Victor AMPS 21.7/391

H Allen

Member Since 2022
Increased to 2.25 units this morning....

Still high...at least not in black but still in high pink......
 
No such luck +6 @ 22.2 higher than our AMPS test....sigh...maybe the are infection is just too much stress and no amount is going to bring down his bG?
 
Well yes. It could be new dose wonkiness. Does he get antibiotic ear drops? Or what? A lot of them have a steroid in them but he already gets EOD pred. You just have to work around the pred if it’s a problem for BG. Don’t give up. This is a marathon.
 
He had his ears packed on Monday with the Enro/keto/triamcin - we did a culture then too to find the right antibiotic and it should be back today. He is on pred because everytime I wean him we end up like this- with a huge ear infection. No one knows why- and it's not something we will investigate further with a 14 YO by putting under anesthetic with already existing balance issues that could be further induced- the risk isn't worth it....we have the money- that is not the problem and we have insurance. I would just like to see some sort of reaction to the insulin and I don't feel I'm seeing any!
 
and it's not something we will investigate further with a 14 YO by putting under anesthetic with already existing balance issues that could be further induced- the risk isn't worth it....we have the money- that is not the problem
I totally agree with this about not putting him through all that and even take the risk. Ear problems can make it very difficult to manage insulin; I've seen it with other member's cats. I'm so sorry you are going through this. I do hope there is a solution. I would hope that you would be able to manage it with ear drops? I guess not; I am sure you have tried a lot of things already. It must be some sort of auto-immune condition that manifests in the ears. You are in the right place to hopefully get some help with the insulin. Prednisolone can be worked around if you need to keep him on that; quality of life is important for Victor. Many members have had to keep their cats on pred for things like asthma, IBD, etc. They manage it.
 
Is it just me? I was trying to look at your spreadsheet for Victor and the dates seem all messed up and repetitive. I can't see anything for today... or even anything past April 4. I'm sure over the weekend I looked at it when you increased and the data was all there. I'm sorry.
 
It has something to do with theUS tab. I am trying to view the tab that shows his BG in US numbers. It’s messed up. Also it’s showing his last BG reading as 25.3 and it’s color coded as green. 25.3 is 455 in US numbers and it should be coded as red.

@Bandit's Mom can you help? When you wake up? Bhooma is in Mumbai, India so it’s the middle of the night there right now.
 
See it doesn't show any of this on my spread sheet- it's all showing red and pink in both of them
upload_2022-4-11_17-18-19.png


upload_2022-4-11_17-17-26.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-4-11_17-17-26.png
    upload_2022-4-11_17-17-26.png
    13 KB · Views: 103
  • upload_2022-4-11_17-18-19.png
    upload_2022-4-11_17-18-19.png
    38 KB · Views: 106
See how there are multiple dates up there... like several dates that all say 4/4/2022 (in fact, that's the last date listed -- no wait 4/5/2022 is the last date and not April 11 for today.) I can see it in your attached photos above.
 
It worked! Hooray. Thanks very much. Now I will be able to see what's going on with Victor a little more easily (although I know how to multiply the world numbers by 18 to get the US numbers.)

I haven't seen the two crazy cat ladies before. Do you think they have anything to help with his ears?
 
It worked! Hooray. Thanks very much. Now I will be able to see what's going on with Victor a little more easily (although I know how to multiply the world numbers by 18 to get the US numbers.)

I haven't seen the two crazy cat ladies before. Do you think they have anything to help with his ears?
I"m not sure I reached out to them to see....I'll keep you posted- they also have a product directed to diabetes as well that I will ask more about.....In the meantime I need to find something to resolve him from his discomfort- he's suffering and it's breaking my heart!
 
Some people have used colloidal silver for cat ear yeast infections. I've never personally tried it for my cats, however. I'm not sure of the strength that is safe and required to be therapeutic. This would probably be something to research after all the ear packing is finished. I have used it on wounds for humans, but not in cats yet.
 
