I have a newly diagnosed kitty named Blackie, who's 10 years old. She was diagnosed in March, and was first put on the Glipizide tablets, but they soon made her vomit, and she went to insulin, at first 1 unit 1x a day, then it was increased to 1 unit BID. She was put on the Vetsulin, until we found out that it was recalled (I found out through the internet, and my vet had told me that the company wasn't making it anymore).
After that, she was put on ProZinc. Graduallay (by vet's standards), she was increased 1 unit almost each weekend since the beginning of ProZinc, and was put on the Hill's Prescription W/D dry. Bad mistake. She went through 2 bouts of glucose curves (1 was an overnight stay, and the other last from Wednesday until Saturday morning). After the 2nd curve, she was on 5 units BID. Then, she was upped to 6 units BID the weekend after. 2 weeks after that, they jumped her to 8 units BID. The following weekend, I told the vet that I wanted her to go on a wet food diet only, and I wanted to put her on Fancy Feast. Vet wanted me to put her on Hill's Prescription W/D wet. I told vet that I'll try this for 1 week. Blackie didn't last a week. She had a hypoglycemic episode Tuesday afternoon when her BG's went as low as 21. I was scared I was going to lose her. With the help of a wonderful board member, I managed to get her BG's back up to a more respectable level, but it still climbed to a low 400. This same board member presented me with a home testing kit when she came over the day before Blackie's hypo episode. She taught me how to hometest, and I'm glad that she did. If I didn't have that monitor, etc., I wouldn't know what was going on with Blackie, and what her BG's were, or how to treat her. I immediately dropped her insulin to 1 unit BID from 8, and she's now on the Fancy Feast Classic wet food diet (chicken flavor).
I learned fairly quickly to get over the fear of seeing the blood, and do the testing. Sometimes, I test her often, and there's been 1 day when I gave her a rest, but I still tested her PS (pre-shot). Today, I gave her a mini curve, and then just tested her about 1 hour ago for the heck of it. I'm glad I did because she gave me a red number. Not good. I'll have to call my friend tonight and find out what to do from here.
You can do it.

Sure, it seems a bit daunting, and a lot to take in, but you can do it.

Believe me, I'm still new at this thing, too.