? TR Protocol questions

Panic

Member Since 2019
Before my question(s), I HAVE already read the TR protocol guidelines/additional pages, I just need some clarification concerning them.

When am I increasing the dose exactly? Every 5-6 cycles if nadirs are over 100?

TR Protocol says: "when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing."

Why exactly am I increasing the dose if nadirs are already under 100? Are we aiming for staying in non-diabetic numbers (50-120) at all times? Following that, what kind of cycle would I need to be seeing to maintain the dose rather than increase/decreasing?

And finally, do pre-shots, unless exceptionally low, really not matter when giving full dose? Like I would give full dose if pre-shot was 150, 100, or 80 (assuming I have enough data)?

TR seems so much more aggressive I really want to fully understand how to do it to keep my girl safe. Thanks. :)
 
Are you going for possible remission or just regulation?
When am I increasing the dose exactly? Every 5-6 cycles if nadirs are over 100?

  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
  • Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300.
Why exactly am I increasing the dose if nadirs are already under 100? Are we aiming for staying in non-diabetic numbers (50-120) at all times? Following that, what kind of cycle would I need to be seeing to maintain the dose rather than increase/decreasing?
the 50-120 range is referred to as “the healing numbers “. If you are interested in possible remission you want your kitty to spend as much time as possible in that range. It gives the pancreas a rest. Once you have 7 consecutive days of cycles in that range, with no signals to increase or decrease, you then decrease by 0.25u.

And finally, do pre-shots, unless exceptionally low, really not matter when giving full dose? Like I would give full dose if pre-shot was 150, 100, or 80 (assuming I have enough data)?
they do indeed matter for a number of reasons. They help you figure out onset and duration and also whether the numbers are heading up or down. In terms of going OTJ, once the nadirs are sorted out the next step is for the PS numbers to go green. Generally the PMPSs go green before the AMPSs.

once you are data ready anything over 50 is generally shootable
 
In addition to Sandy's comments about the pre-shot numbers, a Lantus "curve" is flat once a cat is generally in green numbers. Shooting low numbers is counterintuitive to most people. If your kitty can drop from the 300s to the 50s, most people will assume if they shoot a 90, their cat's BG will bottom out. While anything is possible, that's generally not the case. Take a look at some of the spreadsheets of cats that have gone OTJ or where someone is shooting low numbers or if the cat is well-regulated (Chris' China is one of the latter). You'll see a kitty that surfs green numbers.

Unless your cat is new to nadir numbers <200, you increase the dose after 3 days/6 cycle. If the cat is new to lower nadirs, you hold the dose for 5 days/10 cycle. As Sandy quoted above, there's a little wiggle room (i.e., 8 - 10 cycle) if the kitty is new to lower nadirs. Once nadirs are largely <200, hold doses for 10 cycles.

You need to think in terms of how low a dose is taking your cat's BG. You have the option to increase if numbers are in the 80s, for example. However, I would not suggest increasing if numbers are sticking around the 50 - 60 range. And, again as Sandy noted, if numbers are staying in normal range, you can decrease the dose after a week.
 
Remission is always the end goal, though I know it won't always happen.

Yes, I've read that already but I need clarification... hold the dose when nadirs are less than 200 before increasing but higher than what? 80? 100? What nadir range constitutes an increase?

Okay so once nadirs get sorted (in the greens) then the curve will flatten out so it won't matter if a pre-shot is say 90 because they should stay in the 90 range all day with full dose? While we're getting to that stage where kitty can still dip a lot (250 pre-shot to 90 nadir for ex) do we practice more caution with a lower than average pre-shot?

Thank you for the help both of you!
 
In addition to Sandy's comments about the pre-shot numbers, a Lantus "curve" is flat once a cat is generally in green numbers. Shooting low numbers is counterintuitive to most people. If your kitty can drop from the 300s to the 50s, most people will assume if they shoot a 90, their cat's BG will bottom out. While anything is possible, that's generally not the case. Take a look at some of the spreadsheets of cats that have gone OTJ or where someone is shooting low numbers or if the cat is well-regulated (Chris' China is one of the latter). You'll see a kitty that surfs green numbers.

Unless your cat is new to nadir numbers <200, you increase the dose after 3 days/6 cycle. If the cat is new to lower nadirs, you hold the dose for 5 days/10 cycle. As Sandy quoted above, there's a little wiggle room (i.e., 8 - 10 cycle) if the kitty is new to lower nadirs. Once nadirs are largely <200, hold doses for 10 cycles.

