Tucker dosing thread 9

Let me look at the SS first.
So, Tucker gave me an 88 today.. I reduced my decrease dose threshold to 80. Should I keep him at 2.25 until he drops lower than 80?
Tucker does not seem to be a cat that holds on to the lower BG numbers, if you reduce his dose at the normal <90 mg/dL level for SLGS.
So your plan sounds reasonable to me.

I'd feel better if you were consistently getting a "before bed" test every PM cycle.

With 3 of the ultrasound people at work out because of covid, that must put a larger burden on the remaining staff, you included.
Take good care of yourself Jami.
 
Geez.. AMPS 145, stalled 143.. eek, so close! Tucker, why do you teeter on these levels! I went ahead and gave a dose of 0.3u. It was close enough to that 150bg for giving a token dose. 0.5 would have been a 25% decrease, so I guess I gave a teaser dose, LOL

I'd feel better if you were consistently getting a "before bed" test every PM cycle.
I know.. You're trying to help me but I'm not doing my part.. sowwy!! :facepalm: I've slacked off these last few days. I'll make sure to get those tests in!

We did celebrate last night. It was Bills birthday yesterday, so, we had a few adult beverages.:rolleyes:

With 3 of the ultrasound people at work out because of covid, that must put a larger burden on the remaining staff, you included.
Take good care of yourself Jami.
Thank you! With this surge of positive covid patients, I wish that PPL would do their part and just stay home!! Our waiting rooms are getting packed again. We except walk-ins for xrays, ultrasounds, mammograms and CT scans.. so, these ppl show up and pack the rooms. Masks are a good idea, but they dont help, its like trying to stop a mosquito from entering a chain link fence. I just worry because I have Multiple Sclerosis. I've been in remission for 10 years now, but, my immune system is already compromised because of it. Ugh.. whatever, I'm done venting, LOL :mad:
 
Geez.. AMPS 145, stalled 143.. eek, so close! Tucker, why do you teeter on these levels! I went ahead and gave a dose of 0.3u. It was close enough to that 150bg for giving a token dose. 0.5 would have been a 25% decrease, so I guess I gave a teaser dose, LOL
Things seem to be moving in a new direction - those lower blue pre-shots (YAY!!) Stalling is going to be your friend - it's scary, but each time you give a little more and a little more on those lower numbers (and are available to test and see how he does) shooting those lower numbers will help keep Tucker in those good numbers that we're all routing for! Go Tucker Go!!
Ugh.. whatever, I'm done venting, LOL :mad:
NO, not whatever! You are amazing and have every right to feel this way :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Things seem to be moving in a new direction - those lower blue pre-shots (YAY!!) Stalling is going to be your friend - it's scary, but each time you give a little more and a little more on those lower numbers (and are available to test and see how he does) shooting those lower numbers will help keep Tucker in those good numbers that we're all routing for! Go Tucker Go!!
I hope so!! I almost skipped the shot! BUT, youre right! Shooting those low numbers will keep him IN those low numbers!
NO, not whatever! You are amazing and have every right to feel this way :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Aww! OHmigosh.. Thank you hon! Sometimes I just feel fed-up.. like the rest of us! :bighug::bighug:
 
I hope so!! I almost skipped the shot! BUT, youre right! Shooting those low numbers will keep him IN those low numbers!
"Shoot low to stay low."

Sometimes I just feel fed-up.. like the rest of us!
Pandemic fatigue setting in? No, I don't see you doing that and relaxing your self-care. You like yourself and your family too much to simply "give up" and throw in the towel.
Ugh.. whatever, I'm done venting, LOL
I hope not. Vent away. We not only give dosing recommendations, but try to keep things positive and help you through the stressful times of life.

Did I share the story of my "possessed" sewing machine? This happened about 10 days ago, and I wrote this in an email to a friend.

"My sewing machine was "possessed" this morning and needed a "ritual" to get it free. When I went to stop sewing, the machine kept going! I kid you not! I leaped up and hurried to turn off the light switch, which controls the power outlet, to get the machine to stop. The foot pedal was stuck and needed some taking apart and putting back together. Well, at least I got that ripped seam in one of my mesh laundry bags fixed after fixing the sewing machine. But first, I had to cut the bag free from the foot treadle and the gobs of mesh needed to be cut out of those little teeth that move the fabric along. What a mess.

