Malcolm had lower numbers in upper 200s from diet change but now the numbers are rising to almost 400, he's not pooping for about 5 days. Tonight is the 2nd night I heard him throw up (foam or water) and lick it up. His appetite has been less for 2-3 days. I've added a little Miramax to his water for 3 days. He won't eat any pumpkin. A few times I've heard him with little burps and then gulps and licks his lips. What can I do while I wait for my lantus delivery? I've checked the for sale free thread for someone near me in Memphis. I'm scared he's getting sicker while I wait.
 
I've been approved for Compassionate Care and was advised up to 3 weeks for Lantus to arrive. Malcolm had lower numbers in upper 200s from diet change but now the numbers are rising to almost 400, he's not pooping for about 5 days. Tonight is the 2nd night I heard him throw up (foam or water) and lick it up. His appetite has been less for 2-3 days. I've added a little Miramax to his water for 3 days. He won't eat any pumpkin. A few times I've heard him with little burps and then gulps and licks his lips. What can I do while I wait for my lantus delivery? I've checked the for sale free thread for someone near me in Memphis. I'm scared he's getting sicker while I wait.

I'm so sorry you havent had replies... Are you testing his urine for ketones? If not this is a must even if you have to syringe water into him to get him to drink. Please give this a read NOW:
Ketones, Diabetic Ketoacidosis (DKA), and Blood Ketone Meters

I'm afraid hes developed ketones. this will bump your thread to the top of the page!
 
I bought ketone strips. Covered the tray in plastic wrap to catch urine, I have the Breeze litter box with clay pellets on top of the grating. I tested water that ran through clean pellets to see if it would test +(it didn't). I put a small amount of clean pellets since cats always go as soon as you clean the box. Malcolm is playful. Tested BG at 341 when I got home, put some tikicat talapia down, lots of broth. He went to it and licked some up but didn't scarf anything down. He's vocal. I made a vet appt for tonight since it's their evening hours day. Hoping to catch some urine before the appt. I have another cat and one of them had recently peed when I got home but it was in the back and he usually perches on the front. I don't notice any odor in his breath, fruity or otherwise but he did have broth so not positive.
 
Last edited:
I agree that a vet visit is definitely indicated to check for any stuck stool or other obstruction in the gut. This needs to be done before attempting any treatment for constipation (would be like putting pressure on a dam).

Constipation can negatively impact appetite (for obvious reasons) and also trigger vomiting (often when the cat attempts to use the litter box).

The watery/foamy vomiting could also possibly be due to acid build-up in the stomach as a result of fasting too long.


Mogs
.
 
Would some vaseline in his mouth help? My other cat(long haired) has a hairball treat and petroleum jelly is the main ingredient but it seems to have sugar. Would plain vaseline work quick or is that something that takes time?
 
Said I could bring him in tomorrow and leave him so they could catch urine and do a urinalysis to test ketones if I don't catch it myself tonight. I took the pee pad out of the litter tray so I can dip into his urine when he pees tonight. I'll just have to watch the closet like a hawk. He's already eaten in the 10 minutes we've been home so I guess the appetite stimulation is working.
 
I've been approved for Compassionate Care and was advised up to 3 weeks for Lantus to arrive. Malcolm had lower numbers in upper 200s from diet change but now the numbers are rising to almost 400, he's not pooping for about 5 days. Tonight is the 2nd night I heard him throw up (foam or water) and lick it up. His appetite has been less for 2-3 days. I've added a little Miramax to his water for 3 days. He won't eat any pumpkin. A few times I've heard him with little burps and then gulps and licks his lips. What can I do while I wait for my lantus delivery? I've checked the for sale free thread for someone near me in Memphis. I'm scared he's getting sicker while I wait.
My cat is on day 11 of OTJ trial and I just got 5 new Lantus pens from Canada the week we started the trial. I run a chocolate company and have lots of ice packs and would be happy to send you a pen! I'm in Ohio and can ship it tomorrow if you are interested.
 
