? Units and Shooting advice needed

Status
Not open for further replies.
Did you decide skip the shot?

since the PMPS number was so low I waited and now it's 287 - haven't given him the shot yet, would you think it's best to administer the lesser dose as advised by Chris earlier now with these numbers and test +1.5 and +2?
 
I know you haven't chosen a Lantus dosing method, but by either method he earned another 0.25-0.5U reduction today...Chris has much more Lantus experience than I do, so I'd go with her recommendation.

I think you would have been ok to shoot, and still are but you'll have to "walk back" your schedule over time (so the next shot would have to be 12 hrs from now, give or take 15 minutes).

When has he eaten over the past 3 hours, what did he eat, and how much? It would be helpful to see in the Remarks column if you get a chance. I'm just wondering if the 287 is maybe inflated by some high carb food, or perhaps a bounce.

Edit: if it's potentially inflated by high carb food the situation is slightly different. I say still ok to shoot, but testing will be different
 
he ate some fancy feast paté within the last hour (after the PMPS reading) because I forgot to take the food away my other cat was eating, nothing high carb for about 8hrs, so not caused by that. I will then go ahead and shoot the recommended 3U, 0.5U less than this morning. Will restest +1.5 and +2. Thank you!!
 
he ate some fancy feast paté within the last hour (after the PMPS reading) because I forgot to take the food away my other cat was eating, nothing high carb for about 8hrs, so not caused by that. I will then go ahead and shoot the recommended 3U, 0.5U less than this morning. Will restest +1.5 and +2. Thank you!!
No problem!

I'm also off to bed. If you run into trouble go ahead and post on Lantus board with a link to this thread. There's usually a few people around at night, your best bet is to look at the recent threads and who's been active/ replying. tiffmaxee, Bandit's Mom, Bron and Sheba, and the moderators are often around.

It's most helpful for them if your thread title follows this format: "2/10 Jocke - AMPS 190, +4 46, PMPS 287, <whatever test is most recent and concerning> New to this Please Help" It's the format they use to quickly scan the board and "triage" who needs help first.

In the meantime you'll want to do exactly what you did today. If he starts to go below 70, a little bit of LC wet (want to keep him hungry in case he continues to drop). If he drops below 50, give the higher carb stuff. Continue to test every 20-30 mins, want numbers back above 70 and ideally holding steady or rising without food. Keep in mind dry food takes longer to kick in, and the syrup wears off quickly.
 
+1.5 reading is at 224. I'll do another one at +2 and if that looks good call it a day and leave my boy's ears alone until tomorrow :D

I'll be watching for the +2

Don't forget that since you shot 1 1/2 hours late tonight, tomorrow you have to shoot late too. You can work your way back to your chosen shot time by shooting 15 minutes early on each cycle or 30 minutes once per day.
 
I'll be watching for the +2

Don't forget that since you shot 1 1/2 hours late tonight, tomorrow you have to shoot late too. You can work your way back to your chosen shot time by shooting 15 minutes early on each cycle or 30 minutes once per day.

Thanks Chris. Just took the +2 and it's at 167. I feel like I should set an alarm to test at night too. Maybe at +4, since he dropped so low at +4 for his morning shot.
 
I got 89 at +4,
and then +6 was 115
and just now the +9 which is 131. @Bron and Sheba (GA)

After the 89 at +4 I gave him a bowl of food (Fancy Feast grilled with gravy) which he completely finished. I thought that would give his body some little energy to get back above 100 which it did. Will test at +11.5 unless advised otherwise.
 
I think I might skip this shot and monitor throughout the day at the normal times (+6, PMPS etc). His BG is now at 218 at +12.5

He looks like he is going to bounce, so it might be safe to shoot. The other option is to shoot a token dose of say 1.5U. Just to get some insulin in and reduce the bouncing.
Does he have a history of ketones?
 
Thanks for the input! Never tested ketones on him, but I do have a ketone meter at home (for blood testing). I can test ketones throughout the day. Ok, will retest and go ahead and shoot a 1.5U

You don't have to test for ketones throughout the day. Once a week or so should be fine.
 
it's 226 at 13.5 and I gave him 1.5U
The previous depot will still affect this cycle so continue to test. You could start with a +2. You are now feeding only LC wet, right?

Your AM shot is 1.5 hours late this AM? You can make up the lost time by 15 minutes every cycle. So you shoot tonight 11:45 hours later and tomorrow AM after 11:45 hours. Do I make sense? See this sticky:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/getting-back-on-a-12-12-shot-schedule.101059/
 
What time did you actually shoot last night? (because you were already 1.5 hours behind due to stalling)

What time did you actually shoot this morning?
 
The previous depot will still affect this cycle so continue to test. You could start with a +2. You are now feeding only LC wet, right?

Your AM shot is 1.5 hours late this AM? You can make up the lost time by 15 minutes every cycle. So you shoot tonight 11:45 hours later and tomorrow AM after 11:45 hours. Do I make sense? See this sticky:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/getting-back-on-a-12-12-shot-schedule.101059/
Yes, makes sense!!

I will continue to test today, especially since he'd been hitting the lowest around +4 the past days. He only gets LC wet food now, I eliminated Dr.Elsie's LC kibble a few days ago and as @Chris & China (GA) pointed out, this must have had some effect on his BG.
 
I'd also urge you to go ahead and move over to the Lantus forum today. This thread is getting too long so you need to start a new one soon anyway. Might as well move over to the right insulin support group!

There, we post a little differently. Our subject lines are usually done in a certain format:

Date, Cat's name, AMPS ### ......then as the day goes on, as you get new tests, you edit the subject line and add the new results like "2/11, Jocke, AMPS 226, +2 ###, +5 ###, etc.. etc.

That makes it easy for people who are scanning the boards to quickly see how everybody is doing and if they see something that concerns them, they start with those posts first.

In the body of your post you can ask any questions you have, tell us how things are going generally, give the Whole Cat Report (how Jocke is doing basically...is he doing the 5 P's? Peeing, pooping, preening, playing, purring?)
 
I'd also urge you to go ahead and move over to the Lantus forum today. This thread is getting too long so you need to start a new one soon anyway. Might as well move over to the right insulin support group!

There, we post a little differently. Our subject lines are usually done in a certain format:

Date, Cat's name, AMPS ### ......then as the day goes on, as you get new tests, you edit the subject line and add the new results like "2/11, Jocke, AMPS 226, +2 ###, +5 ###, etc.. etc.

That makes it easy for people who are scanning the boards to quickly see how everybody is doing and if they see something that concerns them, they start with those posts first.

In the body of your post you can ask any questions you have, tell us how things are going generally, give the Whole Cat Report (how Jocke is doing basically...is he doing the 5 P's? Peeing, pooping, preening, playing, purring?)

Thanks @Chris & China (GA) I'll do that
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top