Update and Hello - 1st BG Curve!

Status
Not open for further replies.
I think he is telling me he has had enough shots on his ears and scruff :cool:.

He was acting quite normal because he had dry kibbles and wet food right after the syrup water. I may have over reacted a bit after seeing 35.

His PMPS is 408 so I gave him 1.2U. This morning he got 1.2U as well and he took me for a ride :nailbiting:.

I also realized that last night I didn't give him 0.5U because I drew up 0.5U in U100 syringe, so converting that back to U40, it was actually 0.2U.

Will get a +6 tonight and stay home tomorrow morning so I can get some day numbers which have been missing lately.
 
I might've dropped down to 1.0U or 0.8U after his excitement from today. If you already shot, I would test at +2 or +3 to see where he's headed.
 
So he got to 93 on a 0.2 last night?

After going hypo, cats will often run a little high the following cycle. However, if he really just got a full unit more than he did last night, please keep an eye on him this evening.

I have a feeling he's wanting more like 0.4 or 0.6 right now. He is starting from pretty high up there though, so that should balance it - just always better to check on things. You're good at that, and you clearly showed you can handle a low number today!
 
So he got to 93 on a 0.2 last night?

After going hypo, cats will often run a little high the following cycle. However, if he really just got a full unit more than he did last night, please keep an eye on him this evening.

I have a feeling he's wanting more like 0.4 or 0.6 right now. He is starting from pretty high up there though, so that should balance it - just always better to check on things. You're good at that, and you clearly showed you can handle a low number today!

I was driving and thinking about his dosing for the pm cycle and suddenly realized what I did last night. So it was 0.2U instead of 0.5U.

Hopefully 1.2 tonight is not going to be crazy. Setting alarms now.
 
You should be able to tell fairly early in the cycle if it's going to be active or not. And hopefully he'll just run high and flat tonight and it won't even matter. Sometimes the bounce patterns are really helpful!
 
Good morning.

Last night's experiment with 1.2U proved that Coby's cells are reversing insulin insensitivity.

PMPS: 407
PMPS +2: 279
PMPS +4: 58, fed some gravy based wet food (~1/4 can)
PMPS + 6.5: 102

AMPS coming up in a few.
 
I'm so sorry you didn't get much sleep again last night! Will you have time to nap a bit today?

Good monring Djamila!

I will reverse my schedule today so I can get some AM numbers then head out in the afternoon. Hopefully a few winks in between testing.

AMPS: 274. I think you were right last night, his need for insulin is probably around 0.4~0.6U. I will try 0.6U this morning to see what happens.

YAWN and time to feed!
 
Last edited:
Thank goodness! Yes, I think you both needed a bit of rest after that roller coaster yesterday!

And I'm loving that 200 tonight! Here's to a nice safe dark green tonight and a good night's sleep for you both!
 
Yes, a calm night will be great! Will still do a +6 to see how low he goes and one +3. I hope I will hear the alarm :p.

ETA: he gained 0.1 pound! A small gain but I am so happy! I can also see new fur on his face and ears.
 
Last edited:
Well, 0.4U was a bit much for this morning or number under 200. At +4, he went down to 49 and gave him 2ml of syrup water. At +6, BG went back up to 90. PM check in 45 minutes.

Question: how do I know if he doesn't need a shot?
 
When you skip and he's holding his own BG in normal ranges, 50 - 120 roughly on a human meter. He's definitely seems to be getting close :cat:. Will check back in 45 minutes :)
 
Oh Patricia! How is your stress/exhaustion level these days? You've really had a run of excitement lately! Let's see where he's at tonight, but he definitely seems to be telling you that he's about done with all of this!
 
Excellent data to have though! Now you know that it's too much to give under 200 at this point.

I know this must be exhausting for you, but I really do think it's all good so far...Coby really does seem to want to get off insulin!

However, as Djamila said, you've certainly had a tough time of it lately...this is always the hardest part when they're getting so low and you're trying to fine tune the dose. How are you holding up?
 
Thanks everybody! I am doing OK. It is important to get all the data even if it means fragmented sleep cycle for me :cat:. I just want him to be well. We love our fur babies!
 
