Two different BG readings within minutes - not sure which is valid

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathleen and Jerry

Member Since 2021
I just took Jerry’s PMPS BG and it was 184. This seems too good to be true as he’s been in the 400’s, so I took a second check with a new test strip. It was 285 the second time. I’m using Advocate Pet Test meter. Question is to shoot or not or shoot? Or shoot with reduced dose?
 
Hi Kathleen, I am not a vetsulin user so I can’t really help. The two numbers are a bit far apart for meter variance.
What did you decide to do?
One thing I would say though is you need to be doing more testing during the cycles. You don’t have any tests at all in the pm cycle and that is half the data not there. You need to get at least one test in during each pm cycle if you can to keep Jerry safe.
Vetsulin hits hard and fast and without testing you have no idea what is happening from one dose to the next.
Are you feeding 1/2 hour before giving the dose? And also giving snacks during the cycles?
Do you have a hypo kit set up?
Bron
 
Hi Bron, thank you for responding. I have fed him and waiting to try again. I tried to test this afternoon but had trouble getting a sample from his ears. He is very tolerant and sweet but also knows the meter “beep” sound when I insert the test strip and takes off. Trying to give treats after test so he associates it less with the ear prick. It’s getting harder. I think I’m going to skip tonight’s dose to be safe. He has been having a good day from behavior observations - playing with toys, not using the litter box much, drinking much water or acting hungry.
 
He is very tolerant and sweet but also knows the meter “beep” sound when I insert the test strip and takes off. Trying to give treats after test so he associates it less with the ear prick. It’s getting harder. I

You might try spending some time conditioning him to the "beep". Using his favorite (low carb) treat, sit on the floor with him or next to him on the bed (or wherever there's room for both of you) and keep putting a strip in the meter to make it beep, then give a treat. Beep again, treat again, beep/treat, etc....it shouldn't take him long to associate the beep with the treat (it's the same thing as clicker training but using a "beep" instead of a click)
 
Hi Kathleen, I am not a vetsulin user so I can’t really help. The two numbers are a bit far apart for meter variance.
What did you decide to do?
One thing I would say though is you need to be doing more testing during the cycles. You don’t have any tests at all in the pm cycle and that is half the data not there. You need to get at least one test in during each pm cycle if you can to keep Jerry safe.
Vetsulin hits hard and fast and without testing you have no idea what is happening from one dose to the next.
Are you feeding 1/2 hour before giving the dose? And also giving snacks during the cycles?
Do you have a hypo kit set up?
Bron
I do have a hypo kit of tiki cat 20% carb and Caro syrup along with plenty of test strips
 
I tried sitting with him on the sofa just now which he liked at first but just took off again. I think I will skip the dose tonight and try to test again in the morning. I don’t like the idea that the 184 number was correct, giving him insulin and going to bed any time soon. The lowest reading we’ve had is +4.5 after Vetsulin. 4.5 hours will be the middle of the night where we are. Thanks for the responses I think you’re right - I don’t have enough data points to determine if it’s safe to dose him.
 
You might try spending some time conditioning him to the "beep". Using his favorite (low carb) treat, sit on the floor with him or next to him on the bed (or wherever there's room for both of you) and keep putting a strip in the meter to make it beep, then give a treat. Beep again, treat again, beep/treat, etc....it shouldn't take him long to associate the beep with the treat (it's the same thing as clicker training but using a "beep" instead of a click)
Thank you Chris - I’ll work on this with him!
 
Hi Bron, thank you for responding. I have fed him and waiting to try again. I tried to test this afternoon but had trouble getting a sample from his ears. He is very tolerant and sweet but also knows the meter “beep” sound when I insert the test strip and takes off. Trying to give treats after test so he associates it less with the ear prick. It’s getting harder. I think I’m going to skip tonight’s dose to be safe. He has been having a good day from behavior observations - playing with toys, not using the litter box much, drinking much water or acting hungry.
Hi. You can mute the beep. I had the same issue with Jade. The noise really upset her. I use the AlphaTrak but I’m sure there’s a way to mute the one you have as well. Maybe see if there’s instructions online if you have thrown away the directions.
 
Is there a way to turn off the beep when you insert the strip.
Mine doesn't beep, like Bron mentioned you really need to be testing during the night cycles ,you dont have any. Need to keep Jerry safe.
Good luck with the testing :cat:
 
There is No way to turn off the beep. But I’m trying to change methods and having some success with that. More importantly I’m skeptical and have lost some confidence in the accuracy of the meter. Seems concerning that the readings could be so different within minutes. I may try another one. Seems like many here use Alpha Trak. Then I am still unclear on if I should give him a dose if he’s below 200. It sounds like that may be too hard to answer without more data on how he reacts to each dose.
 
There is No way to turn off the beep. But I’m trying to change methods and having some success with that. More importantly I’m skeptical and have lost some confidence in the accuracy of the meter. Seems concerning that the readings could be so different within minutes. I may try another one. Seems like many here use Alpha Trak. Then I am still unclear on if I should give him a dose if he’s below 200. It sounds like that may be too hard to answer without more data on how he reacts to each dose.
I use the AlphaTrak and altho it's more expensive for the test strips, I like it a lot. You can get cheaper test strips that work with it but it seems like it's not super accurate and I like to be able to trust the numbers AND you can mute it. I wish I could give you dosing advice,but that is way beyond mt knowledge. Will be sending good juju to you and Jerry tho!!
 
