Too low number , 23

rawia

Member Since 2017
Hi everyone

hope there is somebody around to help me, Meme got her AM shot as usual and three hours later I noticed that she barely moving and her mouth was open with lot of saliva, I quickly checked her BG and it was 23. I tried to get her to eat but she was not moving, this not my first time with low numbers but it is the first time that i saw this reaction from her and I am really scared, I tried honey but it did not work.

I blind some HC food and gave it to her by syringe, she is now up to 70 but still looks tired and not alert!!!

is this normsl or should I call the vet?!!
 
I usually handle low numbers very well but it is the first time that i saw her like that, weak and drooling.
 
It’s really important to keep up the spreadsheet because it shows trends. I’d offer small amounts of food and test every 30 minutes. This was a symptomatic hypo so you need to watch her very carefully. She may be more sensitive to insulin now.
 
I would offer her some more food.....maybe some higher carb food as it is only 3 or 4 hours into the cycle and she could drop again.
I would keep testing every 30 minutes at the moment.
You will also need to reduce the dose of the insulin. She may not be high enough at the next preshot to get a dose.
Also cats that have had a symptomatic hypo can be very sensitive to insulin so you will need to be very careful moving forward.
 
I have the numbers but i did not fillthe spread sheet yet.

she had a full mouth extraction and i was too busy with her during her recovery time that is way i was away and i was writing the numbers.
 
I have the numbers but i did not fillthe spread sheet yet.

she had a full mouth extraction and i was too busy with her during her recovery time that is way i was away and i was writing the numbers.
Now that she is recovering from the full mouth extractions, she may well be needing less insulin.
Is she able to eat ok at this stage of her recovery from the surgery?
 
She is on 1.75 unit and she was doing very good the past days, she never dropped to green so i was planning to increase the dose after 6 cycles, but this drop was a big surprise
 
Poor baby. Was there an infection? Maybe that’s corrected and she’s going t need less insulin.
She diagnosed with Stomtities and this was our last option, we tried everything and her mouth is still little inflammed, it has been20 days after surgery.

the vet gave her another round of antibiotics.
 
I would offer her some more food.....maybe some higher carb food as it is only 3 or 4 hours into the cycle and she could drop again.
I would keep testing every 30 minutes at the moment.
You will also need to reduce the dose of the insulin. She may not be high enough at the next preshot to get a dose.
Also cats that have had a symptomatic hypo can be very sensitive to insulin so you will need to be very careful moving forward.
What do you mean by “ more sensitive to insulin “?!
 
She is 150 :( now

I think that I gave her too much honey !!

I was scared and trying to get the number high as soon ad i can
 
What do you mean by “ more sensitive to insulin “?!
After cats have a symptomatic hypo they are often more sensitive to their dose of insulin and that means their need for insulin is less. So we need to be aware of that now when deciding the dose moving forward.

She is 150 :( now

I think that I gave her too much honey !!

I was scared and trying to get the number high as soon ad i can
Don’t worry about giving her a bit too much honey. It is far better to be at 150 than 23!
Is she acting normally now ?
 
After cats have a symptomatic hypo they are often more sensitive to their dose of insulin and that means their need for insulin is less. So we need to be aware of that now when deciding the dose moving forward.


Don’t worry about giving her a bit too much honey. It is far better to be at 150 than 23!
Is she acting normally now ?
She is able to move better, she drinks a lot of water.

she is sleeping now near me but she does not want to eat, I offered her some food because I know that the honey will wear off very quickly but she is not intresting in food.
 
Do I need to see the vet ?! or it is ok if she backs to normal.
Is she back to normal?
I don’t think a vet would do anything that you are not doing at this point.
You just need to make sure the BG doesn’t drop again.
Has she eaten anything at all since the hypo or just had the honey..?
It’s important, as you know, that she eats because the honey will wear off.
It doesn’t matter what she eats at this point, just that she eats.
What are your thoughts @tiffmaxee ?
 
I agree with you Bron. Her bg is up now. I’d continue to test and feed small amounts if she will eat hourly if the bg drops at all. Think the vet would just observe her and you can do that.
 
No she did not eat.

I syringed her some HC food but it was a little, I will keep testing her and see how it is going.

she threw up that is why she might not be interesting in food now
 
Ok I will continue testing and try to offer her food.


Thank you all for being around and helping me.

It was the first time for me to see this symptoms, she dropped low before but it was nothing like this.
 
I think before because I just saw it and I was with her all the time since she had the symptoms.
Try offering just a teaspoon each half hour if that is all she will eat. It can be some higher carb food or even treats, anything at all as long as she will eat it..
Do to you think she is nauseated?
 
Try offering just a teaspoon each half hour if that is all she will eat. It can be some higher carb food or even treats, anything at all as long as she will eat it..
Do to you think she is nauseated?
Mmmm I do not think because she was moving around and walking just fine but now she is sleeping deeply so I do not know.
 
Back
Top