Trying to figure out dosing for Gizmo

WYMoreta

Member Since 2020
Hi All,

I am new to the forum, and have only posted one thread before. I got lots of great advice on how to start tracking Gizmo's numbers, but I still have questions:

1) The PROZINC DOSING METHODS page indicated that I shouldn't change anything for at least a week, then doing the 12 hour curve. However, in my original introductory discussion, I've had a few replies (and read other threads), that say Hill's Science Diet M/D is not a good diabetic cat food. After looking at the food spreadsheet I tend to agree. Should I change foods now or wait until she's been on the same food/dosing schedule? And I have done some curves.
2) I have multiple civilian cats, and from what I've been reading overall a dry cat food is not recommended. Any good food recommendations from this group? I've been feeding them Hill's science diet dry food either indoor 1-6 or 7+ depending on age. Info about my Civvie cats:

  • Sherlock 12 year old male, on Thyroid medication
  • Cephas 9 year old male - no health problems
  • Chakra - 6 year old female no health problems
  • Shoni - 1 year old female no health problems.

My tentative plan is:

1) Leave her on M/D today, and try to get a curve throughout the day. (I've already started, and will try to get measurements every 2 hours).
2) Switch her to Fancy Feast Pate (or straight cooked chicken if she won't eat fancy feast, but so far her appetite has been good) tomorrow, and at least to AMPS/PMPS numbers and use only 1 unit insulin unless her PS numbers are below 200, then don't give her anything.
3) Stay on Fancy feast pate until next weekend when I can get another curve.

Thanks in advance!

(and there won't be any hurt feelings on my part if you say that my plan needs adjustment... I know I'm a newbie and I've got a lot to learn from a lot of smart people, but people can't help unless I ask the questions!)


Adding link to first post:
Hello - Gizmo and I are new to the forum
 
Last edited:
I can't access your spreadsheet. Is sharing set for anyone with the link can view?

- Recently diagnosed.
- Was eating Hill's Science Diet Dry Food before DX - insane amount of carbs, I've seen Hill's dry food referenced from mid 30% to mid 40% carbs.
- Switched to Hill's Prescription Diet m/d wet food - Dr. Pierson food chart 13% carbs
This food switch alone can significantly lower BG numbers. (I can't see your testing data but looks like BG has already been impacted from the first food switch in your previous thread: Hello - Gizmo and I are new to the forum)

- Now the plan is to switch to FF pate - Dr. Pierson food chart, FF pate 3% or less carbs.

I urge caution. This is a huge total reduction in carb load in a short period of time. You need to be monitoring Gizmo closely - more than just an AMPS and PMPS when transitioning to lower carb food.
 
I will try to figure out what's going on with the spreadsheet.

In the meantime, Gizmo was diagnosed in late October of this year. She had been on Hill's metabolic for a long time, but the vet suggested M/D wet and dry as well as insulin. We switched her then (slowly of course from a blend of metabolic to M/D over a period of weeks). Then she started throwing up (I assumed because she was inhaling the dry food), so we went to straight wet M/D a couple of weeks ago.

I *think* I fixed the link to my spreadsheet, but I can only tell if it works for me. Let me know if its still broke.

Her numbers seem high today, but not scary high.

Today's numbers (in case the link s still broken)

AMPS 248
shot 1 unit
+2 441
+4 285
+6 205
+8 208

We are trying to get a curve today since I don't have to work.

Thanks

WYMoreta & Gizmo
 
Thanks for including the DX date in your signature and spreadsheet link working now too. :)

And, thanks for the further details about the food transition.

Hill's m/d dry is 15% carbs (per Hill's website.) Still too high for a diabetic kitty. Removing that completely only a couple of weeks ago can make the difference too.

Great job with the curve so far, let's see what the next two tests bring. Will you be able to get a couple tests in the PM cycle tonight? And a mini-curve or nadir check during tomorrows cycle. We want to try make sure you didn't catch todays curve during a bounce cycle or a bounce breaking cycle. Grabbing those mid cycle tests whenever you can will help fill in the blanks with what's going on with the BG.
 
We will be able to get a couple more today, but probably none after her evening meal. I will try to catch a few extra tomorrow. So for now, I will keep her on the hills m/d at least through testing tomorrow. This stuff is complicated. Thanks for your feedback!
 
PMPS = 332. We gave 1 unit insulin. We can't measure anymore tonight, but would welcome suggestions based on whatever her AMPS values are.

Thanks,

WYMoreta
 
PMPS = 332. We gave 1 unit insulin. We can't measure anymore tonight, but would welcome suggestions based on whatever her AMPS values are.