There is No way to turn off the beep. But I’m trying to change methods and having some success with that. More importantly I’m skeptical and have lost some confidence in the accuracy of the meter. Seems concerning that the readings could be so different within minutes. I may try another one. Seems like many here use Alpha Trak. Then I am still unclear on if I should give him a dose if he’s below 200. It sounds like that may be too hard to answer without more data on how he reacts to each dose.
Hi Kathleen I'll tag @JanetNJ
for you about your dosing method
Why don't you think about switching to a human meter that's what our numbers are based on
You can go to Walmart and pick up The Relion Premier Classic 9 dollars
17.88 for 100 test strips or order it online
Are you poking with 26 or 28 gauge lancets
 
Hi Kathleen I'll tag @JanetNJ
for you about your dosing method
Why don't you think about switching to a human meter that's what our numbers are based on
You can go to Walmart and pick up The Relion Premier Classic 9 dollars
17.88 for 100 test strips or order it online
Are you poking with 26 or 28 gauge lancets
Thanks Diane. They are 21 gauge lancets. They work okay but one of his ears seems more “stubborn” than the other.
 
There is No way to turn off the beep. But I’m trying to change methods and having some success with that. More importantly I’m skeptical and have lost some confidence in the accuracy of the meter. Seems concerning that the readings could be so different within minutes. I may try another one. Seems like many here use Alpha Trak. Then I am still unclear on if I should give him a dose if he’s below 200. It sounds like that may be too hard to answer without more data on how he reacts to each dose.
if he's below 200 at a preshot, stall without feeding for up to an hour and see if the number is going up. If it is then it's usually safe... if not going up sugnificantly you could skip or reduce the dose.
 
Can you get a before bed test in in the evening? You may need a slight increase but I'm cautious to advise that withought a bit more data
Hi Janet,

Yes, I will. I thought his nadir was at about +4 - 4.5 hours, but have been suspicious of high numbers in the mornings. I just checked him at +6 and he is at 85. I gave him some treats and will recheck shortly. My suspicion is that he may be getting too low at night and perhaps bouncing. Not sure yet. Typically during the day, I will feed small snacks, but without those, could he be getting too low at between +6 and +8? Then bouncing by the time I do the first pre-meal/pre-shot check in the mornings? I just ordered some Young Again Zero pet food also.
 
Jerry was 80 at +6.5 - still quite low even after treats. Will test again before PM dose 2 hours from now but contemplating a decreased dose now. It will depend on the PMPS number. Let me know if you think otherwise @JanetNJ
 
Yes any drop below 90 on Vetsulin is an automatic reduction of 0.25U.

Can you try to get some +2 to +4 tests in over the next few cycles? You say you think his nadir is around +4, but recently there aren't enough early cycle tests to really tell.
 
Thank you! Will try retesting at +2 and +4 as the situation allows. The vetsulin seems to be lasting longer today for some reason. Will reduce tonight’s dose then.
 
Hi Janet,

Yes, I will. I thought his nadir was at about +4 - 4.5 hours, but have been suspicious of high numbers in the mornings. I just checked him at +6 and he is at 85. I gave him some treats and will recheck shortly. My suspicion is that he may be getting too low at night and perhaps bouncing. Not sure yet. Typically during the day, I will feed small snacks, but without those, could he be getting too low at between +6 and +8? Then bouncing by the time I do the first pre-meal/pre-shot check in the mornings? I just ordered some Young Again Zero pet food also.
Ahhh yes. Definitly doesn't need an increase.
 
I only got four tests today. His ears seemed to have toughened up and it’s hard to get even a small sample. I went through four test strips in one attempt. Frustrating day for that for Jerry and I. His numbers were up again when did test but he seemed to feel better.
 
I only got four tests today. His ears seemed to have toughened up and it’s hard to get even a small sample. I went through four test strips in one attempt. Frustrating day for that for Jerry and I. His numbers were up again when did test but he seemed to feel better.
A tip - I wait til I can get a blood drop the size of about the ball on a ballpoint pen, that should be enough and save some wasted strips
 
A tip - I wait til I can get a blood drop the size of about the ball on a ballpoint pen, that should be enough and save some wasted strips
Thanks Melissa. It just seems sometimes I have to prick and prick his ear even to get a small sample. I can see some shininess, but it's not enough. Then I'll have to stick him pretty hard and get a mess and unhappy cat. I try to softly massage his ear before the first attempt. Sometimes he'll shake his head before I can get the meter to the sample and flicks it off - ugh! And then his ear seems to "hardens" up and become more stubborn. I've tried using one ear one day, then the other ear the next. I am freelancing and have watched videos, so I think my process is fairly similar to those I've watched. I'm willing to accept it's operator error on my part and he's pretty calm and cooperative, it just seems very arduous of a process at times. I'm not sure if there is anything else to try.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top