TUCKER 25Nov AMPS: 4.6/83 after a very low night

Hi Patty - I hope you are feeling better. My general strategy with our bouncy kitteh is to keep him under the renal threshold of 200. Even then, it is not always successful...as he bounces around the chart.

Little Dude is the early riser here. Up and at 'em - at 4:30am. "I want FOOD NOW". So one of us usually gets up and just feeds him, then it is nap time for all.
 
Yes, he was at 2.2. We reduced to 3 units this morning and he has done pretty well. His PMPS is 6.5/117, so not too bad. He's looks happy and healthy!
 
6.5 (117) PMPS seemed like a safe number after reducing his dose today to 3 units. Within a couple of hours he had dropped to 4.2, maintained that for a bit, dropped to 2.7(49) at +3. Now at +4 I just tested him and got a 1.7. I had given him some MC food mixed with a bit of gravy. At 1.7 I did some honey and high carb food. He is just hanging out purring and giving himself a bath now...mom is freaking out but he Mr. Happy.
@Bron and Sheba @JeffJ @Bobbie And Bubba
 
Give honey and h c to get him up over 3 (50). I’d try and get him up over 4. Retest in 20 mins. I’d also give a half dose in the morning to drain the depot a bit. Please post the BSL @ 20 mins.
 
It seems weird that we would have to drain the depot when he had 2 reductions this week and one of them was today.......what the heck is he doing?! We also did our Thanksgiving today and he had bits of bacon, turkey, sausage, and got briefly got hold of a bit of stuffing that had hit the floor. (Mad tackle of the sugar cat ensued...)
 
He’s telling you he needs less insulin. Some cats do it this way and others do it more sedately. Tucker didn’t read the rule book remember!:D:joyful:
Have you got the +20 yet?
 
At about +30 minutes he had come up to 2.5. (He was playing chasey with his sister and was under a bed, it took some effort getting him out of there.)
 
At about +30 minutes he had come up to 2.5. (He was playing chasey with his sister and was under a bed, it took some effort getting him out of there.)
Ha ha!
You need to give him some more h c and honey. He needs to get up over 3, preferably over 4 to give you a bit of leeway because it isn’t nadir yet. Retest in 20 again
 
Gobbled down the honey and is now doing victory laps around the house at high speed......with 2 ragdolls right on his tail. Teddy and Daisy have no idea why they are running around at midnight, but if Tucker is running so are they! Is this a normal life?
 
Sorry Harry! My bad... You can go to sleep, I'll keep checking and giving him snacks and honey until he looks to be safe.
 
Sorry Harry! My bad... You can go to sleep, I'll keep checking and giving him snacks and honey until he looks to be safe.
No, I’ll wait until he is safe. I couldn’t sleep until then :rolleyes:
Harry has given up and is asleep on my shoulder. I swear he thinks he is a human.. he comes to bed when I do every nightand puts his head on the pillow and likes to be covered up. Always watches the iPad with me in bed. Then in the morning when I go to the bathroom, he comes in too and uses the LB!
 
Should I just wait another 20 minutes and retest, or give him more HC or honey?
I’d wait and test in 20 mins. We don’t want to fill him up too much in case you need to feed more later. Although I know Tucker is a good eater! I’d try and get him up to 4 (72) if you can because he still has a way to go and he often nadirs later in the cycle.
 
He came up to 4.7 over the last half hour.
That’s good. So no more food for you Tucker at the moment. I’d leave it an hour before testing again. The honey and h c will probably last an hour or hour and half. If he isn’t dropping next test you could leave it another hour. If he is dropping you may need to test sooner.
If he happens to bounce after that 1.7 (30) I would still give him the half dose in the morning to drain the depot.
I might go to sleep now. Hope you can get some sleep at some point.
You’ve done really well tonight managing it all!
 
Just think, if you were not testing him all this time. One of the episodes would have taken him away. You are doing a great job.