Woah! Yeah I'd go ahead and skip at this point. Give Coby dinner, skip the shot, and treat yourself to a lovely night of uninterrupted rest! Goodness knows you both deserve it!
 
Oh yeah!!! Yes, skip the shot, and sleep well knowing that he's safe tonight! I'm so glad that you'll both get some good rest!
 
Good morning! Sleep is a wonderful thing.

His +2 last night was 113. This morning PS is 81! NS again. Yay!

Hope he can keep this going :cat:.

Have a wonderful Sunday everyone!
 
Wow! What a beautiful preshot after that NS last night! I hope you got tons of good restful sleep last night and glad to hear you can relax some today! I'd try to grab maybe a +6 or so if you can today, but don't stress about it. Just if you happen to be there to see where he's going mid cycle with no insulin. If you don't happen to be there, it's no big deal since this is just about data rather than safety. :)
 
Good morning!

BG levels have been low since yesterday morning. So that's the good news. Not so great is that he is suddenly very picky about his wet food. He wants dry kibbles :arghh:. I guess he remembered the dry kibbles I gave during that hypo event a couple of days ago. Not willing to eat (but still eating some) the wet since yesterday afternoon. Since he is not on insulin, I don't have to worry about hypo but it is just, well, annoying o_O now that I am starting to worry about his BG being on the low side. Isn't it ironic?

I am going to leave the food out all day today so he can eat it whenever he wants (and realizes there is NO dry kibble). Hopefully Cory and Cody don't finish it all :facepalm: before he gets to it. Stubborn cat....
 
Lol...Sam does that too after a hypo. After his most recent one, he started actually faking his hypo symptoms to try to get some kibble out of me. Clever kitty. All he got was a few extra tests though, so he finally gave up and went back to his regular food. Made me re-think my hypo strategy: might not be so good to remind him that kibble exists. Don't worry about the numbers being too low. He's doing great. Hopefully he'll get back to eating well for you soon!
 
Lol...Sam does that too after a hypo. After his most recent one, he started actually faking his hypo symptoms to try to get some kibble out of me. Clever kitty. All he got was a few extra tests though, so he finally gave up and went back to his regular food. Made me re-think my hypo strategy: might not be so good to remind him that kibble exists. Don't worry about the numbers being too low. He's doing great. Hopefully he'll get back to eating well for you soon!

Haha, clever kitty! I knew one slip up will give me some problems :rolleyes:.

ETA: it is less 2 hours since I left the food out, the kitten has eaten EVERYTHING!
 
Last edited:
I have been researching treats this afternoon. I think a lot people here give their fur balls freeze dried liver. Want to give that a try. I also have a bag of Primal freeze-dried nuggets (never tried before). May be I can crunch that up and sprinkle on top of the food. He started to eat more @ +6 and finished almost the entire 3-0z can just now.

Should I get some slightly higher carb food? The BG is really on the low side. Can't believe I am saying this now and just some time ago, it is all low carb, no carb....
 
What's his BG? Since he was NS tonight and insulin should be out of his system, he shouldn't hypo so I'd hate to see you carb him up :)
 
Oh my gosh!!! That was the cycle of a non-diabetic cat you had! I'm so excited to see what you get this morning!
 
Good morning!

I did a +3 last night. The new blue test strip was 42 and the last old blue test strip was 60 o_O. So I ordered the original strips immediately last night.

Since I am out of the old ones, this morning I used the new and the AMPS is 59.

I even started studying Dr. Lisa's food chart to see which food with 5% carb I should buy :p. Also slept on the sofa so I can feed him when I woke up!
 
Wow...it's so incredible to see him holding those low numbers all on his own!!! You've done such a great job of taking care of him!
 
Very proud of Coby! Of course he probably just doesn't want to get poked as often :D.

He is eating better now after realizing no dry kibbles for him. I hid the container with the kibbles in a different room. Out of sight, out of mind!

Now fingers and paws crossed that this low BG number will continue.

Coby and I thank you all for your kindness and support :cat:. I know many more millions of my cells would have died without FDMB :kiss::bighug::):cat:.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top