After that fiasco, I ended up hand sewing a ripped shoulder seam in one of my tops. It was quicker than changing out the bobbin and then re-threading the sewing machine with a new color of thread. Plus, I wasn't going to take the risk of the machine starting up, while I was threading the machine needle. No punctured fingers needed here, thank you very much."

Hope you get a chuckle out of that story.
 
Shoot low to stay low.
Ok, question, I've seen some other SS where kitty drops below 150, yet they still give the full dose in insulin. Since Tucker doesn't enjoy staying in the blues or greens, should I do the same? Instead of giving a fraction of his dose, should I give full amount?
Pandemic fatigue setting in? No, I don't see you doing that and relaxing your self-care. You like yourself and your family too much to simply "give up" and throw in the towel.
Yes! LOL Fatigue away here! Its almost like the pandemic doesn't exist in the city where I work. (Kansas city Kansas) The numbers are skyrocketing, the hospitals are packed and ppl are just going about their merry way. I guess I should just be thankful that I/We still have a job.. right? Most businesses are shut down, food lines and long, families are going hungry. I need to do something.. hmm I'll stick a pin in this for now :)
I hope not. Vent away. We not only give dosing recommendations, but try to keep things positive and help you through the stressful times of life.
Thank you so much for this!! :bighug:
What the heck happened with your sewing machine! OH MY GOODNESS!! HAHAA. I could just see you jumping up saying "No NO No NOOO!!! What the heck"
LMAO!!! I just looked up funny sewing machine memes and found this!! How hilarious!!
upload_2020-11-29_6-57-30.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-11-29_6-57-30.png
    upload_2020-11-29_6-57-30.png
    140.4 KB · Views: 384
So, my last PT appt is tomorrow. My therapist Kellie, has done an amazing job with me. Also, she made me a lot of money, LOL! She ordered quite a bit of crochet items from me, 3 Patrick Mahomes hats, 2 baby yoda stuffies, plus her coworker ordered 2 Mahomes hats as well.
She is obsessed with Sloths so, I made her a little sloth for a thank you gift. Isn't he adorable!! hehe!!
The Mahomes hats look like a wig. Regular beanie with a red brim (head band) then I made thick brown yarn pop out of the top like hair.
20201128_120919.jpg
 

Attachments

  • 20201128_120919.jpg
    20201128_120919.jpg
    56 KB · Views: 239
Last edited:
Oh wow! You're gonna need PT for your wrists with all that tight amigurumi work!! :woot:
I just looked up funny sewing machine memes and found this!! How hilarious!!
Priceless!! I can picture it too :p

Unicorn hat someone ordered from my sister (not quite finished yet).....she wasn't too happy when I told her I thought it looked like a cat with a problem to me :eek:
 

Attachments

  • Unicorn Hat.jpg
    Unicorn Hat.jpg
    116 KB · Views: 289
Oh wow! You're gonna need PT for your wrists with all that tight amigurumi work!! :woot:

Priceless!! I can picture it too :p

Unicorn hat someone ordered from my sister (not quite finished yet).....she wasn't too happy when I told her I thought it looked like a cat with a problem to me :eek:
A cat with a problem!! HAHAHA!! OH my goodness!! That is so pretty!! She did a great job so far!!
I could have used your sewing talents to sew on all the legs on my sloth!! HAHA!!
 
Last edited:
238 PMPS, dose reduction to 2.0. Sigh.. Tucker doesn't seem to like 2.0u very much. He always bounces back to the yellows.. Perhaps I should have kept him steady at 2.25? Even with the 60bg?? I need a FDBM angel on my shoulder 24 7 LOL!! Should I increase him back to 2.25 in the morning? 11/30?
 
Ok, question, I've seen some other SS where kitty drops below 150, yet they still give the full dose in insulin. Since Tucker doesn't enjoy staying in the blues or greens, should I do the same? Instead of giving a fraction of his dose, should I give full amount?
Yes. Tucker was close enough to 150, you have plenty of test data, and you know how to monitor. So yes is the answer to your question, to give the full amount.

Should I increase him back to 2.25 in the morning? 11/30?
Instead of a full 0.25U decrease, you could have tried a "skinny" 2.25U this evening, knowing that Tucker does not hold reductions well.
Your second option would have been to keep the 2.25U dose this evening, even though he "officially" earned a reduction in dose with that BG of 60.
You might have wound up doing a pajama party this evening, if you had given him the full dose. Not sure if you were ready for staying up late, or setting an alarm to test this PM.

