TYLER'S JOURNEY #26

Diane Tyler's Mom GA

Member Since 2018
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/tyler-journey-25.223393/
@MrWorfMen's Mom evening Linda
FRIDAY12-27-19
PMPS -117 shot 0.5 on the line
@+2.25- 93

Don't know if you saw this from the previous thread before you left today
MrWorfMen's Mom said:
  1. Fixed. Not enough coffee this AM. I think I slept too long!
    No it's me driving you crazy already, oh how I see you are looking forward to me changing to lantus and all the questions lol
    On Monday morning can you insert on the SS saying started Lantus like you did on using human meter, I wish I knew how to do it, is it easy enough for you to explain how to do it, I don't want to screw up the SS I will try to fit it in on my signature and SLGS, may not be enough room, you mentioned shortening the description of Tyler's spread sheet where my signature is so I can fit more info
 
Last edited:
Diane, you are not driving me crazy. You're trying to prepare as best you can for Tyler and I admire that. I would far rather have you ask the same question multiple times than not asking for clarification. Sometimes when we are explaining things here, we think we are being clear but we aren't or how we say things doesn't ring with the other person. I've been responsible for teaching different subject matter to all sorts of different folks over the years and I know one size does not fit all and an interested student who questions things is the best student.

I will make sure your spreadsheet reflects the change to Lantus. I'll make it for you tomorrow or Sunday and send you directions to fix the spreadsheet link in your signature to shorten it.

Hope you like Beth, got to "pass out" today!
 
Diane, you are not driving me crazy. You're trying to prepare as best you can for Tyler and I admire that. I would far rather have you ask the same question multiple times than not asking for clarification. Sometimes when we are explaining things here, we think we are being clear but we aren't or how we say things doesn't ring with the other person. I've been responsible for teaching different subject matter to all sorts of different folks over the years and I know one size does not fit all and an interested student who questions things is the best student.

I will make sure your spreadsheet reflects the change to Lantus. I'll make it for you tomorrow or Sunday and send you directions to fix the spreadsheet link in your signature to shorten it.

Hope you like Beth, got to "pass out" today!
Hey Linda thanks so much for being patient with me
Tested Tyler @+2.25- 93
Just a reminder when you fix the spreadsheet to reflect the change to Lantus it will be for Monday 12-30-19
I hope you had a nice visit with friends tonight @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
Had a lovely visit with my friends tonight.... a childless couple of kitty loving folks with two furry beauties of their own. We had a lovely dinner and then watched the Secret Life of Pets for some good belly laughs. This couple is responsible for my good fortune of having my middle fur kid and my diabetic so we share the same animal passion and it was a very relaxing and enjoyable time. I feel much better tonight than I did last night having been in a quiet like minded environment!:joyful:
 
Had a lovely visit with my friends tonight.... a childless couple of kitty loving folks with two furry beauties of their own. We had a lovely dinner and then watched the Secret Life of Pets for some good belly laughs. This couple is responsible for my good fortune of having my middle fur kid and my diabetic so we share the same animal passion and it was a very relaxing and enjoyable time. I feel much better tonight than I did last night having been in a quiet like minded environment!:joyful:
@MrWorfMen's Mom sounds like you had a really relaxing visit, so they are the folks that gave you your 2 kitties?
You better give me those brass b**ls again
SATURDAY 12-28-19
AMPS - 94 going with 0.25
@+1- 86 fed 6% carbs
@+3- 99 no food
@+4 Dr Esleys kibble
@+6- 134 no food

@MrWorfMen's Mom
 
Last edited:
Good dose choice Diane. You got this. You only get brass balls for your first green shot! :p You might get honoured again over in Lantus though 'cause I won't tell them you already received them.;):woot:

My friends had a feral colony of beautiful kitties that hung out around their place at times. In 2010, one of the very young females had kittens, and we happened to visit 5 days later. That morning the Mom had disappeared and left one kitten crying out in the grass. My friends waited for hours but it was a blustery rainy August day and quite cool so they eventually went to rescue the crying kitten. When we arrived to visit, we were immediately escorted into their sunroom to see this tiny furry creature hardly identifiable as a kitten. We had just lost a 16+ yr old girl about 5 days earlier so their question was, do you want him? Of course we said yes and the rest is history.

