Did you decide skip the shot?
No problem!he ate some fancy feast paté within the last hour (after the PMPS reading) because I forgot to take the food away my other cat was eating, nothing high carb for about 8hrs, so not caused by that. I will then go ahead and shoot the recommended 3U, 0.5U less than this morning. Will restest +1.5 and +2. Thank you!!
+1.5 reading is at 224. I'll do another one at +2 and if that looks good call it a day and leave my boy's ears alone until tomorrow![]()
I'll be watching for the +2
Don't forget that since you shot 1 1/2 hours late tonight, tomorrow you have to shoot late too. You can work your way back to your chosen shot time by shooting 15 minutes early on each cycle or 30 minutes once per day.
I feel like I should set an alarm to test at night too. Maybe at +4, since he dropped so low at +4 for his morning shot.
Thanks Chris. Just took the +2 and it's at 167. I feel like I should set an alarm to test at night too. Maybe at +4, since he dropped so low at +4 for his morning shot.
Yes, we're at +10 now.Hi Astrid, that's hardly any bump after eating a bowl of HC! How much longer for AMPS? 2 hours?
+11.5 is at 169
he last ate after the +9, had FF paté and a few treats (pure freeze-dried chicken breast)Ok. Headed higher. When did he last eat?
Jocke also didn't get much of a bump from the Temptations and syrup he got on yesterday's AM cycle.Hi Astrid, that's hardly any bump after eating a bowl of HC! How much longer for AMPS? 2 hours?

thank you @Bandit's Mom ! we started the 4U on 1/28,
@Critter Mom
Just took his AMPS it is at 176, no food there so I will retest in 30mins, but don't want to get into the same issues I had the past 2 days, with him dropping so low after +4![]()
You could shoot a token dose or skip the shot. That would drain the previous depot.
I think I might skip this shot and monitor throughout the day at the normal times (+6, PMPS etc). His BG is now at 218 at +12.5
His BG is now at 218 at +12.5
how would you feel about just giving 1.5U? His numbers are rising pretty quickly and I'd hate to see him back in pink or red by PMPS
Thanks for the input! Never tested ketones on him, but I do have a ketone meter at home (for blood testing). I can test ketones throughout the day. Ok, will retest and go ahead and shoot a 1.5U
oh ok, thank you!You don't have to test for ketones throughout the day. Once a week or so should be fine.
The previous depot will still affect this cycle so continue to test. You could start with a +2. You are now feeding only LC wet, right?it's 226 at 13.5 and I gave him 1.5U
What time did you actually shoot last night? (because you were already 1.5 hours behind due to stalling)
What time did you actually shoot this morning?
Yes, makes sense!!The previous depot will still affect this cycle so continue to test. You could start with a +2. You are now feeding only LC wet, right?
Your AM shot is 1.5 hours late this AM? You can make up the lost time by 15 minutes every cycle. So you shoot tonight 11:45 hours later and tomorrow AM after 11:45 hours. Do I make sense? See this sticky:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/getting-back-on-a-12-12-shot-schedule.101059/
I'd also urge you to go ahead and move over to the Lantus forum today. This thread is getting too long so you need to start a new one soon anyway. Might as well move over to the right insulin support group!
There, we post a little differently. Our subject lines are usually done in a certain format:
Date, Cat's name, AMPS ### ......then as the day goes on, as you get new tests, you edit the subject line and add the new results like "2/11, Jocke, AMPS 226, +2 ###, +5 ###, etc.. etc.
That makes it easy for people who are scanning the boards to quickly see how everybody is doing and if they see something that concerns them, they start with those posts first.
In the body of your post you can ask any questions you have, tell us how things are going generally, give the Whole Cat Report (how Jocke is doing basically...is he doing the 5 P's? Peeing, pooping, preening, playing, purring?)