Tucker dosing thread 7

LoveforTucker

Member Since 2020
Previous thread @Deb & Wink
Wooooo!!! AMPS 10/7 110 bg stalled for 15 min 116bg. No shot, fed as normal.

Today is my "Friday". I took off Thursday and Friday, plus I have my usual Monday off. I'll be able to do a good round of testing tomorrow, then on Friday when I go to physical therapy Ill pick up some more test strips.
 
Last edited:
Next step up in dose would be 2.25U Jami.
We increase by 0.25U if the nadirs are between 100-200.

If it wasn't for that low of 110 on the 7th, I might agree with a 0.5U increase. But personally I think a smaller increase is warranted here.

p.s. 243 and another 243 and another 243? Sheer chance, but what a coincidence!
 
Hopefully Tucker will get back on track and get "with the program" and give you some blues and green BG's again with the dose increase. Come on Tucker! Show us some blues! Blues are awesome Tucker! Don't you want to show your mom Jami what a good boy you are?

My family speaks "Jami" its a hard language to understand
So is that like Esperanto or Klingon or High Elvish? Or some sort of communication code where you don't even have to say something and someone instantly understands by your expression or stance? Or they complete your sentences for you without even trying?

We just like to clarify things here, so we understand better.:D
We're "hip" with that kind of thing.

p.s. Forgive the bad pun. Hope your real hip is feeling better.;)
 
Hopefully Tucker will get back on track and get "with the program" and give you some blues and green BG's again with the dose increase. Come on Tucker! Show us some blues! Blues are awesome Tucker! Don't you want to show your mom Jami what a good boy you are?
I hope so!!
AMPS 219. 2.25u.

So is that like Esperanto or Klingon or High Elvish? Or some sort of communication code where you don't even have to say something and someone instantly understands by your expression or stance? Or they complete your sentences for you without even trying?
HAHAHAAA!! Klingon, how funny, but, yes basically! IF someone can complete my sentences all the time for me I would LOVE that!! I have a problem with saying silly things that doesn't make any sense, but, people that know me well.. well, get me. Like, "Oh, dont step in that muddle of pud." Or, would you like a "wottle of bater" Ugh.. the struggle is real. :D Word fishing has been a problem for years so has memory issues.

We just like to clarify things here, so we understand better.:D
We're "hip" with that kind of thing.
I totally get that! I need to review what I write before I post so I dont give the wrong information.

Haha.. love the pun! Thank you though!!
 
10/12 AMPS 408 2.25 u
I wasn't able to get mid cycle tests yesterday. We left town to visit my husbands parents for the day.
Human family members are important too.

I see that Tucker "touched" the blue zone today. Not very far into that range, but still a blue and worthy of a celebration.
Tucker had a 50% drop on his dose today, which is about all you want him to have drop during the cycle.
Here's hoping he clears the bounce subsequent to his blue today, and clears it quickly.
 
I was VERY excited to see a blue zone again! Its been awhile!
Speaking of family! My son Cole is coming down this weekend to visit!! Its been a little while since I've seen him. I'm SO excited! I feel like this funk I've been in has been lifted! :woot:
 
Glad your son will be visiting to cheer you up.

Some tests in the PM cycle are important, to let you know what is going on then. Without those tests, you are missing half your data as someone else on here says repeatedly. Even 1 more test in the PM, before you head to bed would help. I'm guessing the PM post shot tests stopped around the time your hip started bothering you?

Will your hip let you do those evening tests right now? Or are you too stiff and in pain? Or perhaps how about getting someone else in the family to help you test Tucker?

Are you back to work already?

Looks to me like Tucker did clear that bounce up to the red zone, and quickly. Yeah Tucker!
 
Eeek!! Sorry I didn't see your post! I was having computer problems at home. I was using the SS app on my phone to enter in his info. Everything is fine now!
Some tests in the PM cycle are important
I was just thinking about that this morning. I really need to start getting those tests in again!
Yes, when I get home from work my hip really bothers me. BUT, its not to the point where I cant test Tucker. Poor guy, I haven't been doing a good job to help him. You're right.. I'm missing half the data that he needs to have.

