Update Remi's thread-10/21-bounce? PMPS 241, +2 271, +4 311

Status
Not open for further replies.

phlika29

Member Since 2014
Hi everyone. I have Been trying to follow the TR protocol and to test as much as possible but I think I feel more comfortable posting here as I really don't feel I know all that much and can certainly not help others.

Anyway I am really struggling to get remi into good numbers and need some advice as I feel we are going backwards.

Until this morning remi was on 1 unit lantus. He had a god day on Thursday but since then his numbers have been high and flat-bouncing I guess but it didn't seem to disappear. This morning as per the protocol I upped his dose to 1.35 (skinny). I know I shouldn't expect a massive change straight away but today his numbers have been just as high and flat as the last couple of days and I am getting disheartened. At least with the caninsulin you say a drop.

My questions are- could it be the lantus? I am halfway through the first cartridge. It looks clear and I have not knowingly injected insulin back into it but on some occasions I have had to reinsert the same syringe as when I have been trying to dislodge a bubble I ended up getting rid of too much insulin. I always get rid of all the insulin in the syringe and start again. The other day I. Did it three times. Will this have ruined the insulin? Do his numbers look like it is not working?

Is he still bouncing and if so why? Why is it just stuck on the red/pinks?

Today he started amps at 21.3, +2 23.6, +5 20.3, +8 21.0. (Sorry US numbers are 383, 425, 365, 378)


What should I do just carry on with the 1.25 dose, start a new cartridge?

many many thanks

Sarah
 
Re: Advice needed for remi-no idea why levels aren't droppin

Is he having an asthma flare? You've noted something about asthma on the spreadsheet. If he has any allergies, they can cause an inflammatory response as part, triggering the asthma, and possibly causing stress, raising the glucose. If he is having trouble breathing, that is stressful too, and could raise the glucose.
 
Re: Advice needed for remi-no idea why levels aren't droppin

BJM said:
Is he having an asthma flare? You've noted something about asthma on the spreadsheet. If he has any allergies, they can cause an inflammatory response as part, triggering the asthma, and possibly causing stress, raising the glucose. If he is having trouble breathing, that is stressful too, and could raise the glucose.

BJM

Thats really interesting but I tend to think it is not his asthma as it hasn't been good for a while. I would say that on average it is not 100%contolled unless he is on 5mg prednicare alongside his inhaled meds. Earlier in the week and last week it wasn't good and so I just decided to start noting it on his form.

Having said that I won't rule it out completely and in fact I am just off to the shops to see about buying a new hypoallergenic bedding set made of wool to see if that might help ,he sleeps in bed with us).

Thanks for the suggestion

Sarah
 
Re: Advice needed for remi-no idea why levels aren't droppin

Sarah,
I'm sorry Remi is giving you such cause for concern. Since you just raised his dose this morning, I doubt you'll really see much effect so quickly. Part of the dose is still likely going to the depot. This is the difference in how cannsulin and Lantus works. Cannsulin works for that cycle with no overlap thus it does likely show movement with each cycle. I'd give it a couple of days before becoming more concerned. It doesn't sound like your Lantus is bad, you've handled it correctly.

BIG HUGS and patience Grasshopper... :)
 
Re: Advice needed for remi-no idea why levels aren't droppin

BJM

I've been thinking more about remi's asthma and a couple of weeks ago my vet did mention that if he it isn't better soon then it might be worth giving him an antibiotic shot in case he has a chest infection. I think his preference was for a long acting injection but I would opt for tablets. Funnily tonight he seems chesty at all. I have found that's remi's asthma symptoms can come and go I a matter or minutes.

My plan is to change all my bedding and buy a hepa air filter but that might have to wait a few weeks, after I sell a few more things on eBay ;-)
 
Re: Advice needed for remi-no idea why levels aren't droppin

Squeaky and KT said:
Sarah,
I'm sorry Remi is giving you such cause for concern. Since you just raised his dose this morning, I doubt you'll really see much effect so quickly. Part of the dose is still likely going to the depot. This is the difference in how cannsulin and Lantus works. Cannsulin works for that cycle with no overlap thus it does likely show movement with each cycle. I'd give it a couple of days before becoming more concerned. It doesn't sound like your Lantus is bad, you've handled it correctly.

BIG HUGS and patience Grasshopper... :)

Many thanks for your reply. I am just so desperate to get remi regulated quickly that I am stressing myself out :roll: me and patience are not natural bed fellows so thankyou for reminding me to hold on a few more days. Remi was actually very relaxed in bed this morning, trying to lick my nose and curling up with me.

For the first time since remi was a kitten I found four fleas on him tonight :shock: :? :cry: He's primarily an indoor cat (because he doesn't like the wind or rain and when you live in the uk that tends to be what you get) and we have no other animals, so I was shocked when I spotted him scratching the other day and found some dried blood spots on his fur. Doubt this would have affected his blood glucose though.

Many tasks

Sarah
 
Re: Advice needed for remi-no idea why levels aren't droppin

We have lift off again. Remi has got a yellow number at his +4 tonight (297). I just hope we see so e more yellows tomorrow. I am not worried about blues at the moment just a couple of yellows would make me happy :-D
 
Re: Advice needed for remi-no idea why levels aren't droppin

For human asthmatics, they recommend
Washing bedding and curtains weekly in hot water.
Replacing carpet with smooth surfaces such as vinyl, wood, or tile.
HEPA furnace filters, changed as recommended.
HEPA filters on vacuums; preference is to damp mop if there are smooth surfaces, as even with filters, vacuums whirl the air around a lot.
 
