Hi Cristie,
For cats starting insulin treatment, FDMB sets the 'no shoot' limit as 200 on a human meter (higher on a pet meter).
If your preshot BG check is below 200,
don't feed, stall for 20 minutes and check BG again to see whether it has come up high enough. While you're waiting, you can post for help here. Make the title of your thread something along the lines of: "PMPS 162: Just started Lantus, Stalling, Need Help" and set the prefix to question mark (attracts greater attention).
In all instances you take immediate action to raise numbers if BG drops below 50 on a human meter (68 on a pet meter), and you immediately reduce the dose for the next cycle.
If you are following the Start Low, Go Slow dosing method (recommended when starting out), if BG drops below 90 (human meter) then you immediately reduce the dose.
If you are following the Tight Regulation dosing method then the dose is immediately reduced if BG drops below 50.
(
Lantus Dosing Methods Sticky)
If you haven't already done so, I recommend familiarising yourself with the following (and print the first one out so you'll always have access to it in an emergency).
How to Treat Hypos
Hypo Toolkit (includes recommended supplies needed to raise BG if numbers are running low)
There are several 'sticky' posts at the top of the Lantus support group's board. It does take a while for much of it to sink in but the basics should become second nature fairly quickly. We'll be here to help as you learn.
Mogs
.