You need to think in terms of how low a dose is taking your cat's BG. You have the option to increase if numbers are in the 80s, for example. However, I would not suggest increasing if numbers are sticking around the 50 - 60 range. And, again as Sandy noted, if numbers are staying in normal range, you can decrease the dose after a week.

The requirement to hold the dose for 10 cycles when the cat "starts seeing" nadirs below 100 is applicable only for the first dose in which the cat saw a nadir below 100? Or every dose? And that dose has to be held for 10 cycles in all? Some people talk of "counting cycles" from the cycle in which the cat hit the sub-100 nadir.

And one increases the dose every 6 cycles till what point? Till the cat earns a reduction by falling below 50?
 
Talking in terms of hypothetical situations can lead to problems and/or over generalizations. How about when you have a question about what to do, we can discuss an actual situation? Also, keep in mind, you are asking for my interpretation of TR. Someone else may put a different spin on TR.
 
Of course. I'm thinking in terms of that a lot of times situations are time-sensitive and no one who can help is available, so I prefer to have at least a general direction to go by if I'm on my own.
 
Hi. No you don’t increase the dose until your cat falls under 50. Please reread the TR protocol copied above. I can’t copy the relevant part from my iPad. Hold the dose for at least” 10 cycles when you start to see nadirs under 100. You will not need to make a split second decision on dosing at that point so you will have time to post and give folks time to respond. You will reduce if you see a nadir under 50 though. The next dose after that will be .25 lower. Does this help?
 
Before my question(s), I HAVE already read the TR protocol guidelines/additional pages, I just need some clarification concerning them.

When am I increasing the dose exactly? Every 5-6 cycles if nadirs are over 100?

TR Protocol says: "when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing."

Why exactly am I increasing the dose if nadirs are already under 100? Are we aiming for staying in non-diabetic numbers (50-120) at all times? Following that, what kind of cycle would I need to be seeing to maintain the dose rather than increase/decreasing?

And finally, do pre-shots, unless exceptionally low, really not matter when giving full dose? Like I would give full dose if pre-shot was 150, 100, or 80 (assuming I have enough data)?

TR seems so much more aggressive I really want to fully understand how to do it to keep my girl safe. Thanks. :)
Valid question ❤️
I’ve been there!
 
Why did you reduce the dose on the 2/13 PM cycle?

Of course. I'm thinking in terms of that a lot of times situations are time-sensitive and no one who can help is available, so I prefer to have at least a general direction to go by if I'm on my own.
.
First things first. - Know thy cat on Lantus - build a solid foundation of data.
Find a dose that you can shoot consistently, AM and PM. When a shot is skipped the cycle count starts over.
Along with testing before each and every shot, you must get at least 1 additional test somewhere during the 12 hours between shots- both AM and PM cycles. When you have the opportunity to grab additional random spot checks do so. Strive for an ss that doesn’t have wide open white areas of no data. I’m seeing only 3 spot checks between PM+5 and AMPS and only 3 between AM+7 and PMPS since 01/01. That’s nearly half of the whole picture missing. A whole lot can happen during the bottom half of the PM cycles.

regarding help with time sensitive decisions getting some +10s and +11s. gives you (and anyone trying to help) a sense of whether Panic is going up or down when compared to the upcoming PS value. Keeping the ss updated to the minute saves time when you are looking for help.

If you do find yourself in a pinch and no one is available to help err on the side of caution.

Better a day too high than an hour too low.
 
Why did you reduce the dose on the 2/13 PM cycle?
I had asked if I should keep or reduce the dose after the 78 AMPS + switching to TR but never got an answer, so I erred on the side of caution.

I’m seeing only 3 spot checks between PM+5 and AMPS and only 3 between AM+7 and PMPS since 01/01. That’s nearly half of the whole picture missing. A whole lot can happen during the bottom half of the PM cycles.
I am usually working during those gaps. Starting today I've been laid off and will be starting a new job soon so I'll be available to do it more.

regarding help with time sensitive decisions getting some +10s and +11s. gives you (and anyone trying to help) a sense of whether Panic is going up or down when compared to the upcoming PS value.
Oh that makes sense, I hadn't thought about that, thank you!
 
Back
Top