Tuck how low can I shoot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

AbyResq

Member Since 2016
OK since Tuck is either well regulated or flirting with remission, I'm wondering how low is ALWAYS too low to shoot. I'm having to do the stalling technique of feeding, waiting 2 hours then feeding again and shooting. This also means he's getting an extra meal which his waistline doesn't need! He's been on 4 meals a day. A meal at preshot time and a meal at the +3 time slot. When I feed and stall he gets the extra meal at the new +3.

I've shot him as low as 152. I don't think I should ever shoot anything lower than 150. Is that right or should I consider drops when his preshot is between 120 and 150?

For better or worse I'm away Friday through Sunday. I will have to give the sitter some extremely conservative advice. Right now I'm thinking no shot unless he's >200 and then only .4 Units. So worried my weekend away is going to undo all of this hard work. :banghead: I'm also wondering if I should be really conservative and only have her give him .4U once a day since he sometimes surfs past +12. I like to leave instructions for what to do if she can't get the reading.
 
I wouldn't shoot below 150 unless I could monitor and also had data showing me it was likely to be safe.

If you find you have to delay shots frequently because he is too low, the dose may be too high and need a slight adjustment lower.

See also the ProZinc Guidelines.
 
Kristen, I never advise shooting below 150. I know some people do - if they plan to monitor, steer with food and have lots of data - but I just can't tell someone else that is safe for their cat. You have lots of data and know him - your call. Guess you could try 0.2 and see if that gives you two more shootable preshots.

For your trip, I think either idea is okay. Again, once daily isn't good but for a few days, it'd likely keep him safe. I think the no shoot under 200 would be fine too.

He is looking good. It's like they know when we are leaving and throw excellent numbers just in time. I swear they read the posts.
 
I swear they read the posts
I'm pretty convinced they can read our minds.

Thanks @Sue and Oliver (GA) and @BJM for your thoughts. This is a good problem to have :D.

Tuck and Callie have someone inquiring about adopting them. :eek::D:eek::D:eek::D It will be bittersweet if/when that happens. They are great cats and deserve a home where they can be loved forever.
13689555_10208326074848561_1651450890_n.jpg
 
Awwww. I can't imagine giving them up after you have worked so hard to keep them safe and healthy. You really are an inspiration, Kristen.

It is a lovely problem to have.
 
They are so pretty, Kristen! I'm so glad to hear that someone is thinking about adopting them. I know it will be tough for you. After all you've done to keep them safe and healthy...bless you for taking in those babies. It's so wonderful to know someone like you!
 
Oh my goodness, peek at Tuck's spreadsheet. I've been shooting him at odd times. This morning's breakfast time fell roughly at PM+9 1/2, BS of 116. I came back 2 hours later thinking the meal would have pushed him into the insulin zone, nope he was in the 130's. Finally at +13 he was 149 so I decided to give him .2 U and another meal. Now at AM +3 he's only 99! I thought he would be higher and I'd be regretting the tiny dose. Looks like the out of character pink reading the other day was a bounce and I'd missed the low number in his cycle.

I'm ecstatic and let's face it no one outside of this group gets it! I needed to cheer somewhere. Can I get a collective Prozinc forum silent cheer going that maybe I can try an OTJ trial while I'm away this weekend???? (will still leave instructions to shoot if he's above 200)

By the way, I always thought I could never foster. It's easier than you think and very rewarding when you realize how many cats you've helped. I usually have a hard time letting one go in the days ahead of their departure. Within 24 hours I'm over it, of course there's usually some new waif needing my attention so that helps!
 
Omg loveeeee your comment about 'flirting with remission' haha, and I really love that photo, they are so cute! :kiss:
I know you got your answer already but I just wanted to say the same thing, no shots below 150.
:bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top