update on Samantha

Status
Not open for further replies.

LindaMS

Member Since 2013
I have been over on the Lantus board lately because Sammy has been doing some interesting things. i thought I would pop over here and share the fun.

She has been bouncing, but quickly.. clearing in about 12 hours or so. Today is a really interesting one... she was 423 at PMPS last night. At PM+10 she had dropped to 77. Two hours later, AMPS was 50 (and had dropped from 54 a half hour earlier), so no shot. At +3.5 hours, she was 76. I am shocked. Maybe her liver is finally not panicking and throwing out glucose!

(I did have a long talk with her yesterday and told her I am as tired of this pokey pokey stuff as she is and its really time to get OTJ, and she did agree, so i dont know why I am surprised)

Linda
 
you SS shows that yesterday's PMPS was 423 and you gave no insulin and that this morning's PS was 43. Is that true? Seems strange if true.
 
Hi Linda,
what an adventure! I realize you're on the Lantus forum for dosing information & have not used Lantus, just ProZinc vial & Levemir flexpens, but my OTJ Pudge (now 14 yo, male) led me down a similarly surprising path. First remission (1 year duration) was on ProZinc - he went off it on 1 unit surprising the heck out of me! He actually started putting his paw over my hand at testing time with his big blue eyes begging me not to test - just my wishful thinking!!! His 2nd remission (since May 2013) was off Levemir (I switched insulin earlier for another Kitty since at the time there was shortage of ProZinc) where he scared the daylights out of me by plunging to mid 40s after a single drop of Levemir!

My general & main points: (1) careful when no sugar is found in her pee -- now I know that's usual when a cat's BGs are below renal threshold, but it's good to keep it in mind as it can happen suddenly when pancreas is waking up
(2) once the depot is filled, even a single drop of depot type insulin (Lantus or Levemir, both are great insulin) can drastically lower the BGs
(3) if you ever get a weird / unexpected BG number retest immediately

Her numbers are looking good! Best wishes, Sophie
 
Sorry, Larry, lots going on in my world, didnt completely update SS. thanks for pointing it out.

She is 16.9 tonight. so going to shoot as usual, but set an alarm to test in a bit.

Linda
 
Larry and Kitties said:
In the Remarks for 12/13 you say missed shot? The SS showed y gave 0.5 units AM and PM?

Sorry, Larry, input data error. In other words, "Problem has been determined to be between keyboard and the chair"
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top