My son Cole is going to stay the night on Saturday. Meaning that Tucker is going to freak out.. like, vet freak out. He has the worst stranger danger! He's normally only around Bill and I. I'm curious to see what his BG's will be over the weekend.
 
Wasn't the Nike slogan "Just do it?" Maybe you are too young to remember that ad campaign, but you can still make "Just do it" your new motto for life
Yes! I remember that.. I had to google it. LOL It was 1988 when that slogan was introduced. I was 11.
My motto is "Treasure Every Day."
Absolutely. We aren't guaranteed tomorrow. Thats a great motto to live by Deb!!

I was excited to see 2 blues yesterday!! YAY Tucker! Here's hoping for some good numbers today as well!

The weather has been crazy hasn't it! I ONLY think we had maybe one or two thunderstorms that I remember (when you get banana (my brain) involved you know that number could change HAHA) Normally here in MO we get a lot of storms and tornado sirens. I'm just wondering what its going to be like this fall. Lots of black wooly worms. I know theres a significance with that.. just cant remember. HAHA.. That should be MY slogan.. "Sorry, I cant remember!" :rolleyes:
 
Last edited:
PMPS 544.. sigh.. He did get into the greens today, 89, which lead me to reduce the dose tonight to 2.0. I know I decided to lower his dose threshold to 80, but, I decided to just go with it.
What a bounce! A huge GIANT bounce up to the blacks.
Agree with @Shelley & Jess that Tucker looks much better in blue.

Come back down Tucker old man.

How is the visit with your son Cole going? Tucker still hiding?
 
What a bounce! A huge GIANT bounce up to the blacks.
I know it!! What the heck. I even retested just to make sure and yep.. Blacks. He fell pretty quickly to the reds though. Same AMPS of 411 than last test of 411 last nights+1
He's going to take some time to get those numbers back down again. I still need to see about getting Lantus. I'm thinking he might respond better.. Is the dosing protocol the same as Prozinc??
How is the visit with your son Cole going? Tucker still hiding?
Cole is going to come down next Saturday.. I had a monster migraine the other day and had to cancel.. Thank goodness we decided not to go to the zoo as well!
 
I wasn't able to get a lot of tests.. but, I knew Tucker was still settling with his huge bounce.
Better this evening. Back down to the pinks.
Bet he is back down to the yellows by the AM pre-shot on 10/20/20.

Sorry to hear about your migraine and the postponed visit by your son. Next weekend.
What kind of fun PT exercises do they have you doing? Leg lifts to build up strength? Stretching?
 
Better this evening. Back down to the pinks.
Bet he is back down to the yellows by the AM pre-shot on 10/20/20.
Yes! Last time on 10/5, when he gave me a black, he seemed to bounce back fairly quickly. :( I was hoping to see some yellows.. This am he still gave me a red 409.
Sorry to hear about your migraine and the postponed visit by your son. Next weekend.
Thank you.. Its been a long time since I had one. I'm actually planning on going to visit my parents this coming Saturday. Cole lives with them for now. It'll be nice to see them all again.
What kind of fun PT exercises do they have you doing? Leg lifts to build up strength? Stretching?
Yes!! Leg lifts, bridges, heel slides (lie on my back, slide foot down until leg is straight, then slide back up again).. ya know.. all the fun things LOL :D

Back to work today. I'm only working Tues and Wed this week.. I took Thurs and Fri off. Trying to burn all my paid time off by the end of the year.
 
I just looked back at our older XL version of the spreadsheet. Our vet was super conservative, started us out at 0.5u, didn't recommend home testing, "not necessary" (but I did anyway) and after the follow up visit a week later told us to hold that 0.5u and "come back and see us in 6 months"....I had read enough FDMB info by then to know this just wasn't right. However, I'm grateful we were started at the lower dose - gave me a safe chance to learn and read my arse off.

