Update and Hello - 1st BG Curve!

Status
Not open for further replies.
I think you might hit 200...and if not you'll be so close I think it could count. If it makes you uncomfortable you can surely go lower though!
 
Oh, little edit to your spreadsheet when you get a minute: On the spreadsheet, we list the BG level at the time of the shot. Then put the first two readings in the notes. That way you can see what number the insulin was actually acting on.
 
Changes made. +6 is 118.

What dose should I give him tonight? If he is above 200, 1.2 units? The idea of 1.2 U came up earlier in the thread.
 
That's what I would suggest. Based on today at 1.0u, it looks like he can handle the 1.2u. He's still got lots of room to move based on that +6.
 
If he's above 200, I think you're OK to do 1.2U and get your usual evening tests :). If he's below 200, post here and don't feed. We'll try to stall him for 20 minutes. What time is PS test?
 
His PMPS today will be 6:30pm (PST), trying to work it back to 6pm. Will get another test this afternoon.
 
I agree that 1.2 would be good if he's back up to the 200 range. Got a nice drop, but not quite as much as we want.
 
Yes. I am in the stalling period right now. Will do a +40min instead of +20min because I don't think it will get anywhere close to 200 at +20min :nailbiting:.
 
Let's see where you're at after the stall. I just logged on. How much longer until the next test?
 
I am OK with giving him a shot tonight and probably not going to sleep much :coffee:. I am just not sure how much I should give him.
 
Ok so he is rising,
PMPS 128
+40m 148

Since it's the first lowest PS and there is no data, I'm leaning towards 0.75U and plan to check at +2 or +3.
 
I am OK with giving him a shot tonight and probably not going to sleep much :coffee:. I am just not sure how much I should give him.
Maybe 0.6 u? Oops! I see Yong recommended 0.75 u. You could try 0.6 u or 0.8 u if you're using U100 syringes.
 
That's the thing: there's really no way to know tonight. One unit wasn't quite enough today...except that he stayed low all the way through PS which means it really was enough and may still be in play a bit. Probably if you shoot one unit tonight it will be okay. But it might be too much and I never ever want to give someone advice that leads to a lime green. :nailbiting: If you're home and monitoring and have high carb food, you'll be fine, but it can be nerve wracking.

You can play it safe and shoot a token dose like 0.5. You'll still need to monitor, but there's a better chance of staying in calmer numbers.

It's really up to you. What does your gut say?
 
Thank you everyone, especially Yong, to keep you up :oops:.

The 1 hour stall number didn't really change: 147. Now I am uncomfortable of giving him a 0.75. I will feed him now and give 0.5 U tonight and test him through the night with honey ready.

Thanks Yong!
 
And always appreciate the input from Djamila too! Got to feed now, all 3 cats are trying to walk and sit on me :cat:.
 
@Rachel always says, "all data is good data" and you learn to trust yourself more every time you have a night like this. You'll get some data tonight and it will help you make the next decision along the FD journey.

You're doing a great job with all of this uncertainty. :bighug:
 
Good morning (yawn)!

After stalling for an hour with BG at 147, I fed and gave him 0.5 U.

PMPS+3.5 - 93 and gave him a snack.
PMPS+6 - 129

The AMPS is coming up in about 20 minutes, hopefully his BG is around 200. If so, maybe 1.2U?
 
I realized late last night that you had stalled in the morning as well. So was that PMPS 12 hours after the final AM test? Or was it at your normal shot time (so slightly less than 12 hours?)

Do you have your AMPS? (this is my favorite thread right now -- it's always a new surprise!)
 
I realized late last night that you had stalled in the morning as well. So was that PMPS 12 hours after the final AM test? Or was it at your normal shot time (so slightly less than 12 hours?)

Do you have your AMPS? (this is my favorite thread right now -- it's always a new surprise!)

Last night's PM cycle was actually 13 hours because of the stalling. This morning I am about 20 mins ahead of 12 hours so I can make my way back to the original feeding schedule. I just took his AMPS: 248. I think I will try 1.2 units.

Suggestion?
 
I think 1.2 sounds good. And yowza on that 248! I bet the 1.2 will bring him down nicely though.

ETA: Isn't it funny that 248 seems high when just a couple of days ago you had numbers in the blacks? :blackeye:
 
I know and too many surprises! I am becoming color blind now and really need some sleep since this journey started :p. I wish I can track him in the morning better because he doesn't get a feeding until +6 or +7. Unlike the PM cycle, he gets a snack at +3.
 
Do make sure you're taking care of yourself. It's often said around here that this is a marathon, not a sprint. You need to make sure you're sleeping! He's doing fine and you are dosing him to keep him in nice safe numbers, so try not to worry too much. You're doing great!
 
OK. I am speechless. Just got home to do a +6 and his BG is 35 and 38 (2nd test 30 seconds after the first)!!!!! OMG!

I gave him 5ml of syrup water and he ate dry kibble immediately. He is very alert and able to get up and jump off the couch. Just used the litter box (peed and pooed). Will test again in 30 min.

ETA: I don't think there is anything wrong with my meter. Or is there? :confused::banghead:
 
Probably nothing wrong with the meter. 50 is the take action number. Many cats can go below that and be okay.

You're doing the right things. Now it's just a matter of waiting for the BG to rise.

Looks like King Coby has had about enough of this insulin nonesense!
 
Also, if you need to feed again, try to use high carb wet food if you can. It takes effect quicker. You should be fine though because he also had the syrup.
 
I'm in the woods right now and going in and out of cell reception. If you need help and no one else is around back here, post out on the main health forum. Hopefully there are others online here too though
 
I'm in the woods right now and going in and out of cell reception. If you need help and no one else is around back here, post out on the main health forum. Hopefully there are others online here too though

Thanks Djamila! His sugar just went up to 308 after the syrup, dry kibble, and normal wet food feeding. I guess BG will probably be high to PMPS this evening due to the syrup and kibble. It will be hard to decide how much Prozinc to give him tonight.

Coby was very happy to see the dry kibble though because he hasn't had this much since April!

Thanks always for your support!
 
Oops. Well, at least he isn't hypo anymore! :p

He may be a bit high tonight, but I would still aim low on the dose. He's pretty clearly working on his slide down the dosing scale! :D
 
How was his behaviour? He might still come down some for PMPS, the syrup doesn't last very long. How much insulin did he get this morning?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top