Vacation issue

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

Member Since 2011
We have a diabetic cat called Bailey. Most of the time his BG is 200-300 pre shot so we give a shot, but once every few days it drops to under 80 and we skip that shot - as per the vets advice and the fact he had a hypo a while back because we didn't test that often.

But this gives us a problem, we are going away to get married with all our family for 2.5 weeks. We are having a trained pet sitter service come in to look after him but they aren't able to test his BG (not part of their service and the cat is aggressive with strangers). So any advice?

Do we have them give him the shots anyway without testing? He is only on 1/2IU BID so its not an option to give him less.
Or do we take him off insulin for the time?
Or maybe they give him the shot only once a day?

I don't like any option much....
 
I personally don't like the option of taking him totally off the insulin for entire 2 ½ weeks. That is a very long time and time enough to throw him into a ketoacidosis from being without insulin too long.


It is a very tough situation when we get a diabetic one that both needs the blood glucose tests and the shots every day - to lay it on others hand with no experience.


Couldn't the pet sitter be willing to learn how to home test and perhaps become a member here and get the every day help from all others?
 
Glucotest strips are placed in the litter box and change color if glucose is being urinated; this indicates that it may be safe to give the regular dose IF the cat is eating or the dose may need an increase.

Ketone urine test strips work best on fresh (within 30 min or so) urine samples. If a clean litterbox with NON-absorbent litter is used, the litter may pushed aside, the box tipped, and the urine tested. It may or may not be possible for the sitter to accomplish this in the time spent at the visit.

You may want to set up some decision criteria such as:
* If eating normal amount (measure, so you know what that is and can provide a reference level), OK to give insulin.
* If not eating, NO INSULIN.
* If vomiting and/or diarrhea, NO INSULIN AND contact vet _______ at phone ______, and owner at ____. Maybe notify vet of this arrangement and have an upper limit set on costs, should anything untoward happen.

It may reduce stress to get a Feliway Comfort Zone plug-in to place in the room most frequented by the cat.

Also, if you have a low carb treat the pet sitter can give, this may reduce stress with a stranger giving the insulin shot.

The erratic glucose levels you have observed may be due to fluctuations in pancrease function, or appetite changes due to activity levels, pancreatitis, or IBD, among a few things. This can make glucose control difficult (been there).

You might also see if a vet tech is available to come do this.

Note: Many of us eyeball 1/4 unit; it helps to use a magnifier and measure from the same side of the lines. Another option is to use an insulin which may be compounded by a pharmacy to a lower doseage (ProZinc, PZI) so that the lower concentration can be measured accurately.
 
Ask around at any local vets-many vet techs will gladly come out and do a preshot test and give the insulin twice a day in exchange for some extra cash. That way the regular sitter wouldn't have to deal with that part of the equation and at least you're getting preshot numbers and not shooting blindly.

Also, if I'm planning on being out of town, I reduce the dose while I'm gone...not ideal, but keeps the cat safe while assuring he gets some insulin. You can dose less than 1/2 U; many of us do it all the time. If you get syringes with half-unit markings, it's a lot easier to measure the tiny doses.
 
I would see if a vet tech is available instead of a pet sitting service. You could pay them & start training them now on what you want done. Not what they will only do & not do. I would not shot insulin blind especially if he has a history of lower numbers & going longer without insulin.

I would not go 2.5 weeks without insulin. That's a long time. BG number could sky rocket & he could develop ketones in no time. The pet sitters arent going to know what signs to look for & your cat could be in bad shape by the time you get back. The vet tech would know a little bit & would have access to the vet quickly.

Hope this helps & Congratulations on your wedding!
Jenn & Baxter
 
I gotta tell ya, the vet techs at my vet's clinic are The Best pets sitters you'll ever find!

They have given me the ultimate in peace of mind when I had to travel alot and leave Blondie home. I had just moved out to North Bend, Wa. and Blondie had just been diagnosed with diabetes.

I was beside myself with what I would do. Several pet sitters were recommended to me and a couple of them I found out didn't know or want to know how to give injections nor test. And there was issues of alcoholism too so there was no way I was going entrust my Blondie to anyone who even had the slightest problem with substance abuse.

So I asked all the vet techs at the clinic if they babysit and "Hey, who wants to make some extra money?!?" Knowing full well that vet techs do not make alot of money, they all chimed in and said that they all pet sit for their patients and they had Dr. Glen's blessing. Phew! What a relief!

I trust them so much that they all now stay overnight in a housesitting capacity too so I will know that all of my cats and house are safe. The techs have their own bedroom suite here and they love it!

It is the biggest peace of mind knowing that I have a trained health professional staying at my house who will know and see the subtle signs of sickness in a cat as cats like to hide that.

And if my cats are sick, the vet techs just take them in, in the morning to work so Dr. Glen can examine them.

My very old grandma kitty Peepers (18) had fallen down the stairs and broke her leg while I was gone and Malissa took her in, they examined her, set her leg and we had another year and a half with her til cancer took her the Bridge. I am so greatful that Malissa was there because if I had had a pet sitter come in and find her that way, who knows how long Peepers would have laid there. Hours or even through the night!

Vet Techs are you Best Friend! V
 
we are finding ourselves in a similar situation, we are going on vacation for 10 days next month. I didn't have many good options, so ultimately I decided to take my cat off insulin for the time we are gone. I figured this was safer than her getting insulin when she didn't need it. These are not really easy decisions, I hope you find peace with whichever you choose :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top