Thanks,

WYMoreta

I'll watch for your AMPS tomorrow.
Most days @JanetNJ is an early bird too and is more experienced with dosing recommendations.
Please don't hate me, but can you grab a before bed test tonight? It may help us determine if she needs more insulin/less insulin or hold the dose tomorrow morning.
 
@JanetNJ

I need to make a decision whether or not to buy more m/d now or to switch to fancy feast. I hate to buy expensive food for her when it’s not the best option, but I also understand the concern of not changing anything too fast. Thoughts?

We are going to get a mid day test on her today.
 
@JanetNJ

I need to make a decision whether or not to buy more m/d now or to switch to fancy feast. I hate to buy expensive food for her when it’s not the best option, but I also understand the concern of not changing anything too fast. Thoughts?

We are going to get a mid day test on her today.
I am not fond of the prescription food. In the beginning I had a case of it... and I used it up because I didn’t wanna waste... but go ahead and get the fancy feast. You can do half and half for a while to transition
 
+6 hour measurement was 215, but PMPS = 69.
She's eating now, 1/2 M/D 1/2 fancy feast pate.
I don't think I should give her any insulin tonight.
I will check her at +2 after dinner and post.

Thanks for any recommendations thoughts!
 
We did give 1.25 at dinner. I intended to give her 1.25 at breakfast this morning, and I'm positive I got *some* of it in, but it was a partial fur shot. I'll try to get a +6 today, but based on her numbers over the past 2 days should I consider going to 1.5?
 
We did give 1.25 at dinner. I intended to give her 1.25 at breakfast this morning, and I'm positive I got *some* of it in, but it was a partial fur shot. I'll try to get a +6 today, but based on her numbers over the past 2 days should I consider going to 1.5?
No... at 1.5 it's giving too low of a pm preshot to get a second full shot in. THe point of lowering it was to see if things even out a bit, which they did last night letting you give the full dose. as a result you got a better am preshot this morning then the high 300's you were getting previously. Keep this dose a few days and lets see what happens. You can't tell if it's not enough after just one or two cycles.
 
@JanetNJ
She's steadily creeping up. AMPS = 380 this morning, and I've been sticking with 1.25. Yesterdays +6 was 314.
 
We expect her to be a bit bouncy from the skipped shot, partial fur shot and a couple of lows she's not used to. Hold the 1.25u dose, give her little body a chance to settle in and get those mid cycle tests when you can to see how the dose is really working.
 
......but based on her numbers over the past 2 days should I consider going to 1.5?

You should probably figure out what dosing method you're going to follow so we're all on the same page. Depending on what Prozinc dosing method you choose to follow (SLGS or MPM) going forward this will be your/our guideline when to increase, decrease or hold the dose. It is especially helpful to be following a set protocol you can refer to when you need help with dosing decisions and no one is online to guide you.
 
You should probably figure out what dosing method you're going to follow so we're all on the same page. Depending on what Prozinc dosing method you choose to follow (SLGS or MPM) going forward this will be your/our guideline when to increase, decrease or hold the dose. It is especially helpful to be following a set protocol you can refer to when you need help with dosing decisions and no one is online to guide you.

Hi @Shelley & Jess
I've read the PROZINC DOSING METHODS but I didn't understand what MPM meant. I have re-read the PROZINC DOSING METHODS to understand the SLGS method.

Re-re-reading the PROZINC DOSING METHOD link, I *think* it means Modified Prozinc Method. However, MPM is not actually on that page, and it's not listed on the cat health terms page, or on the FDMB glossary.
Does MPM mean Modified Prozinc Method?


If I understand the SLGS method, I would need to wait a month before making any dosage changes. If COVID hadn't happened that's probably the method I would use. However, my schedule is somewhat more flexible these days (one good thing has come out of the pandemic I guess), so I'd probably opt for another method.

Thanks for helping me understand this stuff. It's slow going.

Angela
 
Does MPM mean Modified Prozinc Method?
Yes.
MPM = Modified Prozinc Method. It's not in any glossary and not called that specifically in the protocol. But I shortened the term months ago, back when the updated protocols were posted in February 2020. It's much shorter to type MPM than to type out the 3 long words.

Just like Tight Regulation is abbreviated to TR in the Lantus ISG group, we needed a short abbreviation for the prozinc method that mirrors a lot of what TR is doing.
 
1) The PROZINC DOSING METHODS page indicated that I shouldn't change anything for at least a week, then doing the 12 hour curve.
I read your first post and it seemed you had a handle on the SLGS dosing method and then moved on to your food questions. Sorry if I misunderstood that you were talking about not changing the food for a week. Changing to a lower carb food is okay at anytime as long as you can monitor the BG closely during the food transition.