In the meantime, my girlfriend's Mom and Dad had adopted a stray and found out she was pregnant. By the time she had her kittens, I had decided our new little fella needed a kitty friend his own age (my old guy tried but just didn't know what to do with the kitten) and so we adopted one of those kittens (Menace) as a friend for Worf (the feral).
 
Good morning to you both :bighug::bighug: Won't be around much as today is Matt's last day here . We take him to KC to airport tomorrow :( It's been a good visit ❤️ Sending vines , hugs and prayers to your Saturday :bighug::bighug: And extra scritches to all the precious kitties :cat:
 
And Linda , I need to hear more ab Worf 's story starting out as a feral . Our little Tortie ,Boo , came as a wee kitten , pretty feral, has calmed a lot but if you have any tips that would be awesome ! Vet said she will always be a bit feral but I won't agree with that ❤️
 
Good dose choice Diane. You got this. You only get brass balls for your first green shot! :p You might get honoured again over in Lantus though 'cause I won't tell them you already received them.;):woot:

My friends had a feral colony of beautiful kitties that hung out around their place at times. In 2010, one of the very young females had kittens, and we happened to visit 5 days later. That morning the Mom had disappeared and left one kitten crying out in the grass. My friends waited for hours but it was a blustery rainy August day and quite cool so they eventually went to rescue the crying kitten. When we arrived to visit, we were immediately escorted into their sunroom to see this tiny furry creature hardly identifiable as a kitten. We had just lost a 16+ yr old girl about 5 days earlier so their question was, do you want him? Of course we said yes and the rest is history.

In the meantime, my girlfriend's Mom and Dad had adopted a stray and found out she was pregnant. By the time she had her kittens, I had decided our new little fella needed a kitty friend his own age (my old guy tried but just didn't know what to do with the kitten) and so we adopted one of those kittens (Menace) as a friend for Worf (the feral).
@MrWorfMen's Mom aww the crying kitten, broke my heart, that was Worf right .Where did you get Myster from
Beautiful story.
 
Last edited:
Sorry Beth but the vet may be right on the feral thing. My little guy still has a few traits that are very feral like but not excessively and I personally think they just make him a little more unique. I think some of it depends on how much "mom" time they actually had before being "rescued" and mine had only a few days so he was pretty much reared by humans. Worf is totally "kitty speak" illiterate. Doesn't easily pick up on another cat's cues that he's getting too rough or they don't want to participate in playtime and I sometimes have to intervene when he gets over excited. On the other hand, I have to say he is a very smart little guy and absolutely the most active and entertaining of my crew and he can be a cuddle bug when he wants to be but it's on his terms not mine.

How old is Boo? How old when she was rescued? I hope you realize tortie's have a reputation for having an attitude. :woot:
 
Curious about this. Didn't look to me like Elmo pulled any punches yesterday??
It was an odd pretty non eventful day ..had a few twists not reflected on his SS ....all in all pretty quiet . And yes , we have heard of a Tortie-tude. :joyful: She definitely has that . She came to us as a 4-6 week old, abandoned by momma under our deck and is now 2 ....she is very partial to Dan and he to her ❤️ We have her in laundry room during the day where she can see thru the French door glass and once Elmo is asleep on couch in evenings we let her run around . Once Elmo has moved on to Kitty Heaven she will have total freedom ...gets along well with Ben too but he gets along with everyone ❤️
 
Tyler has been lower at pre-shots the last few days and lesser doses have been needed. This has not escaped my attention. It may be better to start with 0.25u on the Lantus but let's see where he's at tomorrow before making a decision. With Lantus you can let Tyler drop to lower greens on TR and while I think you were going to start with SLGS, you test enough to do TR and I think if you did do TR, you might be able to get that boy over the hump of you know what
antijinx-emoticon.png
. Just food for thought and you have time to consider this. There is no rush.
 

