? UTI causing bouncing?

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by BellaBlue82, Jul 20, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BellaBlue82

BellaBlue82 Member

Hi folks,

Nico recently took a trip to the vet hospital after a bad incident on Vetsulin. We switched him over to Prozinc and he seems to be doing MUCH better on that, but we also found out he has a really bad UTI. He received a Convenia injection that day as well.

I am still learning my way through testing (plus he doesn't really like it lol) but have been trying to be more consistent. One thing I've noticed, is the days he sleeps more and drinks less water, his BG shoots up. I have full spectrum urinalysis strips I got from the vet, no ketones at all but glucose and WBC are present ( both in higher that normal numbers.)

I'm wondering if he needs a course of antibiotics specifically for the UTI? His normal vet is coming today for a check up, I'm thinking I should bring it up to her.

Appreciate anyone's insight!
    Bella and Nico

2. Diane Tyler's Mom

Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

Hi Bella , I will tag
    @JanetNJ

@Panic

I am going to ask them to also look at your SS his numbers are still high
    You are doing a good job with testing
    Sorry you got no response this morning, I assume the vet came to your house already
    Is there any way you can test him more often especially at night a few times

3. JanetNJ

JanetNJ Well-Known Member

Covenia rarely works for uti. You could get a culture and sensitivity test and that would tell the vet which antibiotics would work best. I think Usually clavomax is given for uti. That's what my cat Allie always got.

I'm glad you upped the dose. I'd hold a few more days to see if the uti clears.

BellaBlue82 and Panic like this.
  4. Diane Tyler's Mom

Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

Thank you Janet

5. BellaBlue82

BellaBlue82 Member

Thanks Janet and Diane!