If I understand the SLGS method, I would need to wait a month before making any dosage changes.
SLGS (Start Low Go Slow) has you evaluating and making any needed dose changes weekly - unless kitty earns a reduction, you reduce the dose immediately.
Hold the same dose for a week, do a curve at the end of the week and evaluate if the dose should be increased, decreased or held depending on the nadir.
When following SLGS dose reductions are earned anytime kittys BG falls below 90 mg/dl.

Does MPM mean Modified Prozinc Method?
You got it!
MPM (Modified Prozinc Method) allows for faster dose changes, every 3 to 6 cycles, and dose reductions are earned anytime kittys BG falls below 50 mg/dl. However, you'll need to test kittys BG multiple times per day, every day, both cycles to follow the MPM method safely. The Prozinc Dosing Method also recommends "After - and only after - you have collected at least a month of data and are confident with home-testing, you might consider the modified method to use ProZinc/ PZI (the acronym “PZ” is used for both here on) if SLGS is not getting good results."
 
@Shelley & Jess & @Deb & Wink & @JanetNJ
Thanks for all the info.
We are settling on on using the MPM formula

I have yet another question: How do you know if the shot is going into fat or subcutaneously? My Gizmo is still a chunk at 15 lbs, and when I try to tent her skin it's almost like I'm pulling up a layer of fat at the same time. I.e. the "tent" that is created is probably close to a 1/2 inch, and is much thicker than if I try to tent the skin on one of my civvie cats that are not overweight.
 
Where are you shooting? Have you tried the sides? I shoot Jess in the sides and find it so much smoother. She's a good weight but thick in the scruff too.

I just tried pinching my beefy boy civvie - no go in the scuff either but tented nicely in several areas on his sides.

Have you seen this?
49823824412_72fd707b6e_o.jpg
 

Attachments

  • 49823824412_72fd707b6e_o.jpg
    49823824412_72fd707b6e_o.jpg
    44.3 KB · Views: 625
Where are you shooting? Have you tried the sides? I shoot Jess in the sides and find it so much smoother. She's a good weight but thick in the scruff too.

I just tried pinching my beefy boy civvie - no go in the scuff either but tented nicely in several areas on his sides.

Have you seen this?
View attachment 58688

@Shelley & Jess
Yes I've seen this. I've tried the side of the chest and the flank. I can tent it okay, it's just that it's "thick" and I think I must be pulling some fat up along with the skin, so how do I know how "deep" to go into the flap so that it isn't going into the fat?
 
I can tent it okay, it's just that it's "thick" and I think I must be pulling some fat up along with the skin, so how do I know how "deep" to go into the flap so that it isn't going into the fat?
I know exactly what you mean and it's a good question. Shooting the sides solved the problem for me so I didn't research it any further. I don't recall having read any threads that address this specifically. Now I'm curious in this answer too! Let's see if @JanetNJ or @Deb & Wink have anything to add or can point us in the right direction. If not, maybe a good question for the Main Health Forum.
 
I don't know for sure, if injecting into the fat would slow absorption or make the insulin act differently.
Your goal with tenting the skin, is to make sure the needle doesn't poke all the way through the tent, and out the other side and you end up squirting the insulin into the fur.
Goal is to get the insulin going under the skin. Not into muscle. That's the only guideline I remember in regards to this, not into the muscle.

So yes, a good question for the Feline Health (Welcome & Main Forum).
 
@Deb & Wink

Evidently I've been on reading overload. I know I read somewhere that injecting into fat slows absorption, but now I can't find it again. I /think/ it was on felinediabetes.com but not in the forum, but it could have been a link from that to another link.
 
There has been some anecdotal reports from various members, that shooting into the scruff can slow absorption of the insulin. But it's thought that does not really impact the overall BG levels much. But it can delay the onset.

Here is an article that has more information about insulin absorption rates in HUMANS, more than you probably ever wanted to know. Cats can and do have similar reactions to insulin, so many things noted in this article apply to felines too.
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC6079517/

I do remember someone from here that was injecting insulin into the muscle for their cat. Injecting into the muscle leads to faster absorption, because there are more blood vessels to help "distribute" the insulin quicker, than injecting SQ (subcutaneously).
 
My vet originally recommended muscles, but vet tech recommended subcutaneously. Subcutaneously seems to be less likely to do something really wrong (inject into vein etc). However, I am wondering if the slowlness of absorption is not ideal based on some of my measurements, but I realize I'm still trying to get Gizmo regulated.
I did find the 2018 AAHA Diabetes Management Guidelines for Cats and Dogs to be very good reading if somewhat dry. I am a visual learner so their flow charts are helpful to me.

