Hi Rochel
I copied this from your profile because I think it's important that the members see what's going on with Jolie especially since Jolie had 2 hypoglycemic episodes already and can look at your spreadsheet
Hi everyone, I'm Rochel introducing myself and my tabby Jolie. I hope I'm following the protocol for posting correctly - will try to complete spreadsheet and start posting soon but wanted to get something published asap. Will review the protocols again!
Jolie is a 14-yo indoor-only adorable kitty and has lived with me and her brother Jacques since 6-mo kittens. They have eaten mostly high-quality canned food their entire lives. (It was low-carb Instinct until February when I changed to high-carb (22%) "novel" meat related to below.) Jolie had prior dx of IBD (2019) with no significant symptoms except vomiting when eating kibble or hard treats.
Current health decline started with weight loss noted back in February and took to vet for exam - noted elevated liver enzymes, elevated glucose. In April 2022 internist dx'd her with triaditis and for a while was on the trail of trying to dx the state of her intestines, pancreas, and liver with multiple tests and ultrasound cytology, at multiple vets. Nothing definitive. The elevated glucose at each visit did not concern any of them - said probably stress-related. One vet recommended Prednilosone (gave daily for about 3 weeks), and the next one suggested replacing that one with Hydrocortisone for less side effects (gave daily for about 2 weeks).
Finally went the Animal Medical Center NYC to see a new internist about more diagnostics for IBD/lymphoma and he suspected instead that DM was primary problem to tackle, esp bc Jolie has been presenting with ravenous appetite, increased water intake, continued weight loss, but no vomiting/diarrhea - so didn't seem like a GI issue to him. Numbers at baseline: BG 300 mg/dL, Fructosamine: 430. Liver enzymes mild/moderately elevated but improved.
Prescribed Glargine 1.0 U 2x a day (started one week ago today), and set up glucose testing via FreeStyle Libre 2 sensor/app. Advised phasing out steroid, which we are almost done doing. Advised changing meal to 2 big meals per day. Recommended Hill's Diabetic Diet (ugh, no.)
First week results:
1. 2 meals a day not acceptable to my little skinny starving cat! So feeding more often than recommended and saving largest meal for pre-insulin.
2. 1.0 2x day insulin was stabilizing her for first few days but then she had an episode of hypoglycemia (to as low as 59 mg/dl). Terrifying for me but she was OK.
3. Vet changed insulin to 0.5 U, 2x per day.
4. Jolie had another hypoglycemic episode subsequently even with lower dose (to as low as 53 mg/dL). Took a break from insulin for 1.5 days. (I thought perhaps the transition to low-carb food plus insulin was too much.)
4. Tried to resume yesterday morning but now she is starting to fight me about the needle, so has not had any insulin in over 2 days. Numbers range from about 250 to 300 (avg 265). Vet still wants me to do 0.5 2x/day.
5. I have decided to change her food TODAY to Weruva Chicken/Pumpkin which should bring down the carb load dramatically (to about 7%) and have continued to pause the insulin to see what happens!! and start an exercise program NOW.
TO BE CONT'D via a post, I guess!
@Wendy&Neko
@tiffmaxee
@Bron and Sheba (GA)