Tucker
Member since 2018
I’ve strayed from the group because Tucker had been very predictable with his glucose and insulin needs and very regulated. His average pre test has been in the 230-250 range this year and his nadir being in the 130-147 range. He was diagnosed with early stage CKD Jan 2024 and his bloods and urine had been quite stable. Last week he threw me for a loop and yesterday his vet suggest we increase his Lantus from 1 unit to 1.5 units… all at once. I know that’s dangerous so I logged in and was looking for answers in other posts and topics to see if anyone else has experienced similar. Tucker has had diabetes for over 6 years so I thought I knew the ropes! If anyone reads this and can suggest a direction or link any info, I would sure appreciate it! I don’t have a current spreadsheet to share.
The situation:
Last Monday week I found a large puddle of pink liquid by Tucker’s bowl. It had zero odour and it was so clear I wasn’t sure if it was vomit or urine, but I got him to the vet quickly. (He looked great, was eating and drinking, no weight loss.) Vet ran a urine test and he came up as having a really bad UTI, his first ever. His BG was 92.5 at home. He’s a high stress cat and his BG shot up to 432.7 at the clinic. He came home with antibiotics and except for his BG not coming back to normal range, he seemed to be recovering and happy.
He crashed at his recheck yesterday. They did a full blood panel and he freaked out at the test. His BG was 247 at home and 495 at the appointment after the blood test. Super strange thing- at the vet his back toes spread way out! Vet examined his feet and legs and said they moved fine without sign of pain. I got him home and his toes are still spread apart, and his back legs seem weaker than ever before. The vet rang this morning with results and says the infection was completely gone and his SDMA had gone down from his July tests but his Creatinine and BUN were higher. He thinks the rise is due to the very high glucose and prior infection so told me to give him 1.5 Lantus instead of the normal 1 unit… and if I don’t his legs may have permanent nerve damage. Raising insulin doses quickly is against everything I’ve ever done to regulate his diabetes. If anyone has some info about back toes/legs or what to do when a very regulated diabetic goes off the rails, I would sure appreciate it.
The situation:
Last Monday week I found a large puddle of pink liquid by Tucker’s bowl. It had zero odour and it was so clear I wasn’t sure if it was vomit or urine, but I got him to the vet quickly. (He looked great, was eating and drinking, no weight loss.) Vet ran a urine test and he came up as having a really bad UTI, his first ever. His BG was 92.5 at home. He’s a high stress cat and his BG shot up to 432.7 at the clinic. He came home with antibiotics and except for his BG not coming back to normal range, he seemed to be recovering and happy.
He crashed at his recheck yesterday. They did a full blood panel and he freaked out at the test. His BG was 247 at home and 495 at the appointment after the blood test. Super strange thing- at the vet his back toes spread way out! Vet examined his feet and legs and said they moved fine without sign of pain. I got him home and his toes are still spread apart, and his back legs seem weaker than ever before. The vet rang this morning with results and says the infection was completely gone and his SDMA had gone down from his July tests but his Creatinine and BUN were higher. He thinks the rise is due to the very high glucose and prior infection so told me to give him 1.5 Lantus instead of the normal 1 unit… and if I don’t his legs may have permanent nerve damage. Raising insulin doses quickly is against everything I’ve ever done to regulate his diabetes. If anyone has some info about back toes/legs or what to do when a very regulated diabetic goes off the rails, I would sure appreciate it.