I will be seeing my sister soon, and she had a diabetic cat for 9 years (just lost her this year), and I hope to ask her about subcutaneous and how not to get it into the fat. I'll also talk to my mom who was an RN for years.

I am still trying to get the roller coaster figured out.
 
@Deb & Wink & @JanetNJ

I'm slowly feeling my way to a better dose for Gizmo and any advice will be appreciated. I also have a few other questions:

1) I am travelling with my cat tomorrow (12 hour car ride). I keep reading about stress causing higher glucose readings. Should I up her dose tomorrow morning in anticipation of the rise? (I think the answer is no, but I won't find answers unless I ask the question). We have travelled with her before, and she tolerates it well, but obviously doesn't care for it.
2) Gizmo was a chunk at 18+ lbs, then she lost 3 lbs which is what caused me to take her to the vet for bloodwork. In 1 1/2 months she's gained 9 oz (if the vet's scale is correct, she was checked this morning). I started feeding her fancy feast on 12/13. She gets 2 cans in the morning and 2 cans in the evening. With the exception of this afternoon when she got a few morsels of Hill's Science diet 7+, she has not been allowed to eat other's food. What would you recommend feeding her? Ideally she could lose some weight, but I am hesitant to do that while trying to figure out the correct dose for her.
 
@Deb & Wink & @JanetNJ ,

PMPS 194 - to dose or not to dose? Given that her morning numbers are almost always high, considering a dose of .25.

Thoughts?

Decided to give mini-dose.
 
Last edited:
No, I would not increase the dose, simply because you will be traveling with Gizmo and the stress may cause the BG numbers to be higher. There is the complication that you would need to stop and test in case she went LOWER during the 12 hour car ride than you expected. "Better too high for a cycle. than too low for one."

Gizmo can get back on track BG wise. Being in a strange place will be stressful for her too. Just remember to take your hypo kit with you.

Kind of a "catch-22" situation with Gizmo's weight. Too much weight usually leads to the insulin being used less efficiently, and can make it harder to regulate a cat.
My recommendation would be to cut back a little bit on the food. Slow and gradual weight loss is what you want. So maybe cut back the food intake by 1/2 a can of Fancy Feast, and see how Gizmo does on that lower amount of food. Try this. Take away 1/4 can from the morning meals and take away another 1/4 can from the evening meals.

What would you say is the ideal weight for Gizmo?
 
@Deb & Wink
I would say gizmos ideal weight is around 9 pounds.

We will keep the hypo kit with us. The honey is packed. We will try to reduce slowly. I just wasn’t sure if she should be reducing at all. At least right now. I was kind comparing getting her BG regulated with me going through chemo years ago. Even though I did need to lose weight at the time, they didn’t want me to lose weight because of the chemo dosing.

Thanks for all your help.
 
@Deb & Wink , @JanetNJ

Good morning. We survived the trip to see Wyoming very well. And contrary to what I thought would happen, her numbers were actually lower at my parents house, even though she was in a new place with 3 new people, 2 new cats, and a new dog. (12/22 -12/28/20). Have you ever heard of altitude affecting BG? I live at an altitude of 700 feet, but my parents at 7200 ft. I know that it affects blood oxygen levels, but no idea about BG.

However, I am trying to work n her numbers, and she has been all over the map. I can do a more thorough test this weekend. What do you recommend? Every 3 hours from AMPS to PMPS???

Also, what would you do for values in the 130-150 range for PMPS? Token shot?

Thanks!
 
it's hard to give dosing advice when we don't know what is happening mid cycle. Please try to get a mid cycle reading every day that you can, and a before bed reading. It looks like 1.25 might be too much if you aren't getting a shootable number in the morning. You may have to reduce to 1 .
 
@JanetNJ and @Deb & Wink ,

I've got more mid-day numbers. They are not pointing to less insulin (at least to me). I have Sunday that I can do another day of 3 hour readings. Any suggestions for what to change?

Thanks!
 
You can try to change the dose, so it's more even between the AM and PM shots.
So maybe try 0.8 for both the cycles in a day, in a 24 hour period.

Try to get at least 1 more test in the PM cycle, the "before bed" test.
Alternatively, set an alarm to get a test around +5 to +7 in the evening (PM) cycle. Occasionally. Doesn't have to be every night.

Next time you get a curve, try to switch up the test times. So instead of +3, +6, +9 try for +2, +5, +8, +11.
 
Hi @Deb & Wink and @JanetNJ

I got a lot of readings on Friday and today. However, I don't understand the readings. How can she be bouncing this much? I was hesitant to give her the .8 this morning when she was at 184, but after eating she went high.

Thoughts?

Angela
 
Back
Top