Urgent: Need advice on how to give successful injections

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jolie/Rochel

Member Since 2022
Hello, I have looked long and hard on this website to find some threads about how to make the injections less of a struggle. Can somebody please send me some links to whatever resources they have? Jolie and I are about to resume injections this morning and I am nervous that I’m going to screw it up again! I am ready to just scruff her and do it but I’d rather it be a more gentle way and also something that I can teach to others when I am on vacation. Can somebody please help as soon as possible? She loves to be cuddled and massaged and is definitely physically affectionate with me so I have been trying in bed after her meal but she’s very sensitive to the needle. She also doesn’t like to be messed with while she’s eating her meal so I have not been able to get the shot in while she’s eating. And of course I give her a treat at the end because I know that that will speed up the success rate :)
 
Last edited:
for Hendrick, we had to try several different brands/types of needles until we landed on syringes which he didn't seem to mind as much. Can you post a picture of the box for the syringes you are using?

there were a couple brands we tried in the beginning where you could feel what I can only describe as a ripping/tearing sensation as you would insert the syringe. And Hendrick vocally complained every time and would sometimes jerk away or wriggle.

I don't have any suggestions regarding technique other than making sure the needle point is orientated properly (pointy-side down, see picture)

upload_2022-6-6_9-38-47.png


Some other tips here but mainly about the insulin itself not the act of shooting:

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...info-proper-handling-drawing-fine-dosing.151/
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-6-6_9-38-47.png
    upload_2022-6-6_9-38-47.png
    23.1 KB · Views: 187
Hi Rochel
I copied this from your profile because I think it's important that the members see what's going on with Jolie especially since Jolie had 2 hypoglycemic episodes already and can look at your spreadsheet
Hi everyone, I'm Rochel introducing myself and my tabby Jolie. I hope I'm following the protocol for posting correctly - will try to complete spreadsheet and start posting soon but wanted to get something published asap. Will review the protocols again!

Jolie is a 14-yo indoor-only adorable kitty and has lived with me and her brother Jacques since 6-mo kittens. They have eaten mostly high-quality canned food their entire lives. (It was low-carb Instinct until February when I changed to high-carb (22%) "novel" meat related to below.) Jolie had prior dx of IBD (2019) with no significant symptoms except vomiting when eating kibble or hard treats.

Current health decline started with weight loss noted back in February and took to vet for exam - noted elevated liver enzymes, elevated glucose. In April 2022 internist dx'd her with triaditis and for a while was on the trail of trying to dx the state of her intestines, pancreas, and liver with multiple tests and ultrasound cytology, at multiple vets. Nothing definitive. The elevated glucose at each visit did not concern any of them - said probably stress-related. One vet recommended Prednilosone (gave daily for about 3 weeks), and the next one suggested replacing that one with Hydrocortisone for less side effects (gave daily for about 2 weeks).

Finally went the Animal Medical Center NYC to see a new internist about more diagnostics for IBD/lymphoma and he suspected instead that DM was primary problem to tackle, esp bc Jolie has been presenting with ravenous appetite, increased water intake, continued weight loss, but no vomiting/diarrhea - so didn't seem like a GI issue to him. Numbers at baseline: BG 300 mg/dL, Fructosamine: 430. Liver enzymes mild/moderately elevated but improved.

Prescribed Glargine 1.0 U 2x a day (started one week ago today), and set up glucose testing via FreeStyle Libre 2 sensor/app. Advised phasing out steroid, which we are almost done doing. Advised changing meal to 2 big meals per day. Recommended Hill's Diabetic Diet (ugh, no.)

First week results:
1. 2 meals a day not acceptable to my little skinny starving cat! So feeding more often than recommended and saving largest meal for pre-insulin.
2. 1.0 2x day insulin was stabilizing her for first few days but then she had an episode of hypoglycemia (to as low as 59 mg/dl). Terrifying for me but she was OK.
3. Vet changed insulin to 0.5 U, 2x per day.
4. Jolie had another hypoglycemic episode subsequently even with lower dose (to as low as 53 mg/dL). Took a break from insulin for 1.5 days. (I thought perhaps the transition to low-carb food plus insulin was too much.)
4. Tried to resume yesterday morning but now she is starting to fight me about the needle, so has not had any insulin in over 2 days. Numbers range from about 250 to 300 (avg 265). Vet still wants me to do 0.5 2x/day.
5. I have decided to change her food TODAY to Weruva Chicken/Pumpkin which should bring down the carb load dramatically (to about 7%) and have continued to pause the insulin to see what happens!! and start an exercise program NOW.
TO BE CONT'D via a post, I guess!
@Wendy&Neko

@tiffmaxee

@Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
Last edited:
Hello, I have looked long and hard on this website to find some threads about how to make the injections less of a struggle. Can somebody please send me some links to whatever resources they have? Jolie and I are about to resume injections this morning and I am nervous that I’m going to screw it up again! I am ready to just scruff her and do it but I’d rather it be a more gentle way and also something that I can teach to others when I am on vacation. Can somebody please help as soon as possible? She loves to be cuddled and massaged and is definitely physically affectionate with me so I have been trying in bed after her meal but she’s very sensitive to the needle. She also doesn’t like to be messed with while she’s eating her meal so I have not been able to get the shot in while she’s eating. And of course I give her a treat at the end because I know that that will speed up the success rate :)
 
I was first taught to inject around the scruff of the neck but it seemed to close to the spine and I didn't like waving anything sharp around the eyes.
I had both our cats lay on their side and then "tented", pinched a little roll of flesh between my thumb and forefinger, then just slid in the syringe in the flank. Maybe a bit lower than what's indicated here. I quickly realized injecting was the easy part, testing was the real test of trust.
Did you get my reply in Think Tank?

injsitesforcats1.jpg
 

Attachments

  • injsitesforcats1.jpg
    injsitesforcats1.jpg
    42.6 KB · Views: 162
syringes which he didn't seem to mind as much
They're hard to find and some people dislike them but Monoject makes a 31 gauge 1/3cc 1/2" needle syringe. The thumb tabs are much bigger and softer so it feels much nicer in your fingers, like those fat pens people with hand injuries use.
When I say some people "dislike" them I mean just hate them. Personally I'll never use anything else and especially not BD's.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top