Malcolm ate about 2oz. last night when we got home. The remaining 4 oz. was gone when I work up between the two cats. No poop yet. Adding vaseline now. About 3-4 oz of food was eaten while I was at work between both cats. Malcolm drank some of the broth when I put fresh food down after work today. He's grooming, climbed in the window to look at birds. His BG was 281 this morning and 387 after dinner.
 
I bought ketone strips. Covered the tray in plastic wrap to catch urine, I have the Breeze litter box with clay pellets on top of the grating. I tested water that ran through clean pellets to see if it would test +(it didn't). I put a small amount of clean pellets since cats always go as soon as you clean the box. Malcolm is playful. Tested BG at 341 when I got home, put some tikicat talapia down, lots of broth. He went to it and licked some up but didn't scarf anything down. He's vocal. I made a vet appt for tonight since it's their evening hours day. Hoping to catch some urine before the appt. I have another cat and one of them had recently peed when I got home but it was in the back and he usually perches on the front. I don't notice any odor in his breath, fruity or otherwise but he did have broth so not positive.
I test for ketones everyday with a Smart Cat litter box that has a grate similar to the Tidy Cat Breeze box. I test the pee even if I don't know who went in it because the other cat definitely does not have sugar issues and if any glucose or ketones show up, I know Ruby went in it. I use the zeolite pellets that are for the Breeze box and it took the cats a few days to get used to it (I should buy stock in Nature's Miracle cleaners!) but now they have no problem with it. The pee goes right through the pellets and into the drawer for me to test with Ketodiastix.

Hope you get to the bottom of what's going on with Malcolm and he gets better soon!
 
I test for ketones everyday with a Smart Cat litter box that has a grate similar to the Tidy Cat Breeze box. I test the pee even if I don't know who went in it because the other cat definitely does not have sugar issues and if any glucose or ketones show up, I know Ruby went in it. I use the zeolite pellets that are for the Breeze box and it took the cats a few days to get used to it (I should buy stock in Nature's Miracle cleaners!) but now they have no problem with it. The pee goes right through the pellets and into the drawer for me to test with Ketodiastix.

Hope you get to the bottom of what's going on with Malcolm and he gets better soon!
I'm think about getting a second litterbox and will check that one out. I'm concerned that if the Lantus causes diarrhea while I'm at work they won't have anywhere to go. What do you put in the tray? No pads? Thank you (and everyone) for your support, it really helps me with feeling overwhelmed since I live alone and am trying to manage this alone.
 
I'm think about getting a second litterbox and will check that one out. I'm concerned that if the Lantus causes diarrhea while I'm at work they won't have anywhere to go. What do you put in the tray? No pads? Thank you (and everyone) for your support, it really helps me with feeling overwhelmed since I live alone and am trying to manage this alone.
You can use the Breeze litter box but use the pellets that are meant for it and don't use the pads so you can collect the urine to test. It's true that diarrhea with this box means you have to clean the entire thing--the litter, the grate, the pee drawer underneath--and you can't just scoop up the soiled litter clumps, but let's keep our fingers crossed that it's a rare occurrence. I've done it and it's not fun but also not the biggest deal.
 
Maybe I'm confusing insulin information I've read. I read so much sometimes I get things mixed up. I have to read things multiple times sometimes. No diarrhea would be nice. Malcolm is licking up about half teaspoon of Vaseline yesterday and today. I hope it softens his stool or lubes hairball. He is eating about 3 oz. a day so far since the vet. Still no poop. He is drinking too. Lantus arrives Monday so my first injection can be when I get home from work around 5pm.
 
Is there anyway you can mix at least an eight of a tablespoon of miralax in his food? I'm afraid adding a little to water isnt going to cut it. Miralax has no smell or taste. If this was for my Zoe, I would just put a couple of teaspoons of food into a bowl mix in the 1/8 tbs of miralax. that way hes sure to get most of the miralax. Then you can put the rest of his meal down. Does that make sense?
 