Attachments

  • antijinx-emoticon.png
    antijinx-emoticon.png
    914 bytes · Views: 440
Tyler has been lower at pre-shots the last few days and lesser doses have been needed. This has not escaped my attention. It may be better to start with 0.25u on the Lantus but let's see where he's at tomorrow before making a decision. With Lantus you can let Tyler drop to lower greens on TR and while I think you were going to start with SLGS, you test enough to do TR and I think if you did do TR, you might be able to get that boy over the hump of you know what View attachment 50219 . Just food for thought and you have time to consider this. There is no rush.
I was only going to do SLGS because he does like the Dr Elsey's kibble which I am still giving him. I would really have to watch that when Perry eats his K/D dry I definitely have to pick it up sorry what does that symbol mean in red JINX does it mean possible remission

When looking at the sticky about TR reading about the increasing and reducing dose has me confused because there is so do, do this or do that
With TR do you follow what it says monitor closely for the first 3 days
and monitor @+3 +6 and +9 or more if needed?

Hold dose for 5-7 days unless numbers tell otherwise

I'm so sorry for all these questions Like you said about the starting dose we can see what he does tomorrow

Now just want to make sure I have the following right
If pre shot is below 90 I can stall for 30 minutes without feeding to see if his BG is coming up on its own or I can choose to shoot lower number if I can monitor/ we cxan cross that bridge if it happens

Posting on lantus condo I know what to do I wrote it down

Test feed shoot all done in 10-15 minutes as long as I know he will eat
Doesn't have to finish before shot

Stay as close to 12 hour dosing I have 30 minutes leeway with shots each day one can be done 30 minutes early or late or both shots can be moved by 15 minutes

Do not roll or shake pen, always push the plunger to the top of the syringe before inserting
Into pen and drawing insulin so no air gets in it

If I go with SLGS do you still hold dose for 7 days unless a reduction or increase is needed?

Looking at his SS now since switching to human meter where would you say he is hitting
his nadir

I know you are keeping a close eye on his SS and I thank you from the bottom of my heart tested @+3- 99 no food


I know you said I'm worrying to much but please don't get aggravated with me ok @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
Last edited:
Unless you can get the Dr. E's out of the pic, TR is not an option. I just think TR would be a faster path to the "r" word (that's what the anti jinx is for!) but it's still possible to do with SLGS. Just start with SLGS and don't start worrying about TR now. Worry about that if and when you can get Tyler to give up his Dr. E's. Get used to the Lantus first. Tyler's nadir right now is somewhere between +3 and +5 usually but he is so flat across the cycle it's hard to tell exactly a lot of the time. With Lantus, nadir is usually a bit later, closer to mid cycle for many cats. Don't get tied in knots about the change. You've got the basics and that gives you a good start already. The rest you'll pick up as you go.
 
@MrWorfMen's Mom hey Linda
SATURDAY 12-28-19
PMPS - 123. How about 0.5 on the line
I read what you said about TR
After he finishes the last of the kibbles , that's it, first of all its to expensive and my credit card is up there
He will just have to settle for the wet
When you say he is so flat across the cycle , it's a good flat right?
As soon as these damn kibbles are gone I will let you know @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
Flat is good when numbers are as low as Tyler is. They aren't so good when kitty is running in the higher BG ranges as then they generally suggest a dose increase is needed. When in lower range numbers (green especially) we refer to that as surfing and surfing is wonderful.
 
Flat is good when numbers are as low as Tyler is. They aren't so good when kitty is running in the higher BG ranges as then they generally suggest a dose increase is needed. When in lower range numbers (green especially) we refer to that as surfing and surfing is wonderful.
@MrWorfMen's Mom OK thanks Linda going with 0.5 tonight
and I'm not going to go all crazy about everything, like you said day by day I have you to help me :bighug: and if you are out partying one night lol lol or have to be at curling I can always ask for help. If we don't talk later I will catch you in the am
Oh when did you say you resume curling @MrWorfMen's Mom
Just found it lol
Have an all day competition out of town on Jan 4th and then regular curling sessions start again on the 5th.
 
