Tray's AMPS 396 +3=356 QUESTION

Status
Not open for further replies.

Iorwen & Tray

Very Active Member
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=14002

sigh I think perhaps the weather may be to blame for this relapse into the pinks. The howling winds yesterday scared him, he hid in the closet for most of the day but also could it be I need to open a new insulin cartridge? It's been kept in the fridge but it's 30 days old, advice anyone?

And the little bugger has still alluded the ketone test, I'm going to put him in a room and lock the door for awhile to see if it works.
 
Hi!

are you using the 3ml vials? the 5pack right?

I will tell you, on our run with lantus, I doubted our first vial and tossed it just before 30 days, a lot of us do get good use out of it even up to 40 days!
It's basically a manufacturer's recommendation to replace after 28 days, HOWEVER if you're in doubt, the numbers look wonky, or maybe you left the vial out one day a bit too long, - then if I were you I would ease those doubts and start a new one.
Note it in your spreadsheet when you start a new vial.

How about that crazy wind yesterday! My cats were hiding under the bed!! :lol:
 
Some of our kitties are very sensitive to the age of their insulin. Gabby is one of those kitties. Every time I've gone beyond the 28 days, her numbers have gotten wonky. It never hurts to swap out the cartridge/pen and see if there's an improvement.

Another possibility is New Dose Wonkiness (NDW). If you look in the protocol, it even mentions that when you raise a dose, sometimes the numbers go up, rather than down. (It's not called NDW in the protocol but they do reference this phenomenon.) This is another one of those times when you need to remind yourself that Lantus requires patience. Tonight will be cycle 6 (if we count the possible fur shot). If numbers aren't better, you can raise the dose tomorrow.
 
thanks Ronnie and Sienne for the input, with the crazy weather, the age of the insulin and just FD in general, it's hard to know what's up.
 
Most of the time I get to use up my pens - takes about 35 days or so. Only once did I think the vial was tanked and it had spent part of a day out of fridge. Hope you start seeing some better numbers
 
Hello again,

Hang in there.... when the right dose comes it's magical... but no one believes us at first... I changed my cartridges after 28 days or so too.

I agree with Sienne re: Tray's dose. Tonight is the 6th cycle at this dose and if all stays the same, post the word Dose in your subject line after tonight's shot and get confirmation that a dose adjustment is warranted... as outlined in the protocol.
 
I'm going to change the cartridge for tonight's shot then I'll see what happens if all is the same I will definately follow your suggestion and ask for dose advice.
His magic dose is out there and I feel he's ready for it!
 
I would wait until tomorrow morning to increase, or even tomorrow evening if you'll be gone during the day tomorrow. I wouldn't be surprised if you see some action tonight so we'll see if he goes to yellow or to blue (hopefully he won't stay pink!).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top