PPCW
Member
It was a good time to do that experiment while on a small dose. Definitely time for an increase now and good news is we know for sure that he needs it!![]()
Like we said, it was just an experiment. Resume dosing increase schedule
![]()

It was a good time to do that experiment while on a small dose. Definitely time for an increase now and good news is we know for sure that he needs it!![]()
Like we said, it was just an experiment. Resume dosing increase schedule
![]()
Last week was unique because I had to be out of the house by 6am. Didn't want to risk hypo while I was gone. I am on summer break right now so it is easier to test him but once August comes around, testing during the day is not going to be possible
. I am testing him with a lower dose when AMPS/PMPS is slightly lower than 200 to see how he deals with it. This will give me a better idea on what to expect when I have to do this when I go back to work.
Baking class was great! I took 2 other classes in previous summers and they were both about cakes. This time it was all about artisan bread baking. Here are some for your breakfast tomorrow morning, enjoy:
View attachment 29621 View attachment 29622 View attachment 29623 View attachment 29624
Ohhhh that bread looks so good!
You do what you can with testing. For now, it's a good time for you to really fine tune the dose...when August comes, you'll test mid cycle when you can (weekends if possible or every now and then in the middle of the night maybe) and work with it the best you can.That's when a on the way out of the house or before bed test a few hours after the shot will really come into play. Even a +2 is helpful if that's what you can get! All data is good data.
Ummmm....I live on the west coast too! That's not very far away from that bread....
It won't necessarily induce a hypo. On 7/7 that nadir value was very good. It's by accumulating a SS full of data that you learn your kitty's way of responding so you can make decent predictions. Some cats are very predictable, others aren't.One concern I have about giving a full dose when the AMPS/PMPS number is +/- 200 is that will it induce hypo? For example, 7/7, his nadir on full dose (1.6) was 108.
It won't necessarily induce a hypo. On 7/7 that nadir value was very good. It's by accumulating a SS full of data that you learn your kitty's way of responding so you can make decent predictions. Some cats are very predictable, others aren't.
It's extra hard to say if it would lead to a hypo or not when the kitty is bouncing around this dramatically. Most likely it wouldn't since your lowest number (86) is still pretty safe. But given the dramatic ups and downs, it could.
I think 1.6 might be a smidge too high for right now. You're getting quite a few drops of more than 50% which is why he's bouncing so much. Plus, every time you adjust the dose, it sets of more wonky numbers. You've needed to reduce the dose a few times because of the pre-shot, but it does add to the complication.
You might consider dropping back to 1.4, and then doing everything possible to hold that dose steady for a few days instead of changing it up so much. That means that if you get a lower-than-normal pre-shot, you'll need to stall without feeding for 20 minutes, then re-test and see if the number is closer to normal. If it's not there yet, you'll need to stall another 20 minutes without feeding and test again. Then you are most likely going to be high enough to give the full dose. It's kind of a pain, and the kitties don't love it since they want dinner NOW, but it lets you hold the dose steady which can help settle down those swings you're getting.
1.4 isn't likely to be enough insulin in the end, but it could help to settle things down a little since your drops are so currently so big. Once things are a little calmer, you can resume the increases to start to get the pre-shots down more.
Does all of that make sense? It may or may not help at all, but it's a strategy that sometimes works and may be worth considering. Totally up to you though if you want to give it a try.
Wow, that's a nice, gentle cycle! Curious what he's going to show you for your PMPS tonight?
Don't be too disappointed if it's normal-ish, but I'd be super happy if it was pink!
WOW!!!! That's a great cycle! Amen to repeats of this, and even better things to come!
Now for a little reality though: It's unlikely that lowering the dose a little "fixes" the bounces. This cycle was likely just a lucky coincidence, so please don't be too disappointed if those reds and blacks re-appear. Although the hope is that the lower dose will settle things a bit, I would doubt that every cycle will be quite this pretty.![]()