Some people have used colloidal silver for cat ear yeast infections. I've never personally tried it for my cats, however. I'm not sure of the strength that is safe and required to be therapeutic. This would probably be something to research after all the ear packing is finished. I have used it on wounds for humans, but not in cats yet.
I actually tried this silver last time I tried weaning the Pred in January- I used Structure Silver Solution for Pets by Silver4Wellness- sprayed directly in ears...was not successful in results.....
 
I actually tried this silver last time I tried weaning the Pred in January- I used Structure Silver Solution for Pets by Silver4Wellness- sprayed directly in ears...was not successful in results.....
I figured you'd tried everything. Sorry. Perhaps he is just going to need the pred, but maybe you can get him down to a lower dose like 2.5 mg. every other day. Or what about trying Dexamethasone instead, but only a dose of 3.75 mg. of Dex every other day (I cut a .5 mg. tablet into three fourths ... one half and one fourth.. and put it in a gelcap.) This is for skin problems that are pretty severe without the steroid. This keeps him in pretty good shape (although I am currently trying him and another cat on Duralactin which is a natural anti-inflammatory (I'm not cutting out the Dex until I see if this is making a difference.) Sometimes Dexamethasone can work better than Prednisolone for skin (I'm including ears here). Also, it is believed that yeast problems in cats are associated with diet. These problems are so frustrating. I always feel like I'm chasing the wind with my cats allergies/skin problems.
 
It's fustratating because the vets don't believe it's diet related allergies- because of his age- but this all started to happen in the 2nd year of 'covid' when there were known food shortages/ingredient shortages so something could have changed in his regular diet? THE ENT /Dermatology Specialist Vet won't even see me unless I agree to a cat scan at minimum! This is outrageous! I'm just trying to keep a 14 year old cat comfortable that I adore...they don't seem to get that! It's NOT about money here- without sounding like a self absorbed witch- but money is not and never will be an issue. The neurology vet we seen agreed- what difference is an MRI or CT scan going to make- if you find a tumor or poly on a 14 year old cat already suffering balance issues are you going to do surgery- NO the risk is not work the result! Yeah I've tried ALOT- we had him weaned down to 2.5 mg EOD last Monday when we visited the vet and because of all the issues we increased back to one tab a day- it does seem to have helped him some in the past few days....but my heart is just breaking here....the blood glucose levels are not budging....he's still shaking his head and obviously uncomfortable.....I can bring up the Dex with the vet but do you think we should get the BG under control first?
 
I can bring up the Dex with the vet but do you think we should get the BG under control first?
Before making any med changes, you may want to try to get the BG down first, yet. That's probably what the vet will say. I'm so sorry. You are having an awful time and I know how really hard it is to see our babies suffer ... and we feel so helpless. Horrible indeed about the CT scan thing! Unconscionable!
 
What about NHV Natural Pet Products? They have an Ear Infections Gold Care Kit (two products, I've never tried either, although I've used a few of their other products.) I believe they have product experts you can chat with (free 15 minute video chat.) I believe they are in Canada.

https://www.nhvnaturalpetproducts.com/natural-remedies-for-ear-infections-in-dogs-cats
Thanks I will reach out to them tomorrow as well!
Before making any med changes, you may want to try to get the BG down first, yet. That's probably what the vet will say. I'm so sorry. You are having an awful time and I know how really hard it is to see our babies suffer ... and we feel so helpless. Horrible indeed about the CT scan thing! Unconscionable!
Exactly I think I need to get the BG controlled before throwing any more changes out there!
 
You don't sound like this. You sound like a person who cares passionately about her cat that she wants to help. We all understand that here.
You have no idea lol really! We bought a 40' motorhome bus 2 years ago so the cats could travel with us because we can not fathom leaving them home....we were only doing shorter road trips prior to this that the cats came with us...we literally LIVE for these cats everything we do we do so they can have a great life- if you are on instagram follow princessseascape - this is Victor's daughter we have who posts lots of pictures of them and their adventures!
 
Back
Top