At our last vet appointment in June this year the vet was kinda shocked at the BG numbers Jess was getting - I guess they never really looked at the copies of our spreadsheet I provided....AND, I found out they used the upper yellow 16 mmol/L (290 mg/dl) as within acceptable BG levels, that's why they didn't DX FD until she was in the pink, (because of the prednisolone treatment she had regular checkups) If I knew then what I know now, urghhhh. I got the feeling that they don't think cats can go in to remission either....no wonder, with the treatment they propose, glucose toxicity anyone???

I feel like he gets so close to showing blues, then his numbers start bouncing all over the place.
July 2019 was a write off for us, still in the learning curve phase. It took about 2 1/2 months after that to start seeing real progress - getting used to those blues and touching the greens without bouncing any further than yellow.

Tucker is at about that same place right now, fingers crossed he follows this timeline too!!
 
AMPS 453bg.. 2.0u SIGHHHHHHH!!!! Come on Tucker! Its a struggle getting used to those blues, but, you can do it buddy!!

didn't recommend home testing, "not necessary"
That's what my vet told me too. I asked him if I should start checking his BG at home. He said if you wanted to you could, but normally people don't do that. HUH? This is before I found FDMB. Being in health care myself. I thought this was not a very good practice. However when I came back for his follow up, with a record of his BGs he did seem impressed and happy that I was doing it. Later said to me. "Oh yeah! I forgot you're the only one I have that actually checks their pets glucose at home!" Thats the day I went in to get anti-nausea meds for Tucker.
I found out they used the upper yellow 16 mmol/L (290 mg/dl) as within acceptable BG levels,
You're kidding!! Again.. HUH?? LOL How is that acceptable!?
getting used to those blues and touching the greens without bouncing any further than yellow.

Tucker is at about that same place right now, fingers crossed he follows this timeline too!!
Thank you for that encouraging story!! I really hope that he can get there! Looking at Tuckers SS, it just seems like the same story, week after week, to me.

It seemed as though he must of dropped sometime last night after I tested last. This morning he was at 453 bg. I am grateful that he is showing some blues at preshot though! I hope after this bounce he can settle again and give some more pretty blues!!
 
Really Shelley?!? Your vet thought that 290 is ok even though it's above renal threshold for goodness sakes! How in the world did they come up with that number? Even with a pet meter, you want the BG's to be below renal threshold (180 human meter), so the excess glucose doesn't need to be filtered out by the kidneys, and get dumped in the urinary tract. Too many UTI's if the cat is always above renal threshold.

I'm glad you didn't listen and are testing Jessie. There are so many days she is in the blues and greens, that it's obvious to me you are doing a FANTASTIC job with her.

@LoveforTucker Sorry to "hijack" the thread. But needed to let Shelley know how great she is doing with her kitty Jess. So many people would be envious of having a SS that looks that good!
 
AMPS 281, 2.0u.

I'm glad you didn't listen and are testing Jessie. There are so many days she is in the blues and greens, that it's obvious to me you are doing a FANTASTIC job with her.
@Shelley & Jess Agreed whole heartedly!! Shelley and YOU among so many others from here have really inspired me! So thank you!

Sorry to "hijack" the thread. But needed to let Shelley know how great she is doing with her kitty Jess. So many people would be envious of having a SS that looks that good!
Oh goodness.. no worries there! That's what this forum is all about, right? To come together encourage and help each other!
To be fair, they were probably referencing pet meter numbers that read a bit higher than human meters, but still.....:eek:
Still crazy though.. I agree with Deb.. those numbers are still way too high.. I'm glad you became an advocate for Jess and got her on the right path. ((hugs))
 
@Deb & Wink @LoveforTucker
Oh gosh, thank you. (I'm feeling a bit self-conscious here)
Bottom line, if not for FDMB we wouldn't be where we're at today.
Really Shelley?!? Your vet thought that 290 is ok even though it's above renal threshold for goodness sakes!
Yup, really. I read through all her medical records again too. Funnily enough all the email correspondence is included but not one copy of her spreadsheet!