Some kittehs are just bouncy. Look at Leo's chart. He can get the same doses for a month, yet some days he nadirs fine (80-100), and other days he won't go under 200 for nadir. Then the occasional hypo. All with the same doses, and pretty much the same feeding regimen.
 
Low all night and this morning AMPS: 4.6/83. I'm a bit surprised because when we lowered his dose .25 yesterday morning I sort of expected his BG would go a bit higher as the depot was drained a bit. I'm going to take the advice I was given overnight and shoot half a dose and follow up with testing today.
 
Last edited:
Good morning! I’m just waking up.
Hope you managed to get some sleep.
Tucker is certainly telling you his insulin needs are dropping!:cat:
I’d get a +1 and + 2 to start with.
 
If you want to drain that overfull depot, you could do a one time reduced dose today. Or skip if you need sleep. He put you through the ringer last night.
 
We reduced his dose to 3 units yesterday and he had a very low day/night which surprised me. This morning he was 4.6 at AMPS. Since then he has done something a little bit unusal, he rose to 5 and pretty much has stuck there for the last few hours. He looks fabulous (unlike his mom). His eyes are very alert and shiny and he is purring his head off.
 
I know you were only on 3 units for two cycles, but with that 31 I would still go down to 2:75 units. Tucker seems to be in a hurry. :D
 
Because I am in need of some sleep and because Tucker had really good numbers (mostly in the 5's) even after doing a half dose this morning, we decided to reduce his dose to just 2 tonight. We figured that he would rise a bit and I would be able to rest. Well, we are at +4 and he has gone down to 4.1/74. Being that he tends to nadir late, I'm afraid I'm going to have another long evening with blood tests.
 
I think you will need to get some more tests in because as you said he nadirs later, and he really seems to be on the move these last few days. I would give him a good snack now so he hopefully doesn’t drop too low. You don’t want to be doing catch up like last night again if it can be avoided.
I used to go to sleep in between tests at night, but I always woke with the alarm. Can you do that?
 
I would give some h c food to bring him up a bit. You don’t want him dropping lower late at night when you are so tired and not well. The h c lasts about an hour to hour and half normally ..... but then Tucker didn’t read the rule book.
I would tag Wendy later when she wakes up about what dose to give in the morning. It’s a bit early to say yet but it may need to be reviewed. Tucker seems to be on a mission. :D
 
I hope his BG stabilizes in the next day, so you can get some rest and get back to other things. The best part of this equation is that Tucker still has a great appetite, which is an issue that plagues many sugar kittehs.
 
At 2am I gave him a pretty large feed of FF with gravy.......cuz I was losing it and needed to get some sleep. I set an alarm and got up at 4am to test. He has climbed to 6.8/122 on the food. He's gone right back to sleep after the test and I'm going to try to do the same after I set the next alarm.
 
It looks like he is past his nadir now, so he should be okay for this cycle.

Sleep eludes many owners of sugar kittehs. I am lucky that Leo is pretty stable now. Although, he has had over 20 mild hypos since June 1, and two big hypos in June itself.
 
That 31 a couple nights ago was the sign of a really overfull depot. Which you were still fighting yesterday and last night.

First things first, could you please start a new thread tomorrow. This one is getting too long to follow. Usually we do one post a day here, with a link to the previous post.

What you shoot tomorrow depends on a couple things, the most important is your ability to monitor. As Tucker had shown you, he does fine with temporary reduced doses. You must be exhausted. :bighug: Take care of you first. A skip or reduced dose in the AM would still be fine. At some point, his numbers should be starting to drift up as the depot drains.

You could try a 2.5 unit dose. It might run him a little higher, or not. Sorry I can’t be more specific. The down side to BCS doses is not knowing what size dose the depot thinks it’s at. Been there myself. Plus I don’t know where he’ll be at preshot, giving me an idea if the depot is winding down. I also will not be around today later, so don’t want to advice you what to shoot then run away,
 
Back
Top