Is there anyway you can mix at least an eight of a tablespoon of miralax in his food? I'm afraid adding a little to water isn't going to cut it. Miralax has no smell or taste. If this was for my Zoe, I would just put a couple of teaspoons of food into a bowl mix in the 1/8 tsp of miralax. that way he's sure to get most of the miralax. Then you can put the rest of his meal down. Does that make sense?
I have been using 1/8 tsp. I consider that a little because I take it daily due to my own medications side effects. I started putting some in the vaseline since he will lick it and my other cat won't. I'm trying to make sure he is consuming it and not my other cat Tiffany since her poop is good.
 
I have been using 1/8 tsp. I consider that a little because I take it daily due to my own medications side effects. I started putting some in the vaseline since he will lick it and my other cat won't. I'm trying to make sure he is consuming it and not my other cat Tiffany since her poop is good.
Ahhhhhh ok. I must have missed that above My apologies.
 
These are what I think the steps are for tomorrow....I need to stop and get some alcohol prep pads for the pen
1-Come home from work
2-give cuddles/love
3-test BG
4-feed
5-Give injection (1 unit=1/10ml) - I don't know the no shoot range
6-test BG 30 minutes after feeding (to make sure it doesn't drop below 60 ?)
7-give treat and cuddles
8-Pour large glass of wine & Pray while I watch Malcolm and make sure he doesn't get weird or sick.
Edits Welcomed !!!!!!!
 
Hi Cristie,

5-Give injection (1 unit=1/10ml) - I don't know the no shoot range
For cats starting insulin treatment, FDMB sets the 'no shoot' limit as 200 on a human meter (higher on a pet meter).

If your preshot BG check is below 200, don't feed, stall for 20 minutes and check BG again to see whether it has come up high enough. While you're waiting, you can post for help here. Make the title of your thread something along the lines of: "PMPS 162: Just started Lantus, Stalling, Need Help" and set the prefix to question mark (attracts greater attention).

6-test BG 30 minutes after feeding (to make sure it doesn't drop below 60 ?)
In all instances you take immediate action to raise numbers if BG drops below 50 on a human meter (68 on a pet meter), and you immediately reduce the dose for the next cycle.

If you are following the Start Low, Go Slow dosing method (recommended when starting out), if BG drops below 90 (human meter) then you immediately reduce the dose.

If you are following the Tight Regulation dosing method then the dose is immediately reduced if BG drops below 50.

(Lantus Dosing Methods Sticky)

If you haven't already done so, I recommend familiarising yourself with the following (and print the first one out so you'll always have access to it in an emergency).

How to Treat Hypos

Hypo Toolkit (includes recommended supplies needed to raise BG if numbers are running low)

There are several 'sticky' posts at the top of the Lantus support group's board. It does take a while for much of it to sink in but the basics should become second nature fairly quickly. We'll be here to help as you learn. :)


Mogs
.
 
Hi Cristie,


For cats starting insulin treatment, FDMB sets the 'no shoot' limit as 200 on a human meter (higher on a pet meter).

If your preshot BG check is below 200, don't feed, stall for 20 minutes and check BG again to see whether it has come up high enough. While you're waiting, you can post for help here. Make the title of your thread something along the lines of: "PMPS 162: Just started Lantus, Stalling, Need Help" and set the prefix to question mark (attracts greater attention).


In all instances you take immediate action to raise numbers if BG drops below 50 on a human meter (68 on a pet meter), and you immediately reduce the dose for the next cycle.

If you are following the Start Low, Go Slow dosing method (recommended when starting out), if BG drops below 90 (human meter) then you immediately reduce the dose.

If you are following the Tight Regulation dosing method then the dose is immediately reduced if BG drops below 50.

(Lantus Dosing Methods Sticky)

If you haven't already done so, I recommend familiarising yourself with the following (and print the first one out so you'll always have access to it in an emergency).

How to Treat Hypos

Hypo Toolkit (includes recommended supplies needed to raise BG if numbers are running low)

There are several 'sticky' posts at the top of the Lantus support group's board. It does take a while for much of it to sink in but the basics should become second nature fairly quickly. We'll be here to help as you learn. :)


Mogs
.
Printing as I type. I looked in my cupboards for the items for the hypo tool kit last night and set them on the counter. How do I know my dosing method? the Vet just said twice a day. I guess since I work and can't test BG 5 times a day, I would use SLGS.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top