One more 'fun' fact. At our appointment in February this year, I was told again I didn't need to test so much, but if I wanted to I could do a curve every couple of weeks AND she proceeded to WRITE down how I was supposed to do this curve! HELLO, HAVE YOU NOT LOOKED AT OUR SPREADSHEET??? I had a hard time keeping a neutral look on my face and pretend I was taking it seriously.....LOL, I handed in a curve on day 3, they should have had me figured out then!!
 
but if I wanted to I could do a curve every couple of weeks AND she proceeded to WRITE down how I was supposed to do this curve!
HAHAHAA!!! Sorry.. I actually gave out a little sarcastic giggle..
HELLO, HAVE YOU NOT LOOKED AT OUR SPREADSHEET???
Just shows how much they actually pay attention. Even human doctors are programmed to act a certain way. So frustrating. I have a long story about my own health with a diagnosis I received back in 2010, but, I'm not going to go there, but, a lot of research and advocating for yourself can save you from a debilitating and painful life.
 
AMPS 306 2.0u. Tucker has been showing a lot more blues lately!! He did have a bounce this morning, but, he seems to settle off his bounces a lot faster than he normally did. Back to work for the week.. We go snow yesterday!! Its crazy to get snow here in MO before November.
 
Tucker has been showing a lot more blues lately!! He did have a bounce this morning, but, he seems to settle off his bounces a lot faster than he normally did.
Yeah! Faster bounce clearing means his body is getting used to the lower BG numbers.

I think it's time to lower the pre-shot threshold for when you give Tucker a reduced dose.

Snow expected here on Thursday PM, Friday AM. But only expected to accumulate on grassy surfaces. It's the high winds expected too that I don't like, since many of the trees still have their leaves and a wet snow can bring down tree branches. Unusual to have snow in October for Massachusetts too. But it has happened in the past. Plowable snow. Scrambled today to get the last 30 daffodils planted, garden hoses drained rolled up and stored, and lots of other garden tasks. Not ready for the first hard frost that we are going to get late this week. :arghh:
 
I think it's time to lower the pre-shot threshold for when you give Tucker a reduced dose.
Are you talking about the 90 bg "rule"? So, if its 90, then resume same dose?

garden hoses drained rolled up and stored,
WE forgot to do this last winter!! One of our pipes in the basement blew because of this. I turned on the hose in the spring.. went to the basement and we had water on the floor and down the wall where the pipe is. So irritating!! This is the same year our dishwasher broke, one of our furnaces broke (the second floor one), electric fridge panel broke so no more filtered water from the fridge(that that big of a deal, but worth something to complain about LOL) Tucker now has FD.. its 2020, if its going to happen it'll happen this year. LOL!! Oh well though, se la vie.
wet snow can bring down tree branches
It sure can!! You have a lot of mature trees on your property too dont ya!! I hope everything stays intact!
Scrambled today to get the last 30 daffodils planted, garden hoses drained rolled up and stored, and lots of other garden tasks. Not ready for the first hard frost that we are going to get late this week. :arghh:
Oh dear.. you have your work cut out for you! What are you going to do when the gardening season halts?

I finally have an order from my Etsy store!! So excited! I am normally busy with in person, word of mouth orders. The hat my customer bought from me that I need to make, that color of yarn has been discontinued.. (its that gray color on the hat) SO, on Saturday I have to take the small sample of that yarn I have and try to match it up as close as possible. I have to get this hat made and mailed out on Saturday. Fingers crossed I can get this completed.
pink and gray side 2.jpg
 

Attachments

  • pink and gray side 2.jpg
    pink and gray side 2.jpg
    39.8 KB · Views: 232
  • pink and gray front.jpg
    pink and gray front.jpg
    45.2 KB · Views: 322
Are you talking about the 90 bg "rule"? So, if its 90, then resume same dose?
No, I'm talking about the pre-shot BG and when you decide to stall, and retest to see a rising BG level or go ahead and give the full dose.
In the past week - 10 days, you had 2 times when the AMPS was hovering around 190.
You should have been fine to give Tucker the full dose.