@Shelley & Jess Catitude cat!

p.s. I DID leap up from my cranky old sewing machine, to switch it off. That sewing machine must be at least 45 years old, and it wasn't new when I bought it.
 
Jami, you did great in deciding to shoot a larger dose for Tucker today, when you had that lower than expected AMPS.
Yes, Tucker still jumped up to the pink range BG levels. But he took longer to bounce up there, than he did when you gave that "token dose" (aka a"big chicken shot") of 0.3U on 11/28/20 AMPS.

Confidence, Jami. You are gaining confidence in your management of feline diabetes for Tucker.

You could record that as a 2F (F = fat dose) on the SS. Or keep it as 2.1U. Your choice. I kind of like seeing the "squinch" you recorded!
 
AMPS 321 2F shot.

Thank you!! First thing yesterday morning when I got up, I read your reply to my question about shooting when he's below 150. I think the key for him is to be more aggressive. It was scary at first, but, he did very good with that dose when he was that low.. like you said "shoot low to stay low" I had PT at 10am yesterday.. normally I run over to Joanns afterwards, since its right next door, but, I shot home to get some more tests.
"token dose" (aka a"big chicken shot")
It IS a 'big chicken shot'! Especially since I was home all day with him.:facepalm: I should've asked about shooting low a long time ago since I've been stalking other ppls SS's. BTW.. I like the 2F.. I'll use that from now on!

Confidence, Jami. You are gaining confidence in your management of feline diabetes for Tucker
At first I was trying to be 100% by the book.. I have the "rules" posted on the cabinet.. but, ECID.
That sewing machine must be at least 45 years old, and it wasn't new when I bought it.
Holy cow!! Is it a Singer?? Those things are like Toyotas.. they run forever! I'd LOVE to have a sewing machine! I might save up the money I make from my crochet biz to buy one!
 
54bg @ +6 What should I do with dosing tonight??
@Deb & Wink @JanetNJ @Shelley & Jess
.. I reduced my decrease dose threshold to 80.
Tucker does not seem to be a cat that holds on to the lower BG numbers, if you reduce his dose at the normal <90 mg/dL level for SLGS.
So your plan sounds reasonable to me.

If you don't hear from Deb or Janet to recommend otherwise, follow the protocol:

"Anytime the BG drops below 90 mg/dL, (or in Tuckers case drops below 80 mg/dl), reduce the dose by 0.25u at the next shot."

Also, recommend a small snack and getting another test @ +6.5 to make sure he doesn't drop more.
 
Ok.. PMPS 101, stalled 30 min 105 bg Skip shot.. Im comfortable with giving a shot at 140 , but, 105? Especially with his numbers being in the greens all day. I hope I made the right decision.
@Shelley & Jess Thank you for adding in all the additional information for me when I was freaking out! I appreciate you my friend!!
@JanetNJ Thank you for taking your time to help me!! I appreciate all of you!! ((HUGS))
 
Ok.. PMPS 101, stalled 30 min 105 bg Skip shot.. Im comfortable with giving a shot at 140 , but, 105? Especially with his numbers being in the greens all day. I hope I made the right decision.
@Shelley & Jess Thank you for adding in all the additional information for me when I was freaking out! I appreciate you my friend!!
@JanetNJ Thank you for taking your time to help me!! I appreciate all of you!! ((HUGS))
Skip. It's safer.
 
AMPS 163 1.75u.. I'm working today and tomorrow.. Tomorrow is the day I'm going to worry about with Tucker dropping into those greens! Bill won't test. So.. I'm going to be sitting at work freaking out :nailbiting:

SO, I buy in bulk FF off Amazon. The last shipment I got.. I dont know what the heck is up with it but my cats just sniff it and walk a way. I went to order some more FF in a different flavor, but, it looks like nothing is in stock to ship for a couple weeks. I ended up buying Blue Buffalo Wilderness which should be delivered Dec 5th.. Looks like the carb content is only 3%.. Is wet cat food going to end up like the toilet paper shortage of 2020!?!?!?

Cats do that, as their bodies adjust to getting those lows more often.
Exciting! Looks like he's heading in the right direction!!
 
Back
Top