Trying to regulate

hmskelton

Member Since 2022
Good morning,

I was advised to post here. We had a low last night of 40 at one point. I will link previous posts below.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-diagnosis-so-lost-and-confused-please-help.262653/

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/low-reading-resolved.262699/

Can anyone give guidance? Honestly I don’t even know what guidance I need. Something that will help us maintain more stable numbers that are in a safe range.

Here is our graph from the last 24 hrs. SS linked in signature.

Thank you so much!!!

upload_2022-5-1_13-9-6.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-5-1_13-9-6.jpeg
    upload_2022-5-1_13-9-6.jpeg
    24.1 KB · Views: 104
Side note - The high spike doesn’t surprise me. We had to give her honey and some high carb food because she was continuing to drop.
 
Is today the first day you have data? Are you still feeding some dry food? With that 40 you need to reduce to 1.75.

If feeding dry you would follow SLGS if you choose to use one of our methods and reductions are earned if you see a bg under 90. You will hold the dose for 7 days unless there’s another drop under 90 which means another reduction. If you are no longer feeding dry you could choose TR. Have a look at the dosing methods we use.
 
Is today the first day you have data? Are you still feeding some dry food? With that 40 you need to reduce to 1.75.

If feeding dry you would follow SLGS if you choose to use one of our methods and reductions are earned if you see a bg under 90. You will hold the dose for 7 days unless there’s another drop under 90 which means another reduction. If you are no longer feeding dry you could choose TR. Have a look at the dosing methods we use.

Unfortunately it is the first day we have data on the sheet.
 
Do you have any data on your meter?

I can get the graphs from my husband. Honestly they’re not super helpful, they swing up and down, with no rhyme or reason usually.

Per our vet we switched to wet food (with an improper transition) and she went extremely low last night. She had also instructed us to increase to 2.25 which we thankfully did NOT do, and gave her 2u with dinner.

I feel like our vet is not very well versed on treating this - she rx us ProPlan Dietetic food and then instructed us to make the switch to LC wet food without telling us how to properly transition. I should have read the boards first

Tonight’s PMPS 222. We did not dose at all yet because of her dangerous drop last night, likely due to the instant food switch (it was rapid and in the low 40s). She is currently at 155 with a steady downward trend. Do you recommend to wait and see?

Thank you so much.
 
Holly @hmskelton the spreadsheet doesn’t have the BG 40 in it for last night. Would you mind putting that in please as it makes a difference when looking at the SS

@tiffmaxee after the sudden change over to low carb food and the drop to 40 last night when on main health and so little data, Bhooma and I thought reducing the dose to 1.5 units might be safer. What do you think?
 
Holly @hmskelton the spreadsheet doesn’t have the BG 40 in it for last night. Would you mind putting that in please as it makes a difference when looking at the SS

@tiffmaxee after the sudden change over to low carb food and the drop to 40 last night when on main health and so little data, Bhooma and I thought reducing the dose to 1.5 units might be safer. What do you think?

I just went back through the Freestyle app with my husband and updated the SS. We have given 0 units tonight and she is in the 130s.
 
Holly @hmskelton the spreadsheet doesn’t have the BG 40 in it for last night. Would you mind putting that in please as it makes a difference when looking at the SS

@tiffmaxee after the sudden change over to low carb food and the drop to 40 last night when on main health and so little data, Bhooma and I thought reducing the dose to 1.5 units might be safer. What do you think?

After seeing the 130 tonight I agree on 1.5.
 
The low carb is obviously making a big difference. See how she goes this cycle. Keep us updated. And ask for help with the next dose.

I wish we would have gotten to the boards sooner. The vet made it seem like we could choose wet or dry food, and we went with the dry because we have 2 cats and thought it would be easier. They both love the wet food though.

Its been about 3.5 hours since she has eaten. Should we still give her the insulin?
 
When you post on the lantus forum here is how to do it
Starting tomorrow morning you would post the
Date, Bailey, AMPS # and any other tests after that, then PMPS # , any tests /after that. You will also link the previous days post to each new day

To go back and add the others tests you do look to the right you will see Thread Tools, tap on that , then tap on Edit Title add them and tap on save
 
Back
Top