How about lowering that shoot/no-shoot threshold (or reduced shot threshold, or decision making point) to 180?

So next time that Tucker has a pre-shot of 190,you would give him the full dose.
If the pre-shot is around 180, you would give him the full dose.
If the pre-shot is below 180, you would stall and retest the BG, without feeding him first.

Are you talking about the 90 bg "rule"? So, if its 90, then resume same dose?
The 90 "BG rule" is for dose reductions, when using the SLGS protocol.

The hat my customer bought from me that I need to make, that color of yarn has been discontinued.. (its that gray color on the hat) SO, on Saturday I have to take the small sample of that yarn I have and try to match it up as close as possible. I have to get this hat made and mailed out on Saturday. Fingers crossed I can get this completed.
I think the person would be happy with a yarn that is close to that color. You could always send them a picture of the new yarn, to get their approval first.

p.s. The gardening "season" doesn't end until the ground is frozen solid and the ground is covered with snow. Once the ground freezes, I go back into my woods and start to gather branches to add to the 6 or 8 brush piles I have back there. I've only gotten back there 2 times since spring this year. Critters need places to spend the winter too. I even remembered to go down in the basement today, and close the 2 shutoff valves for the outdoor faucets, then back outside in the rain to open the handles for the faucets to drain any remaining water. There wasn't any, so the faucets got closed again and that task is all set for the fall and colder weather.
 
So next time that Tucker has a pre-shot of 190,you would give him the full dose.
If the pre-shot is around 180, you would give him the full dose.
If the pre-shot is below 180, you would stall and retest the BG, without feeding him first.
Ok! Gotcha! Thank you for that information!! I'll do this next time.
gather branches to add to the 6 or 8 brush piles I have back there. I've only gotten back there 2 times since spring this year. Critters need places to spend the winter too.
You cease to amaze me!! That's so thoughtful of you to make sure those little critters have a nice place to spend the winter.
close the 2 shutoff valves for the outdoor faucets, then back outside in the rain to open the handles for the faucets to drain any remaining water
Great idea!! I think I'll do that this weekend as well so we wont get anymore fun surprises!! LOL
 
the ground is covered with snow
The ground IS covered with snow. Should have done an anti-jinx, since we were expecting snow. But only 1" or so not the 3-4 inches we got!
Oct snow on Japanese maple 201030.JPG


This was early in the storm, and we got a couple inches more! Too busy shoveling the snow, to take more pictures. My hands hurt from shoveling.
 

Attachments

  • Oct snow on Japanese maple 201030.JPG
    Oct snow on Japanese maple 201030.JPG
    148.7 KB · Views: 1,166
THAT is beautiful!! I love fresh fallen snow! I love your property too! Seems like you have some nice privacy there. You are probably one of the most active people I know LOL. Sorry about your hands! :(
Today is supposed to be highs in the 60's.. Weird weather.. Winter one day, spring the next.
 
The ground IS covered with snow. Should have done an anti-jinx, since we were expecting snow. But only 1" or so not the 3-4 inches we got!
View attachment 57743

This was early in the storm, and we got a couple inches more! Too busy shoveling the snow, to take more pictures. My hands hurt from shoveling.

Snow already ! :arghh: Where the heck in the world are you Deb - the Antarctic ?
PS our cats hate the snow not that we've really had much at all for the last couple of years but Mac just lies there on the bed and sulks like its a personal insult to him!
 
Tucker got down into the BLUES!:cool: But I think you need to increase the dose back up to 2.25U. The 2U isn't doing much for him. At least not as far as getting him down even closer to the low blues or into the green BG ranges. Up, Up, Up would be my recommendation on the dose.

Curve this weekend? By any chance?

Where the heck in the world are you Deb - the Antarctic ?
New England, northern Massachusetts coast.
But sometimes it feels like Antarctica, especially when those northeast winds blow off the cold ocean waters in the winter. Brrrrrr!

We'll have those 60 degree temps later next week. But first, several more days of cold and possibly some more light snow.
 
Back
Top