Last edited:
Curling on Jan 4th out of town but should be home by your shot time and then regular curling starts up again on Sunday Jan 5 and will be every week till early April.
I'm pretty much partied out for now. Two days in a row is enough for me. Got New Year's Day to contend with (SIL and BF will be here) but I have that planned out already so shouldn't be too much of a fiasco.
 
Curling on Jan 4th out of town but should be home by your shot time and then regular curling starts up again on Sunday Jan 5 and will be every week till early April.
I'm pretty much partied out for now. Two days in a row is enough for me. Got New Year's Day to contend with (SIL and BF will be here) but I have that planned out already so shouldn't be too much of a fiasco.
@MrWorfMen's Mom oh boy both of them will be there, glad you have it planned out already so it's not a fiasco. Sunday night I will let you know what time I plan to shoot , probably 8:30 will be his schedule. Will talk to you later, you are a Saint ! @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
@MrWorfMen's Mom just a reminder, which I'm sure you didn't forget
Don't want to be a pain
Too lazy to write so I just copied this from when we spoke about

I will make sure your spreadsheet reflects the change to Lantus. I'll make it for you tomorrow or Sunday and send you directions to fix the spreadsheet link in your signature to shorten it.
I guess you can do it after I shoot tonight
 
It's Ok Diane. It's on my to do list for today. :)
Thanks Linda I don't want to sound bossy, you do see I can be overwhelming, my mind just doesn't stop. I wish I knew how to do the insert thing on the SS
on my tablet, is it that hard, I'm always afraid to do things on the SS in case I screw it up or make it disappear
 
@Beth 73 morning Beth tomorrow is the big day lol
Diane, you are so well prepared and it's going to work out so well ❤️ Felt just like you when I switched but with all the support you and Tyler are going to do great !!! You know I'm actually a LAntus newbie myself cos only started using it in August ...
 
Diane, you are so well prepared and it's going to work out so well ❤️ Felt just like you when I switched but with all the support you and Tyler are going to do great !!! You know I'm actually a LAntus newbie myself cos only started using it in August ...
@Beth 73 I should have seen that in your signature about how kind Elmo has been on lantus, so it's only been about 5 months that he is on lantus
 
The spreadsheet now has a line added to indicate the start of Lantus tomorrow.

To change your signature link to the spreadsheet, copy the long spreadsheet link currently in your signature. Type "Tyler's Spreadsheet", make it Bold if you want and select it.
Click on the chain icon
Chain icon.PNG
and a box like this opens.
Link Box.PNG

Paste the link you copied into the URL box and click on Insert.
Your link to the spreadsheet should then be Tyler's Spreadsheet. Check the new link and when it's working, then delete the long URL from your signature to allow more room for other info.
Any issues, let me know. :)
 

Attachments

  • Chain icon.PNG
    Chain icon.PNG
    965 bytes · Views: 441
  • Link Box.PNG
    Link Box.PNG
    54.1 KB · Views: 431
The spreadsheet now has a line added to indicate the start of Lantus tomorrow.

To change your signature link to the spreadsheet, copy the long spreadsheet link currently in your signature. Type "Tyler's Spreadsheet", make it Bold if you want and select it.
Click on the chain icon View attachment 50247 and a box like this opens. View attachment 50248
Paste the link you copied into the URL box and click on Insert.
Your link to the spreadsheet should then be Tyler's Spreadsheet. Check the new link and when it's working, then delete the long URL from your signature to allow more room for other info.
Any issues, let me know. :)
OK I will give it a try thank you Linda @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug: It's a Lantus Eve at the House of Diane ❤️ To this day I still can be tempted to look at my AM or PMPS as to whether I should increase or decrease a dose . It's been a hard habit to break even now . You will get use to looking at Tyler's nadir to determine dosage . And Lantus Board has good guidelines ...I wrote them out in large index cards and taped inside cabinet where I keep cat food for quick reference . If I see it , I remember it . You are and will do great , Diane ❤️
 
Back
Top