Re: Advice needed for remi-no idea why levels aren't droppin

hi sarah
yay for the yellow. i know what you mean. i would def be happy with yellows too. hope it continues for remi.
 
Re: Advice needed for remi-no idea why levels aren't droppin

Hmm one good day and now the bounce. Just hope the bounces get shorter. Remi was quite perky today, even ran up the stairs this morning for the first time in quite a while. Got blues today but tonight we are back in the pinks.
 
Re: Advice needed for remi's-update-blues but now bouncing

Every time he hits blue he bounces. Just going to have to grit your teeth and let him bounce until he's done bouncing. Now how you handle that depends on which protocol you want to follow. Are you wanting to stay with TR? Or SLGS? Or my favorite a hybrid of the two? If he was mine, I would use hybrid of the two. I'd take the counting of days and cycles out of the picture and start watching one of the averages on my meter. Most have either a 7 or 14 day on them. As long as that number was getting lower and I was seeing at least a sprinkling of yellows in a 3-5 day period of time I would leave the dose alone. Some cats take longer to settle on a dose than others. Then once my average is fairly flat-lined then and the curve is fairly flat (no more than 100 up and down) then take him up again. Once he stops bouncing like a ping pong ball then start raising every 3-5 days but if he starts bouncing again, hold the dose until the swings stop before going up again.

Did that make sense?

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: Advice needed for remi's-update-blues but now bouncing

Thanks Mel. Great advice per usual.

Yes I like the idea of the hybrid approach and I am going to go for that. Will dig out my meter's instruction and find out how to show the average. I guess the average changes each day as new readings are stored? So I can add a column to my Spreadsheet to keep track of it and make sure it is going down?

in addition I will wait for the curve to flatten out so in 'world' numbers that is no more than 5.5 up or down as long as I see yellows.

Funnily enough he seems to have cleared the bounce quicker this time as his PMPS reading was 12.0 (216) and his +2 is 9.1 (163). Going on a previous dose his nadir maybe around the 6 mark or maybe just into the green! However I think it is likely he will bounce tomorrow because of it.

I love it when I have a plan of action. Many thanks once again mel and everyone else who has been so encouraging.

Best wishes

Sarah
 
Re: remi's thread update-20/10-Back in the blues-+2 163

hi sarah
that's great!!! i think i might try the same .... just hold on through the bounces. good luck
 
Re: remi's thread update-20/10-Back in the blues-+2 163, + 4

187 (10.4) this morning for Remi's AMPS. I think this is the lowest I have shot :smile: :? . Luckily my partner is home until midday and so will take a couple of readings and keep an eye on him. Then I can get my mum to pop in on him this afternoon.

Will update my spreadsheet when I get to work.
 
Re: Update Remi's thread-10/21-blue surf-AMPS187,+2 164,+4 1

Okay the latest reading is +5 104 so all most into the greens :mrgreen: . Since the test he has had his lunch and my partner will put down some more food as he goes to work at +5.45. Remi seems to peak at +6/7 so I think he will be safe for the afternoon??. I don't want to over feed him and he lose the surf but obviously don't want to have him go near a hypo. Any advice gratefully received.
 
Re: Update Remi's thread-10/21-blue surf-AMPS187,+2 164,+5 1

Looking good!! He should be fine for the day as that 104 should be right at or close to his nadir.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: Update Remi's thread-10/21-blue surf-AMPS187,+2 164,+5 1

Yay :-D I might have told my partner to give him a little more food than usual but hopefully that wont ruin the surf. Am trying to tell myself to expect a bounce tonight and not to be disappointed.

Many thanks

Sarah
 
Re: Update Remi's thread-10/21-blue surf-AMPS187,+2 164,+5 1

:lol: thanks Aine

Well tonight remi is much higher, either a bounce or maybe a mis shot. I had to rush tonight's shot as I had been to Pilates and was separate to get back and give him his dose no later than 15 minutes later than usual. I therefore didn't wait for hi to be in an ideal position, but don't think I missed it.

Tonight it is
PMPS 13.4/241
+2 15.1/272
+4 17.3/311
 
Re: Update Remi's thread-10/21-bounce? PMPS 241, +2 271, +4

Any chance you could double-check the +2 mg/dL calculation, Sarah? Does not compute. :?
 
Re: Update Remi's thread-10/21-bounce? PMPS 241, +2 271, +4

hi sarah
i know how frustrating it is to have a bouncing kitty.
hope it clears fast.
 
Re: Update Remi's thread-10/21-bounce? PMPS 241, +2 271, +4

Critter Mom said:
Any chance you could double-check the +2 mg/dL calculation, Sarah? Does not compute. :?

Opps, not sure what I managed there. Have edited it now
 
Re: Update Remi's thread-10/21-bounce? PMPS 241, +2 271, +4

tibbs5 said:
hi sarah
i know how frustrating it is to have a bouncing kitty.
hope it clears fast.

Its soooo annoying :shock: Hope Tibbs settles soon too.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top