Wendy&Tiggy(GA)
Very Active Member
We have a diabetic cat called Bailey. Most of the time his BG is 200-300 pre shot so we give a shot, but once every few days it drops to under 80 and we skip that shot - as per the vets advice and the fact he had a hypo a while back because we didn't test that often.
But this gives us a problem, we are going away to get married with all our family for 2.5 weeks. We are having a trained pet sitter service come in to look after him but they aren't able to test his BG (not part of their service and the cat is aggressive with strangers). So any advice?
Do we have them give him the shots anyway without testing? He is only on 1/2IU BID so its not an option to give him less.
Or do we take him off insulin for the time?
Or maybe they give him the shot only once a day?
I don't like any option much....
But this gives us a problem, we are going away to get married with all our family for 2.5 weeks. We are having a trained pet sitter service come in to look after him but they aren't able to test his BG (not part of their service and the cat is aggressive with strangers). So any advice?
Do we have them give him the shots anyway without testing? He is only on 1/2IU BID so its not an option to give him less.
Or do we take him off insulin for the time?
Or maybe they give him the shot only once a day?
I don't like any option much....