Very Nervous About This

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Patricia and Benny, Jun 28, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Patricia and Benny

Patricia and Benny New Member

We just got Benny's diagnosis on Friday the 25th, and are awaiting some sendout lab work, including urine culture. He starts insulin this week and we are determined to home test blood sugar in hopes of reducing trips to vet. Although I am a nurse, he is our baby, and the thought of sticking needles in him makes me cry--as does fear of shortened life span.

2. Vicky & Gandalf (GA) & Murrlin

Vicky & Gandalf (GA) & Murrlin Well-Known Member

Welcome Patricia and Benny,

I'm sorry you need to go through this with your baby. Since you didn't ask any questions, I want to tell you not to fear about a shortened lifespan. We have many cats here who have not only gone into remission, but have lived normal life spans as diabetics! My own cat Gandalf has been diabetic for almost 5 1/2 years now and is 17, which in itself is elderly and a normal life span!

An owner who is willing to learn the idiosyncrasies of feline diabetes, home test and make the necessary dietary changes for their kitty will most likely help them to live as long, if not longer, than non-diabetics. We become very in-tune to their health and often discover issues such as swellings, teeth problems, etc before someone who is not taking such care and get those issues resolved before they become life-threatening.

I probably take Gandalf in to the vet more often than I would were he not diabetic. A couple years ago my vet found a swollen thyroid and to make a long story short, that resulted in surgery to remove a rare parathyroid tumor. That will be 2 years ago this coming December. If he had not been receiving regular vet care, it may have been too late by the time it was discovered.